Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

ENTROPIA – Festival on Entropy in Performance and Science

How much energy a day does a human being need? Is it society or the individual who controls the amount of energy s/he uses? Taking place in the Year of Science 2010 – The Future of Energy, the festival ENTROPIA explores the social opportunities and environmental consequences of the degradation and transformation of energy. For four days, international artists and scientists present their positions on the disappearance, waste, and exploitation of resources. SOAPRA_Mathilde_Monnier_Dominique_Figarella

Held at the Radialsystem V on November 11-14, 2010, the festival provides a wholly new perspective on the physical phenomenon of “entropy” – the process of the degradation or dissipation of energy during its use. It does not focus on an apocalyptic nightmare scenario of the Earth’s “heat death,” but on the concrete opportunities for energy, environmental, and social change, sustainability, and productivity. What is necessary today is to accept the challenges of entropy and integrate them into contemporary ways of thinking about energy.

Conceived as a dialogue between scientists and artists from a variety of disciplines, the interdisciplinary festival ENTROPIA fits in wonderfully with the program of the Ernst Schering Foundation. Lecture performances, art projects, and international dance productions are on a par with lectures by scientists and cultural researchers. The concept convinced the Ernst Schering Foundation to get actively involved as a collaborating organization and to support the project.

The ENTROPIA festival was planned as part of the Year of Science 2010 – The Future of Energy. Together with many partners in research, science, business, and the arts, the Year of Science makes visible the commitment and creativity of energy researchers working towards solutions for a sustainable energy supply.

ENTROPIA is supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Daimler Benz Foundation, and the Ernst Schering Foundation. The festival is organized by the association KUNST-SToFF e.V. and prototypen-ausstellungen, and curated by Judica Albrecht, Nicola Schössler, Alexander Moers, Marcus Peter, and Dr. Barbara Gronau.

ENTROPIA – Festival on Entropy in Performance and Science | November 11–14, 2010

Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33 | 10243 Berlin
www.radialsystem.de

The Festival Pass for all events (€50, discounted pass: €38) and individual tickets (from €5 to €18) are available by phone (030–288 788 588) or online at www.radialsystem.de. For more information about ticket sales, click here.

Festival Program: pdf Program Entropia

 

Additional information is available at:
http://www.entropia-festival.de/index.html

Photo:

SOAPÉRA, Marc Coudrais

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Entropia | Festival zu Entropie in Performance und Wissenschaft

Wieviel Energie braucht ein Mensch pro Tag? Ist es die Gesellschaft oder das Individuum, das den Umfang seines Verbrauches in der Hand hat? Im Wissenschaftsjahr 2010 – Die Zukunft der Energie fragt das Festival ENTROPIA nach den gesellschaftlichen Chancen und ökologischen Konsequenzen der Entwertung von Energie bzw. energetischen Transformationen. Vier Tage lang präsentieren zahlreiche internationale KünstlerInnen gemeinsam mit Natur- und KulturwissenschaftlerInnen ihre Positionen zum Verschwinden, Verschwenden und Verwenden von Ressourcen.

SOAPRA_Mathilde_Monnier_Dominique_Figarella

Eine ganz neue Perspektive auf das physikalische Phänomen der „Entropie“ – den Prozess der Entwertung von Energie bei ihrer Verwertung – bietet das innovative Festival, das vom 11. bis 14. November 2010 im Radialsystem V stattfindet. Nicht das apokalyptische Schreckensszenario vom „Wärmetod“ der Erde, sondern die greifbaren Chancen für energetischen, ökologischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel hin zu Nachhaltigkeit und Produktivität stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt. Heute gilt es, die Herausforderungen der Entropie anzunehmen und für ein zeitgenössisches Nachdenken über Energie fruchtbar zu machen.

Das interdisziplinäre Festival ENTROPIA fügt sich mit seinem Konzept des Austausches von Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern verschiedener Disziplinen hervorragend in das Programm der Schering Stiftung. Lecture Performances, Kunstprojekte und internationale Tanzproduktionen stehen gleichberechtigt mit den Vorträgen der Natur- und Kulturwissenschaftler auf dem Programm. Dieses Konzept hat die Schering Stiftung überzeugt, sich als Kooperationspartner aktiv in das Projekt einzubringen und dieses zu fördern.

Das Festival ENTROPIA wurde inhaltlich zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2010 – Die Zukunft der Energie geplant. Das Wissenschaftsjahr zeigt gemeinsam mit vielen Partnern aus Forschung, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Kultur, wie engagiert und kreativ zugleich Energieforscherinnen und -forscher an Lösungen für eine nachhaltige Energieversorgung arbeiten.

ENTROPIA wird gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, der Daimler Benz Stiftung und der Schering Stiftung. Das Festival wird von dem Verein KUNST-SToFF e.V. und prototypen-ausstellungen veranstaltet, kuratiert von Judica Albrecht, Nicola Schössler, Alexander Moers, Marcus Peter und Dr. Barbara Gronau.

ENTROPIA – Festival zu Entropie in Performance und Wissenschaft
11. – 14.11.2010
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33 | 10243 Berlin
www.radialsystem.de

Den Festivalpass für alle Veranstaltungen zu € 50,- (ermäßigt € 38,-) sowie Einzelkarten zwischen € 5,- und 18,- erhalten Sie über das Kartentelefon (0 30) 288 788 588 oder www.radialsystem.de. Detaillierte Informationen zum Ticketkauf finden Sie hier.

 

Das Festivalprogramm: pdf Programm Entropia

Weitere Informationen unter http://www.entropia-festival.de/index.html

Foto: SOAPÉRA, Marc Coudrais

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr