Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

"Science Interactive Competition 2011" | Team from Kiel Wins Audience Award

05.07.2011, Berlin | A team composed of scientists and PR experts from Kiel is the winner of the 10,000-euro “2011 Science Interactive” award, sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation. Following an exciting finale at the Science Summer in Mainz, during which visitors and school groups took an active part, the team from the Kiel Campus of the Schleswig-Holstein University Medical Center (USKH) beat the two other finalists from Berlin. The competition entry by the Kiel-based team provides insights into the functioning and structure of the skin. Wissenschft interaktiv

The Skin – My Sacred Little House

It breathes, feels, regulates, and protects: The skin is the organ that defines a human being as an individual – it separates inside from outside. Since the skin is exposed to so many influences, it is in particular need of protection and care. Under the motto “Become the builder of your skin!,” the team led by Professor Regina Fölster-Holst from the Department of Dermatology, Venereology, and Allergology at the University Medical Center in Kiel designed an interactive traveling exhibition, where visitors can experience and feel skin health with the aid of walk-in models.

In the exhibition, children playfully learn about the skin and its most common diseases and get tips for skin care. Complex knowledge is explained in an easy-to-understand way and posters and charts present the latest in research. The first stations provide an introduction to the structure of the skin and the characteristics of the different layers of skin that contain vessels and nerves as well as hair and sweat glands. The second part of the exhibition shows what can happen when there are holes in the skin or when skin layers are destroyed (e.g. because of bug bites, piercings and tattoos). Another topic are skin problems across all age groups, in particular neurodermatitis, its causes and how to deal with it.

After the presentation at the 2011 Science Summer, the prevention project is scheduled to be shown in hospitals, shopping malls, schools, and natural history museums across Germany. The exhibits will be on display in Kiel, including at the Health Forum of the Schleswig-Holstein University Medical Center.

The Science Interactive audience award is offered jointly by Science in Dialogue and the Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Science and the Humanities and is sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation. It seeks to promote the cooperation between young scientists and their organizations’ or institutions’ press offices and wants to inspire new forms of science communication. In 2011, the Ernst Schering Foundation for the first time sponsors the Science Interactive Award, since it communicates research to a broader public in a vivid and interactive manner and stimulates the dialogue between scientists and citizens.

 

Photos: 

Prof. Dr. Regina Fölster-Holst and Dr. Matthias Buchner from the team of the Universitätsklinikums Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel | Photo: Peter Pulkowski/WiD

„The Skin – My Sacred Little House“ | Poto: David Ausserhofer/WiD

Wiss_Int_Preis

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

„Wissenschaft interaktiv“ 2011 | Team aus Kiel gewinnt Publikumspreis

Den von der Schering Stiftung geförderten und mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Preis „Wissenschaft interaktiv 2011“ hat ein Team von Wissenschaftlern und PR-Experten aus Kiel gewonnen: Nach einem spannenden Finale während des Wissenschaftssommers in Mainz mit reger Beteiligung von Besuchern und Schulklassen setzte sich das Team vom Universitätsklinikum Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel, gegen die zwei weiteren Finalisten aus Berlin durch. In ihrem Wettbewerbsbeitrag geben die Kieler einen Einblick in die Funktionsweise und den Aufbau der Haut.

Wissenschaft interaktiv 2011

Die Haut – mein heiliges Häuschen

Sie atmet, fühlt, reguliert und schützt: Die Haut ist das definierende Organ des Menschen als Individuum – es trennt Innen von Außen. Da die Haut vielen Einflüssen ausgesetzt ist, ist sie besonders schutz- und pflegebedürftig. Unter dem Motto „Werde zum Baumeister Deiner Hautschicht!“ hat das Team um Frau Professor Regina Fölster-Holst, Klinik für Dermatologie, Venerologie und Allergologie des Universitätsklinikums Kiel eine interaktive Wanderausstellung konzipiert, in der Interessierte anhand begehbarer Modelle Hautgesundheit zum Anfassen erleben können.

In der Ausstellung lernen Kinder spielerisch die Haut und ihre häufigsten Störungen kennen und erhalten Pflegehinweise. Komplexes Wissen wird verständlich erklärt und weiterführende Schautafeln zeigen den neuesten Stand der Forschung. Die ersten Stationen führen in den Aufbau der Haut und die Eigenschaften der verschiedenen Hautschichten ein, die Gefäße und Nerven sowie Haare und Schweißdrüsen führen. Der zweite Teil der Ausstellung zeigt, was passieren kann, wenn das Organ Löcher aufweist oder Hautschichten zerstört werden (z.B. bei Mückenstichen, Piercings und Tattoos). Ein weiteres Thema sind Hautprobleme aller Altersklassen, insbesondere Neurodermitis, ihre Ursachen und der Umgang mit ihr.

Nach der Präsentation auf dem Wissenschaftssommer 2011 soll das Präventionsprojekt bundesweit in Kliniken, Einkaufszentren, Schulen und Naturkundemuseen gezeigt werden. Die Exponate werden in Kiel u.a. im UKSH-Gesundheitsforum zu sehen sein.

Der Publikumspreis „Wissenschaft interaktiv“ wird jährlich von der Initiative Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD) und dem Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft für interaktive Exponate vergeben, die der Öffentlichkeit anschaulich wissenschaftliche Zusammenhänge erklären. Die Schering Stiftung fördert das Projekt in 2011 und 2012, da es die Kooperation von jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern mit der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit ihres Hauses unterstützt und neue Formen der Wissenschaftskommunikation anregt. Die nächste Ausschreibung des Wettbewerbs „Wissenschaft interaktiv“ erfolgt im Herbst 2011.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.wissenschaft-interaktiv.de

 

Fotos:

Prof. Dr. Regina Fölster-Holst und Dr. Matthias Buchner vom Team des Universitätsklinikums Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel | Foto: Peter Pulkowski/WiD

„Die Haut – mein heiliges Häuschen“ | Foto: David Ausserhofer/WiD

Wiss_Int_Preis

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr