Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Sound / Space / Body – A Process

The interdisciplinary artistic research project “Sound / Space / Body – A Process” will have its première on May 28, 2011, at the Radialsystem V. Under the direction of choreographer Louise Wagner, neuroscientists, philosophers, and dancers put the physical awareness of self at the center of an interdisciplinary study inspired by an installation by the pioneer of sound art: Prof. Bernhard Leitner. In her project, Louise Wagner uses the medium of dance to study the perception of sound, in order to communicate a different – physical – way of hearing through seeing movement. Sound_Space_Body - A Process

The experiment, of which the audience is a part, is based on the assumption that the body’s awareness is created at two levels: by perceiving, on the one hand, its physicality and, on the other, its subjectivity. Different listening constellations create a communication web among the dancers. The audience observes these communication processes and thus gains access to extended hearing.

Situated as it is at the interface of art and science and combining dance, neuroscience, philosophy, and the visual arts to gain new aesthetic and scientific insights into the field of perception research, the research project “Sound / Space / Body – A Process” receives substantial support from the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Louise Wagner, born in 1981 in Vienna, studied stage design and liberal arts at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and at the University for Fine Arts in Hamburg. At the same time, she studied dance at the Contemporary Dance School in Hamburg. In 2010 she graduated with a degree in choreography from the Ernst Busch College of Performing Art in Berlin. Her main interest as a choreographer is in collaborating with the fields of fine arts, music, and science. Her works have been shown at the Center for Art and Media (ZKM) in Karlsruhe, the Konzerthaus Berlin, and at national and international festivals such as sonambiente berlin, the multimedia festival Transnaturale in Uhyst, the Kunstfest Weimar, and the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Louise Wagner lives and works as a freelance choreographer in Berlin.

Louise Wagner’s project was developed in close cooperation with the Association of Neuroesthetics. In conjunction with the première of “Sound / Space / Body – A Process” at the Radialsystem V, visitors will have the opportunity to attend a panel discussion moderated by Dr. Daniel S. Margulies, philosopher, artist, and neuroscientist.

Sound / Space / Body – A Process

Première: Saturday, May 28, 2011, 8:00 p.m.
Radialsystem V | Holzmarktstrasse 33 | 10243 Berlin

Panel Discussion: Saturday, May 28, 2011
Radialsystem V | Holzmarktstrasse 33 | 10243 Berlin

Additional Performances: Sunday, May 29, 2011, 8:00 p.m.
Radialsystem V | Holzmarktstrasse 33 | 10243 Berlin

Wednesday, June 1; Thursday, June 2; Friday, June 3, 2011, 8:00 p.m.
Church of St. John the Evangelist | Auguststrasse 90 | 10117 Berlin


Sound-Space Installation: Bernhard Leitner
Choreography: Louise Wagner
Moderator: Dr. Daniel S. Margulies

Dancers:
Ruben Antoniano, Barbara Bess, Matthieu Burner, Katharina Meves, Akemi Nagao, Davide Sportelli, and Frank Willens


Produced in cooperation with the Association of Neuroesthetics (AoN).

Scientific Coordination:
Dr. Alexander Abbushi, neurosurgeon, Charité, AoN, Berlin
Ana Gomez-Carrillo de Castro, psychiatrist, Charité, AoN, Berlin
Dr. Elena Agudio, art historian and curator, AoN, Berlin

Scientific Partners:
Dr. Luca F. Ticini, Italian Society of Neuroesthetics Semir Zeki, Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig
Professor Dr. Jonathan Cole, neurophysiologist, University of Southampton
Ida Momennejad, Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience, Humboldt University of Berlin
Einav Katan, dancer, philosopher, fellow of the Research Group on Iconicity and Embodiment, Humboldt University of Berlin; PhD candidate, Philosophy Department, Tel Aviv University
Dr. Daniel S. Margulies, Berlin School of Mind and Brain, Humboldt University of Berlin; Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig

Project Management:
Thomas Friedland

Photos: Alexandru Pasca

Sound_Space_Body - A Process

Sound_Space_Body - A Process

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Sound / Space / Body – A Process

Das interdisziplinäre künstlerische Forschungsprojekt „Sound / Space / Body – A Process“ wird am 28. Mai 2011 im Radialsystem V uraufgeführt. Unter der Leitung der Choreografin Louise Wagner stellen Neurowissenschaftler und Philosophen gemeinsam mit Tänzern das körperliche Selbstbewusstsein in den Mittelpunkt einer interdisziplinären Untersuchung, deren Ausgangspunkt eine Installation des Pioniers der Klangkunst – Prof. Bernhard Leitner – ist. Louise Wagner will in ihrem Projekt über das Medium Tanz die Wahrnehmung von Klang untersuchen, um schließlich durch das Sehen von Bewegung ein anderes – körperliches – Hören zu vermitteln.

