Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Fellows Meeting 2011

In keeping with the Foundation’s goal of promoting the dialogue between scientists and artists from different disciplines and ways of thinking, this year’s event will be entitled “Creativity in Art and Science.” Besides examining the conditions for creativity, the presentations and interdisciplinary discussions will feature scientists, artists, and funders and focus on questions related to funding and career management as well as the role of the image in art and science. The invited speakers promise to provide interesting and stimulating insights and thoughts for discussion. In addition to selected fellows, the guest speakers from the fields of science and art will include:

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth
Chairman of the Foundation Council of the Ernst Schering Foundation and former President of the Robert Koch Institute, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Günter Stock
President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Julian Klein
Director, !KF – Institute for Artistic Research

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Elmar W. Weiler
President of the University of Bochum

Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp
Professor of Art History, Humboldt University of Berlin

Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge
Professor of Microbiology, Free University of Berlin

Prof. Mischa Kuball
Professor of Holography/Light Art, Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

Prof. Dr. Andreas Radbruch
Scientific Director, German Rheumatism Research Center, Berlin

One of the highlights of this year’s program will be a musical performance by Ruslan Vilensky, violoncellist and former scholarship recipient of the Orchestra Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. His presentation will deal with the conditions for creativity in music.

In his introductory lecture entitled “The Ernst Schering Foundation: An Unusual Example of a Public-Private Partnership,” Professor Günter Stock, president of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and co-founder of the Ernst Schering Research Foundation, will look back on, and take stock of, the 20-year-old history of funding science and art by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation and, since 2002, by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

In addition, the science fellows will have the opportunity to participate in Working Sessions where they will be able to present their research and projects and expand the ever-growing international network of outstanding researchers. Smaller groups will present and discuss research findings in neuroscience, chemistry, and gene regulation/stem cell research.

The Fellows Meeting of the Ernst Schering Foundation is not open to the public. The conference language is English.

For more information about the doctoral fellowships and the Fellows Meetings of the Ernst Schering Foundation, click here.

News

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Stipendiatentreffen 2011

Vom 12. bis 14. Mai 2011 ist es wieder soweit – 60 Doktoranden, Postdoktoranden und Kurzzeitstipendiaten der Schering Stiftung aus aller Welt werden zum Stipendiatentreffen in Berlin erwartet; darunter ehemalige und aktuelle Geförderte aus den Bereichen Biologie, Chemie und Medizin sowie aus dem Kulturbereich. Die Treffen bieten ihnen alle zwei Jahre die Möglichkeit, auch nach Ende der aktiven Förderung mit der Stiftung und miteinander in Kontakt zu bleiben und Erfahrungen und Meinungen auszutauschen.

Stipendiatentreffen 2009

Entsprechend den Zielsetzungen der Stiftung, den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern unterschiedlicher Disziplinen und Denkarten zu fördern, wurde der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt der diesjährigen Veranstaltung gewählt: „Creativity in Art and Science“. Neben den Bedingungen von Kreativität sollen auch Fragen zu Förderung und Karrieremanagement sowie zur Rolle des Bildes in Kunst und Wissenschaft aus Perspektive von Wissenschaftlern, Künstlern und Förderern dargestellt und interdisziplinär erörtert werden. Die geladenen Referenten versprechen spannende Diskussionsansätze. Neben ausgewählten Stipendiaten werden die folgenden Gastredner aus Wissenschaft und Kunst auf dem Stipendiatentreffen sprechen:

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth
Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrates der Schering Stiftung und ehemaliger Präsident des Robert Koch-Institutes, Berlin 

Prof. Dr. Günter Stock
Präsident der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

Julian Klein
Künstlerischer Direktor, !KF – Institut für künstlerische Forschung

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Elmar W. Weiler
Rektor der Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Prof. Dr. Horst Bredekamp
Professor für Kunstgeschichte, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge
Institut für Biologie - Mikrobiologie, Freie Universität Berlin

Prof. Mischa Kuball
Professor für Kunst, Kunsthochschule für Medien, Köln

Prof. Dr. Andreas Radbruch
Wissenschaftlicher Direktor, Deutsches Rheuma-Forschungszentrum Berlin

Einer der Höhepunkte des diesjährigen Programms ist die musikalische Darbietung von Ruslan Vilensky, Violoncellist und ehemaliger Stipendiat der Orchesterakademie der Berliner Philharmoniker, der sich in seinem Beitrag mit den Bedingungen von Kreativität in der Musik auseinandersetzt.

Anlässlich des Treffens wird Prof. Günter Stock, Präsident der Berlin Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Mitbegründer der Schering Forschungsgemeinschaft, an die 20jährige Tradition der Förderung von Wissenschaft und Kunst durch die Schering Forschungsgemeinschaft und seit 2002 durch die Schering Stiftung erinnern und in seinem Einführungsvortrag „The Ernst Schering Foundation: An Unusual Example of Public Private Partnership“ Bilanz ziehen.

Darüber hinaus erhalten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus dem Bereich Wissenschaft in Working Sessions Gelegenheit, das eigene Projekt vorzustellen und das ständig wachsende internationale Netzwerk von herausragenden Forscherinnen und Forschern auszubauen. In kleineren Gruppen werden Forschungsergebnisse aus den Fachgebieten Neurowissenschaften, Chemie und Genregulation | Stammzellen präsentiert und diskutiert.

Das Stipendiatentreffen der Schering Stiftung ist eine nicht-öffentliche Veranstaltung (Konferenzsprache Englisch).

Weitere Informationen zu den Doktorandenstipendien und den Stipendiatentreffen der Schering Stiftung erhalten Sie hier.

 

Foto: Daniel Flaschar

 

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr