Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2010

Professor Paul-Peter Tak (University of Amsterdam) will talk about „Rheumatoid arthritis: from pathogenesis towards prevention of immune-mediated inflammatory disease“

Professor Paul-Peter Tak is Professor of Medicine and Director of the Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology at the Academic Medical Center (AMC)/University of Amsterdam in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, since 1999. He received his medical degree at the Free University (VU) Amsterdam and was trained as an internist and rheumatologist at Leiden University Medical Centre, where he also received his PhD degree. For seven years, he worked at UCSD (La Jolla, CA) – first as a visiting scientist, later as Clinical Associate Professor. From 2004 to 2008 he also served as Medical Director of the Dubai Bone and Joint Centre (Dubai, UAE). He founded in 2005 Arthrogen B.V., a company developing gene therapy, and has served as Chief Scientific Officer since then.

The recipient of numerous grants and honours, including a variety of fellowships and visiting professorships, Professor Tak is also a member of the EULAR (European League against Rheumatism) Scientific Committee and of the Annual Meeting Planning Committee of the ACR (American College of Rheumatology). His extensive bibliography includes a list of more than 300 peer-reviewed clinical and basic research papers, as well as books on various aspects of immunology and rheumatology.

Professor Tak’s major research interests include signal transduction pathways, the pathogenesis of synovial inflammation in rheumatoid and psoriatic arthritis and the development and evaluation of immunotherapies and gene therapy for these conditions.

Delivering the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture 2010, Paul-Peter Tak will talk about “Rheumatoid arthritis: from pathogenesis towards prevention of immune-mediated inflammatory disease”:

“The etiology of rheumatoid arthritis (RA), a prototype immune-mediated inflammatory disorder, is poorly understood. Microarray analysis as well as immunohistologic examination of the inflamed synovial tissue of RA patients has provided evidence for a heterogeneous pathogenesis. It appears that different pathways may ultimately lead via a common final pathway to the clinical signs and symptoms associated with the syndrome called RA. Of interest, targeted therapies with a different mechanism of action may result in clinical improvement, in part due to a shared indirect effect on synovial macrophages.

The presence of anti-citrullinated protein antibodies (ACPAs) defines a distinct subgroup of RA patients, in which the interaction between the genetic background and environmental factors like smoking contributes to the risk of developing RA. Of note, rheumatoid factor and/or ACPA may be found in healthy individuals, years before the development of clinically manifest RA. The role of B cells in the pathogenesis of this RA subset is supported by the presence of B cells and plasma cells in the synovium and in particular by the beneficial effect of anti-CD20 antibody (rituximab therapy) treatment in autoantibody positive RA. The decrease in B lineage cells in the synovium between week 4 and 16 after initiation of rituximab treatment is related to the decrease in ACPA serum levels as well as clinical improvement after more prolonged follow up.

Systematic analysis of the synovium in different stages of RA has shown that so-called early RA represents chronic synovial inflammation. Subclinical inflammation of the synovium does not coincide with the appearance of serum rheumatoid factor or ACPA antibodies during the pre-RA stage. Thus, systemic autoimmunity precedes the development of synovitis, suggesting that a ‘second hit’ is involved. Data will be presented that support the rationale for exploring preventive strategies aimed at interfering with the humoral immune response before synovial inflammation develops.”

Lecture and Award Ceremony on November 30, 2010, at 5 p.m.

The Lecture, which has been supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation since 2008, takes place as part of the awarding of the Avrion Mitchison Prize at the German Rheumatism Reseach Center (DRFZ).

Foyer of the German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ) Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2010

Professor Paul-Peter Tak von der Universität Amsterdam spricht zum Thema „Rheumatoid arthritis: from pathogenesis towards prevention of immune-mediated inflammatory disease“

Professor Paul-Peter Tak ist seit 1999 Professor für Medizin und Leiter der Abteilung Klinische Immunologie und Rheumatology am Akademisch-Medizinischen Zentrum der Universität Amsterdam. Er studierte Medizin an der Freien Universität Amsterdam und promovierte als Internist und Rheumatologe am Medizinischen Zentrum der Universität Leiden. Für sieben Jahre arbeitete er - erst als Gastwissenschaftler, dann als klinischer Dozent am UCSD (La Jolla) in Kalifornien. Von 2004 bis 2008 war er medizinsicher Leiter des Knochen- und Gelenkzentrums in Dubai. 2005 gründete er das Unternehmen Arthrogen B.V., das unter seiner wissenschaftlichen Leitung Gentherapien entwickelt.

Tak hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen, Stipendien und Gastprofessuren erhalten und ist u.a. Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Rates der Europäischen Liga gegen Rheuma (EULAR) sowie des Planungskommittees des American College of Rheumatology (ACR). Die Liste seiner Fachpublikationen umfasst über 300 klinische Berichte und Forschungsberichte, sowie Bücher zu Immunologie und Rheumatologie.

Professor Taks Hauptforschungsgebiet ist die Untersuchung der Signalübertragungswege bei der rheumatoiden Arthritis, die Pathogenese synovialier Entzündungen bei der rheumatoiden und psoriatischen Arthritis und die Entwicklung und Bewertung von Immun- und Gentherapien zur Behandlung dieser Krankheitsbilder.

Anlässlich der Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture 2010 spricht Paul-Peter Tak zum Thema “Rheumatoid arthritis: from pathogenesis towards prevention of immune-mediated inflammatory disease”

“Die Krankheitsursache der rheumatoiden Arthritis (RA), einer prototypischen Autoimmunkrankheit, ist noch nicht hinreichend erforscht. Mikorarray-Analysen und immun-histologische Untersuchungen des entzündeten Gelenkgewebes von RA-Patienten haben den Nachweis für eine heterogene Pathogenese erbracht. Es scheint, dass verschiedene Übertragungswege letztendlich über einen gemeinsamen Signalweg zu den klinischen Zeichen und Symptomen führen, die mit dem Syndrom der Rheumatoiden Arthritis verbunden sind. Von Interesse sind daher gezielte Therapien mit alternativen Wirkungsmechnismen, die – teilweise wegen eines gemeinsamen indirekten Effekts auf synoviale Makrophagen – in einer klinischen Verbesserung der Symptome resultieren.

Die Präsenz von Antikörpern gegen citrullinierte Peptid-/Protein-Antigene (ACPAs) ist definierende Eigenschaft einer bestimmten Untergruppe von RA-Patienten, bei der das Zusammenwirken von genetischer Veranlagung und Umwelteinflüssen (wie z.B. Rauchen) das Risiko einer Erkrankung an rheumatoider Arthritis erhöht. Beachtenswert ist hierbei, dass das Vorhandensein des Rheumafaktors und/oder von ACPAs bei gesunden Individuen bereits Jahre vor der Ausbildung einer klinisch manifesten rheumatoiden Arthritis festgestellt werden kann. Die Rolle von B-Zellen in der Krankheitsentstehung bei dieser Untergruppe der rheumatoiden Arthirtis wird durch die Präsenz von B-Zellen und Plasmazellen in der Gelenkinnenhaut und insbesondere durch den heilenden Effekt von Anti-CD20 Antikörper-Behandlung (Rituximab-Therapyie) bei autoantikörperpositiver rheumatoider Arthritis belegt. Die Abnahme von B-Vorläuferzellen in der Gelenkinnenhaut zwischen Woche 4 und 16 nach dem Beginn der Behandlung mit Rituximab hängt mit dem Sinken des ACPA-Serumlevels sowie mit der klinischen Verbesserung nach anhaltender Wiederholung der Behandlung zusammen.

Die systematische Analyse der Gelenkinnenhaut in verschiedenen Stadien der rheumatoiden Arthritis hat gezeigt, dass die sogenannte frühe rheumatoide Arthritis eine chronische Entzündung der Gelenkinnenhaut ist. Subklinische Entzündungen der Gelenkinnenhaut koinzidieren nicht mit dem Auftreten des Rheumafaktors im Serum oder von ACPA-Antikörpern während einer vorrheumatoiden Phase. Daher ist systemische Autoimmunität ein Vorläufer von Synovitis, der darauf hinweist, dass ein zweiter Störfaktor involviert ist. Daten müssen nun präsentiert werden, die die Argumentation für eine Erforschung von präventiven Strategien untermauern, welche darauf zielen, humorale Immunreaktionen zu beeinträchtigen bevor synoviale Entzündungen entstehen.“

Festveranstaltung am 30. November 2010, 17 Uhr Die Lecture, seit 2008 von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt, findet zusammen mit der Verleihung des Avrion-Mitchison-Preises im DRFZ statt.

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

Paul-Peter_Tak