Sound_Space_Body - A Process 

Das Experiment, dessen Teil die Besucher sein werden, basiert auf der Annahme, dass das Bewusstsein des Körpers auf zwei Ebenen entsteht: durch Wahrnehmung seiner Physikalität einerseits und seiner Subjektivität andererseits. Aus unterschiedlichen Hörkonstellationen bildet sich ein Kommunikationsnetz zwischen den Tänzern. Das Publikum beobachtet diese kommunikativen Prozesse und erhält so Zugang zum erweiterten Hören.

Das Forschungsprojekt „Sound / Space / Body – A Process“ bewegt sich an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft. Es verbindet Tanz, Neurowissenschaft, Philosophie und Bildende Kunst, um auf dem Feld der Wahrnehmungsforschung neue Erkenntnisse in den Bereichen Ästhetik und Wissenschaft zu gewinnen und wird deshalb von der Schering Stiftung substanziell gefördert.

Louise Wagner, geb. 1981 in Wien, studierte Bühnenbild und Freie Künste an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien und an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg. Gleichzeitig absolvierte sie eine Tanzausbildung an der Contemporary Dance School in Hamburg. 2010 schloss sie ihr Choreographie-Studium an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“ in Berlin ab. Ihr choreographischer Interessenschwerpunkt liegt in der Zusammenarbeit mit den Sparten Bildende Kunst, Musik und Wissenschaft. Ihre Arbeiten wurden am ZKM in Karlsruhe, dem Konzerthaus Berlin sowie bei nationalen und internationalen Festivals wie sonambiente berlin, dem Multimediafestival Transnaturale in Uhyst, dem Kunstfest Weimar und dem Off-Festival Aix-en-Provence gezeigt. Louise Wagner lebt und arbeitet als freischaffende Choreographin in Berlin.

Das Projekt von Louise Wagner entstand in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Association of Neuroesthetics. Begleitend zur Uraufführung von „Sound / Space / Body – A Process“ im Radialsystem V können die Besucher an einer Podiumsdiskussion teilnehmen, moderiert von Dr. Daniel S. Margulies, Philosoph, Künstler und Neurowissenschaftler.


Sound / Space / Body – A Process

Premiere: Sa, 28.05.2011, 20 Uhr
Radialsystem V | Holzmarktstraße 33 | 10243 Berlin

Podiumsdiskussion: Sa, 28.05.2011
Radialsystem V | Holzmarktstraße 33 | 10243 Berlin

Weitere Aufführungen: So, 29.05.2011, 20 Uhr
Radialsystem V | Holzmarktstraße 33 | 10243 Berlin

Mi, 1. Juni, Do, 2. Juni, Fr, 3. Juni 2011, jeweils 20 Uhr
St. Johannes-Evangelist Kirche | Auguststraße 90 | 10117 Berlin


Ton-Raum-Installation: Bernhard Leitner
Choreographie: Louise Wagner
Moderation: Dr. Daniel S. Margulies

Tänzer:
Ruben Antoniano, Barbara Bess, Matthieu Burner, Katharina Meves, Akemi Nagao, Davide Sportelli und Frank Willens


Eine Produktion in Zusammenarbeit mit der Association of Neuroesthetics.

Wissenschaftliche Koordination:
Dr. Alexander Abbushi, Neurochirurg, Charité, AoN, Berlin
Ana Gomez-Carrillo de Castro, Psychiaterin, Charité, AoN, Berlin
Dr. Elena Agudio, Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin, AoN, Berlin

Wissenschaftliche Partner:
Dr. Luca F. Ticini, Italian Society of Neuroesthetics Semir Zeki, Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften Leipzig
Professor Dr. Jonathan Cole, Neurophysiologe, University of Southampton
Ida Momennejad, Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience, Humboldt Universität, Berlin
Einav Katan, dancer, philosopher, Fellow Kolleg Forschergruppe Bildakt und Verkörperung, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. PhD candidate, Philosophy Department, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Dr. Daniel S. Margulies, Berlin School of Mind and Brain, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften Leipzig

Projektleitung:
Thomas Friedland

Fotos: Alexandru Pasca

Sound_Space_Body - A Process

Sound_Space_Body - A Process

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr