Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Perceptible Data Streams: datamatics [ver.2.0]

25.03.2011, Berlin | The high speed and amount of data streams is the challenge of our digital age. It is also a main subject of the works by Japanese artist and composer Ryoji Ikeda, winner of many international awards. In his performance “datamatics [ver.2.0],” which will be presented at trafo on March 26, 2011, at 10 p.m. as part of the MaerzMusik festival, he investigates the perception of the invisible multi-materiality of the data stream that permeates our world. As sources for the sounds and visualizations of his tightly composed work Ikeda uses pure data that he, in a minimalist yet impressive manner, transforms into three-dimensional shapes. The focus is on sound as sensation.

datamatics_c_ryuichi_maruo

datamatics_c_ryuichi_maruo

Ryoji Ikeda’s work concentrates on the smallest particles of electronic and pulsating sounds and on the nature of sound itself. Music, time, and space are formed by means of mathematical methods. Ikeda explores the outermost edges of digital technology and composes a soundtrack that reflects the visual presentation through a detailed layering of sonic components and thus opens up enormous and apparently limitless acoustic spaces. The technological dynamics of “datamatics [ver.2.0]” – as well as its extremely high frame rate and variable bit rate – challenge and probe the boundaries of our perception. The location – trafo (the former Heizkraftwerk Berlin-Mitte) – further underscores this impression and makes possible a particularly intense experience of space. The gigantic gutted industrial hall on Köpenicker Strasse, which has been chosen for the presentation of Ikeda’s composition, will have its premiere as a performance and music space during the MaerzMusik festival of the Berliner Festspiele.

Paris-based artist Ryoji Ikeda in 2001 received the Ars Electronica Golden Nica Award in the Digital Music category and in 2009 was honored with a solo show at the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo. His work “data.tron [8K enhanced version]“ was on view at the Ars Electronica Center in Linz until 2010. There, visitors were confronted with eight projection screens, completely filling the space with data.

By supporting Ryoji Ikeda’s performance “datamatics [ver.2.0]” at trafo, the Ernst Schering Foundation wants to introduce the versatility and outstanding quality of his graphic and compositional artistic work to a broader German public. Linking music and the visual arts and analyzing sound and frequencies, the work is exemplary of artistic research, one of the Ernst Schering Foundation’s key areas of focus.

“datamatics [ver.2.0]”
Ryoji Ikeda
Audiovisual Performance (2007)

German Premiere
March 26, 2011, 10 p.m.
(70 minutes)

Ryoji Ikeda: Idea/Direction/Composition
Shohei Matsukawa, Daisuke Tsunoda, Tomonaga Tokuyama, Norimichi Hirakawa: Computer graphics/programming

Please note:
The performance features strobe light effects. Due to the high sound level, ear plugs are available. Participation in the event is at one’s own risk.

Location:

trafo
Space for Cultural and Social Change in Berlin
Köpenicker Strasse 59-73
10179 Berlin-Mitte
http://www.berlintrafo.de/


Further information is available on the website of the Berliner Festspiele.

A production of Forma. Work commissioned by AV Festival 06, ZeroOne San Jose & ISEA 2006. A co-production of Les Spectacles Vivants, Centre Pompidou, and YCAM. With support from Recombinant Media Labs. In cooperation with TRAFO | Kraftwerk Mitte.

datamatics_c_ryuichi_maruo

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Wahrnehmbare Datenströme: datamatics [ver.2.0]

25.03.2011, Berlin | Die Schnelligkeit und Menge der Datenflüsse ist die Herausforderung unseres digitalen Zeitalters. Der international mit Preisen ausgezeichnete japanische Künstler und Komponist Ryoji Ikeda setzt sich in seinen Arbeiten mit dieser Thematik auseinander. In seiner Performance “datamatics [ver.2.0]”, die am 26. März 2011, 22 Uhr im trafo im Rahmen von MaerzMusik aufgeführt wird, erforscht er die Wahrnehmung der unsichtbaren Vielstofflichkeit des Datenflusses, der unsere Welt durchdringt. Als Quelle für Klänge und Visualisierungen seines durchkomponierten Werkes dienen reine Daten, die Ikeda minimalistisch, aber eindrucksstark dreidimensional umsetzt. Der Klang steht als Sinnesempfindung im Zentrum.

datamatics_c_ryuichi_maruo

datamatics_c_ryuichi_maruo

Ryoji Ikeda konzentriert seine Arbeit auf die kleinsten Partikel der elektronischen Töne und Pulse sowie auf das Wesen des Klanges selbst. Musik, Zeit und Raum werden mit Hilfe mathematischer Methoden geformt. Ikeda lotet die Grenzen der digitalen Technik bis aufs Äußerste aus und entwirft einen Soundtrack, der die bildliche Darstellung durch minutiöse Schichtung von Schallkomponenten reflektiert und dabei gewaltige und offenbar unbegrenzte akustische Räume freisetzt. Die technische Dynamik des Stücks “datamatics [ver.2.0]” – wie seine extrem schnelle Bildfrequenz und variable Bit-Fülle – fordern und erkunden die Grenzbereiche unserer Auffassungskraft. Das trafo (das ehemalige Heizkraftwerk Mitte) wird dabei als Ort der Aufführung den Eindruck unterstützen und ein ganz besonders intensives Raumerlebnis möglich machen. Die riesige, entkernte Industriehalle an der Köpenicker Straße ist eigens für die Präsentation von Ikedas Komposition ausgesucht worden und wird im Rahmen des Festivals MaerzMusik der Berliner Festspiele erstmalig als Ort für Performance und Musik der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Der in Paris lebende Künstler Ryoji Ikeda wurde 2001 mit dem Preis der Ars Electronica Golden Nica in der Kategorie Digital Music ausgezeichnet und 2009 mit einer großen Einzelausstellung im Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo geehrt. Seine Arbeit „data.tron [8K enhanced version]“ war bis 2010 im Ars Electronica Center in Linz zu erleben. Hier begegneten die Besucher auf acht Projektionsflächen einem ganz und gar mit Daten angefüllten Raum.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Performance “datamatics [ver.2.0]” von Ryoji Ikeda im trafo, um die Vielseitigkeit seiner künstlerischen Arbeit sowie die herausragende Qualität seines grafischen wie kompositorischen Werkes einem größeren Publikum in Deutschland bekannt zu machen. In der Verknüpfung von Musik und Bildender Kunst sowie der Analyse von Klang und Frequenzen steht sein Werk exemplarisch für artistic research, die von der Schering Stiftung maßgeblich gefördert wird.


datamatics [ver.2.0]
Ryoji Ikeda
Audio Video Performance (2007)

Deutsche Erstaufführung
26. März 2011, 22 Uhr
(70 Minuten)

Ryoji Ikeda: Konzept/Regie/Komposition
Shohei Matsukawa, Daisuke Tsunoda, Tomonaga Tokuyama, Norimichi Hirakawa: Computergrafik/Programmierung


Bitte beachten Sie folgenden Hinweis:
Der Künstler setzt während der Performance vorübergehend Stroboskop-Licht ein. Wegen hoher Lautstärke stehen Gehörschutzstöpsel zur Verfügung. Die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung erfolgt auf eigene Gefahr.

Veranstaltungsort:

trafo
Raum für kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel in Berlin
Köpenicker Straße 59 -73
10179 Berlin-Mitte
http://www.berlintrafo.de/


Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Website der Berliner Festspiele.

Eine Produktion von Forma. Auftragswerk von AV Festival 06, ZeroOne San Jose & ISEA 2006. Koproduktion von Les Spectacles Vivants, Centre Pompidou und YCAM. Mit Unterstützung von Recombinant Media Labs. In Zusammenarbeit mit TRAFO | Kraftwerk Mitte.

Abbildungen: datamatics von Ryoji Ikeda, Fotos: Ryuichi Maruo

datamatics_c_ryuichi_maruo

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr