Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2010

Dr. Edda Schulz

Institut Curie, Paris 

"Sequential polarization and imprinting of type 1 T helper lymphocytes by interferon-g and interleukin-12"

Dr. Edda Schulz studied Biochemistry at Eberhard-Karls-University, Tübingen. From 2005 to 2009, she completed her dissertation on „experimental and mathematical analysis of regulatory networks in T-helpertype I (Th1) lymphocytes” under the supervision of Prof. Thomas Höfer, Humboldt-University, Berlin, and Prof. Andreas Radbruch, German Rheumatism Research Center, Berlin. In 2008, she worked as a post-graduate researcher at Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA. Since 2010, she has been a postdoc in the research group „Mammalian Developmental Epigenetics” at Institut Curie, Paris, France.

Dr. Edda Schulz will receive the Avrion Mitchison Prize 2010 of the German Rheumatism Research Center in Berlin. At the award ceremony on November 30, she will give a talk on “Sequential polarization and imprinting of type 1 T helper lymphocytes by interferon-g and interleukin-12“.

Schulz about her research:
T-helpertype I (Th1) lymphocytes play a central role in the mammalian adaptive immune response against intracellular pathogens. When activated inappropriately, however, they contribute to autoimmune diseases. Although transcription factors and cytokine signals controlling Th1 differentiation have been studied extensively, the exact contribution of each factor remained unclear. It had been known for long that the Th1 master transcription factor T-bet can be induced by the cytokine interferon-g (IFN-g) in an autocrine manner. However, it had remained puzzling, why IFN-g cannot induce Th1 differentiation, which requires another cytokine, interleukin-12 (IL-12). To understand how the various players function together as a regulatory network, a systems biology approach was chosen.

Through close interplay of quantitative experiments and mathematical modelling, the gene-regulatory network governing differentiation of Th1 cells was reconstructed. The Th1 network was found to successively adopt two different states, each controlling a distinct phase of the differentiation process. During an early effect or phase cells fulfill Th1 functions but remain uncommitted, while the following differentiation phase is required for lineage stabilization. The antigenic signal acts as a switch between the two network states since it is required for effect or functions (IFN-g production), but inhibits response to the differentiation signal IL-12. The Th1 master transcription factor T-bet can mediate lineage commitment only during the late differentiation phase. It could be shown that IL-12 drives T-bet differentiation during this differentiation time window, which explains the unique role of IL-12 in Th1 differentiation. Therefore, this network analysis of the dynamic interactions between known key regulators solved a long-standing question regarding the different roles of IFN-g and IL-12 during the Th1 differentiation process.

Award Ceremony and Lecture on November 30, 2010, at 5 p.m.

The Avrion Mitchison Prize, which is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, is presented in conjunction with the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture at the German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ).

Foyer of the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin
Charité Mitte Campus
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

 

 

 

 

Edda Schulz

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2010

Dr. Edda Schulz

Institut Curie, Paris

"Sequential polarization and imprinting of type 1 T helper lymphocytes by interferon-gamma and interleukin-12"

 

Dr. Edda Schulz studierte Biochemie an der Eberhard-Karls-Universität in Tübingen. Von 2005 bis 2009 promovierte sie bei Prof. Thomas Höfer an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und bei Prof. Andreas Radbruch am Deutschen Rheumaforschungszentrum in Berlin zum Thema „Experimentelle und Mathematische Analyse regulatorischer Netzwerke in T-Helfer-Lymphozyten“. 2008 absolvierte sie einen Forschungsaufenthalt an der Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA. Seit 2010 ist sie Postdoc in der Arbeitsgruppe Gruppe „Mammalian Developmental Epigenetics“ am Institut Curie in Paris.

Dr. Edda Schulz erhält den Avrion-Mitchison-Preis 2010 des Deutschen Rheumaforschungszentrums in Berlin. Anlässlich der Preisverleihung am 30. November spricht sie zum Thema: „Sequential polarization and imprinting of type 1 T helper lymphocytes by interferon-gamma and interleukin-12“.

Schulz über die Forschungsarbeit:
„Mit Hilfe eines systembiologischen Forschungsansatzes wurde gezeigt, dass die Entstehung von T-Helfer-Typ-I-Zellen (Th1) in mehreren Schritten abläuft. Auf eine initiale Polarisierungsphase folgt die Differenzierungsphase, während der die Zellidentiät festgeschrieben wird. Da chronisch aktivierte Th1-Zellen eine wichtige Rolle in vielen rheumatischen Erkrankungen spielen, ist ein besseres Verständnis der molekularen Mechanismen, die die Entstehung dieser Zellen kontrollieren, eine Voraussetzung, um gezielt neue Therapien entwickeln zu können.

T-Helfer-ZellenTyp-I (Th1) spielen eine zentrale Rolle in der Immunabwehr intrazellulärer Erreger. Ihre fehlgeleitete Entstehung und Aktivierung trägt jedoch auch maßgeblich zu Autoimmunerkrankungen bei. Die Signale und Transkriptionsfaktoren, die die Differenzierung von Th1-Zellen steuern, wurden bereits vor langer Zeit entdeckt, ihre genaue Rolle jedoch blieb unklar. So war bekannt, dass Expression des sogenannten Th1-Master-Transkriptionsfaktors T-bet durch das Zytokin Interferon-gamma (IFN-gamma) induziert wird. Paradoxerweise ist IFN-gamma allein jedoch nicht in der Lage, Th1-Differenzierung auszulösen, dafür wird ein weiteres Zytokin, Interleukin-12 (IL-12), benötigt. Obwohl die Regulation der beteiligten Zytokine und Transkriptionsfaktoren gut untersucht war, blieb das Verständnis ihres Zusammenspiels und damit auch ihrer Funktion lückenhaft. Um das Zusammenwirken dieser Faktoren zu untersuchen, wurde bewusst ein systembiologischer Ansatz gewählt, indem quantitative Messungen mit mathematischer Modellierung verbunden wurden.

Mit Hilfe dieser experimentell-theoretischen Vorgehensweise konnte gezeigt werden, dass Th1-Differenzierung in mehreren Schritten abläuft. In der initialen Effektorphase produziert die Zelle Th1-Effektorzytokine wie IFN-gamma, dieser Th1-Phenotyp ist jedoch instabil. Erst in der späteren Differenzierungsphase legt sich die Zelle auf den Th1-Phenotyp fest. In der frühen Effektorphase wird die Expression von T-bet, wie schon vorher bekannt, durch das IFN-gamma-Signal gesteuert. In der darauffolgenden Differenzierungsphase jedoch wird die Expression von T-bet durch einen bisher unbekannten IL-12-abhängigen Mechanismus aufrechterhalten. Das Antigen-Signal fungiert dabei als „Schalter“ zwischen den beiden Phasen, da es IFN-gamma induziert, IL-12-Signaltransduktion durch Repression der IL-12-Rezeptorexpression jedoch inhibiert. Daher beschränkt sich die Wirkung von IL-12 hauptsächlich auf die spätere Phase, wenn die Antigenstimulation beendet ist. Das Expressionsniveau von T-bet in dieser späten Phase bestimmt jedoch den Erfolg des Differenzierungsprozesses. Da also IL-12, nicht jedoch IFN-gamma, die Expression von T-bet in der späten Phase aufrechterhalten kann, fungiert IL-12 als zentrales Differenzierungssignal. Diese wichtige Rolle, die IL-12 in der Th1-Differenzierung spielt, war zwar schon lange bekannt, der Wirkungsmechanismus konnte jedoch erst mit der vorliegenden Arbeit aufgeklärt werden.“

Festveranstaltung am 30. November 2010, 17 Uhr Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis, der von der Schering Stiftung finanziert wird, findet zusammen mit der Albrecht-Hasinger-Lecture im DRFZ statt.

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

 

Edda Schulz

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Acousmatic Lectures Series

26.06.2017, Berlin | Im Rahmen der Acousmatic Lectures Series wird in Berlin eine Reihe von interdisziplinären...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr