Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Borderland – A Participatory and Interdisciplinary Artistic Networking Project

15.08.2011, Berlin | “Borderland” is the pilot project of a proposed series that seeks to build an ongoing Russian-European artists’ network. The project sees itself as an open, cross-sectoral platform at the intersection of music, dance, language, performance and media art. In light of digitalization and the gradual dissolution of specific artistic fields, the project initiated by artists Max Bilitza (Germany) and Tomas Vtipil (Czechia) aims to bring together artists from across Europe on an ongoing basis. Borderland1_web

 

The starting point of “Borderland” is the internet portal www.borderland-project.net. From May through August 2011, the participating artists present their sketches, ideas and excerpts online, which are linked, in a “Virtual Jam Session,” with the artistic positions, working methods and designs of other participants. Thus is created a hub for ideas, a transformer station for ideas and exhibitions, a free-trade zone where artists can develop, convert and publish in accordance with the Open Source principle – across genres, internationally and collaboratively – which inspires a creative and open-ended process for experiments and participation among German, Russian, Czech and Hungarian artists. The idea behind the project is for the artists to further develop the ideas of others in an interdisciplinary manner, for dancers to cooperate with video artists, for visual artists to communicate with poets. The session breaks with classical authorship and the forms of expression specific to each art. “Borderland” functions as a dating and adoption site for creative professionals.

 

The project, however, does not stop there. The virtual process is followed by real workshop meetings between the artists, which will lead to presentations (multimedia concerts and performances), which in turn are further work steps: the experiences made during the presentations become part of the continued rehearsals. A public symposium examines the aspirations and realities of the project. The whole process will be filmed by a documentary filmmaker. The resulting film, documenting both the project’s contents and methods, will also be published on the website which is to be designed during this project stage.

 

The “Borderland” project is the winner of the „kultur-im-dialog.moe“ (culture in dialogue) competition, which, in 2011, has been co-organized for the fourth time by the Ernst Schering Foundation and MitOst e.V. The competition supports cultural projects that promote the long-term relations between neighboring countries and border regions of Eastern, Central, and Southeastern Europe. What distinguishes “Borderland” is the transformation of, and interconnections between, various approaches as well as the focus of the artistic network on contemporary demands. In addition to a website, it will give birth to new ways of performing media art and a new prototype of artistic production. Based on intermediality and interactivity, the project creates a space in between installation, exhibition, and concert where the artistic creative process itself is staged.

 

Borderland – Project Schedule:

1) Virtual Jam Session: May 1 – August 21, 2011

Transfer of ideas through improvisation tasks on certain themes, which will be developed by the participants in their own country or with a partner via e-mail/the internet platform. This virtual transformation process is structured by certain “rules of the game.” Each participant is to respond to his/her initiator during a certain time period. Then the artistic response will be sent to the next participant, who then sends his/her edited version to the next artist.

 

2) Artists Meeting/Workshop: August 22 – September 8, 2011

Workshop on “New Media and Forms of Communication – Impact on Art and Culture”

Participants:

Max Bilitza, performance artist, Germany

Chehov Drug, music band, Russia

Rüdiger Eichholtz, artist and art educator, Germany

Pascal Klein, web designer, Germany

Hajnal Szolga, curator and multimedia artist, Hungary

Tomas Vtipil, performer and musician, Czechia

Petr Kacirek, photographer and documentary filmmaker, Czechia

 

3) Multimedia Concerts/Performances/Symposium: August 28 – September 8, 2011

 

August 28, 2011, 9 p.m.

Chehov Drug (RUS) & NEULAND (CZ, D) –

Post-rap, electronic music, video art

Djäzz | Börsenstr. 11 | 47051 Duisburg

September 2, 2011, 9 p.m.

Katholikentagsbahnhof | Konrad-Adenauer-Platz 3 | 44787 Bochum

 

September 3, 2011, 9 p.m.

“Invisible Borders” exhibition space

Place TBD

 

September 4, 2011, 8 p.m.

zakk | Fichtenstr. 40 | 40233 Düsseldorf

 

September 7, 2011, 8 p.m.

High 5 Club | Düsseldorfer Str. 5 | 47051 Duisburg

 

September 8, 2011, 7 p.m.

Symposium on “East, West, Analog, Digital – Artistic and Cultural Exchange Without Borders?”

High 5 Club | Düsseldorfer Str. 5 | 47051 Duisburg

 

4) Film Documentation and Website Development: September 5 – 30, 2011

The film documents the working process and makes it transparent for outsiders. With the aid of Focus Designs, a design agency, a website will be developed which will create a long-term ideas pool as an independent source for artistic project ideas.

 

 

For more information, please visit: www.borderland-project.net

 

Photos: Petr Kacirek

 

Borderland2_Web

 

  

 

Borderland3_web

 

 

 

News

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Borderland – Ein partizipatives und interdisziplinäres Kunstnetzwerkprojekt

10.08.2011, Berlin | „Borderland“ ist das Pilot-Projekt einer geplanten Reihe, die ein kontinuierlich arbeitendes, russisch-europäisches Künstlernetzwerk etablieren will. Das Projekt versteht sich als offene, spartenübergreifende Plattform an der Schnittstelle von Musik, Tanz, Sprach-, Performance- und Medienkunst. Vor dem Hintergrund der Digitalisierung und einer sukzessiven Auflösung der spezifischen Kunstbereiche möchte das von den Künstlern Max Bilitza (Deutschland) und Tomas Vtipil (Tschechien) initiierte Projekt Künstler europaweit nachhaltig zusammenführen.

Borderland

Ausgangspunkt von „Borderland“ ist das Internetportal www.borderland-project.net. Hier stellen die teilnehmenden Künstler von Mai bis August 2011 Skizzen, Ideen und Werkausschnitte online, die sich in einer „Virtual Jam Session“ mit den künstlerischen Positionen der weiteren Teilnehmenden, ihren Arbeitsweisen und Formgebungen verflechten. So entsteht eine Drehscheibe für Ideen, ein Umspannwerk für Impulse und Werkschauen, eine Freihandelszone, in der – genreübergreifend, international und kollaborativ – nach dem Open-Source-Prinzip entwickelt, konvertiert und veröffentlicht werden kann. Zwischen zunächst deutschen, russischen, tschechischen und ungarischen Künstlern wird ein kreativer Prozess für Experimente und Partizipation angestoßen, dessen Ergebnisse offen sind. Der Wunsch des Projektes ist es, dass Künstler interdisziplinär an der Idee anderer weiter arbeiten, Tänzer mit Videokünstlern kooperieren, bildende Künstler mit Dichtern kommunizieren. Die Session bricht mit der klassischen Autorschaft und der jeweils spezifischen künstlerischen Ausdrucksform. „Borderland“ funktioniert als Partnervermittlung für Kreative und Adoptionsbörse für Kreatives.

Auf dieser Ebene bleibt das Projekt jedoch nicht stehen. Dem virtuellen Prozess folgt die reale Begegnung der Künstler in Workshops. Die Arbeit mündet in Aufführungen (multimedialen Konzerten und Performances), die zugleich weitere Arbeitsschritte sind: die Erfahrungen der Präsentationen fließen in die fortgesetzte Probenarbeit ein. Ein Symposium reflektiert öffentlich Anspruch und Realität des Projektverlaufs. Der gesamte Prozess wird von einem Dokumentarfilmer begleitet. So entsteht ein Inhalt und Methoden des Projekts dokumentierender Film, der auf der ebenfalls in dieser Projektphase zu erstellenden Internetseite veröffentlicht wird.

Das Projekt „Borderland“ ist Gewinner des Wettbewerbes „kultur-im-dialog.moe“, den die Schering Stiftung und der MitOst e. V. im Jahr 2011 zum 4. Mal gemeinsam ausgelobt haben. Mit dem Wettbewerb werden Kulturprojekte unterstützt, die die nachhaltigen Beziehungen zwischen Nachbarländern oder in Grenzregionen Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropas fördern. „Borderland“ zeichnet sich durch die Transformation und Verflechtung der Ansätze sowie die Konzentration des Künstler-Netzwerkes auf die Anforderungen der Gegenwart aus. Neben einer virtuellen Präsentationsstätte im Internet entstehen eine neuartige Medienkunstperformance und der Prototyp einer künstlerischen Produktionsweise. Beruhend auf Intermedialität und Interaktivität schafft das Projekt einen Zwischenraum zwischen Installation, Ausstellung und Konzert, in dem der künstlerische Schaffensprozess selbst inszeniert wird.

Borderland – Projektablauf:

1. Virtual Jam Session: 01.05. bis 21.08.2011

Ideentransfer durch thematische Improvisationsaufgaben, die von den Teilnehmern im eigenen Land oder mit einem Partner via E-Mail/Internetplattform erarbeitet werden. Dieser virtuelle Transformationsprozess wird durch "Spielregeln" strukturiert. Jeder Teilnehmer antwortet seinem Impulsgeber im Rahmen eines bestimmten Zeitfensters. Darauf sendet er seine künstlerische Reaktion zu einem anderen Teilnehmer, der wiederum dem nächsten Künstler seine bearbeitete Version schickt.

2. Künstlertreffen/Workshop: 22.08. bis 08.09.2011

Workshop zum Thema "Neue Medien und Kommunikationsformen – Auswirkungen auf Kunst und Kultur"

Teilnehmer:
Max Bilitza, Performance-Künstler, Deutschland
Chehov Drug, Musikband, Russland
Rüdiger Eichholtz, bildender Künstler und Kunstpädagoge, Deutschland
Pascal Klein, Webdesigner, Deutschland
Hajnal Szolga, Kuratorin und Multimediakünstlerin, Ungarn
Tomas Vtipil, Performer und Musiker, Tschechien
Petr Kacirek, Fotograf und Dokumentarfilmer, Tschechien

3. Multimediale Konzerte / Performances / Symposium: 28.08. – 08.09.2011

28.8.2011, 21 Uhr
Chehov Drug (RUSS) & NEULAND (CZ, D) –
Post-Rap, elektronische Musik, Videokunst
Djäzz,| Börsenstr. 11 | 47051 Duisburg

2.9. 2011, 21 Uhr
Katholikentagsbahnhof
Konrad-Adenauer-Platz 3 | 44787 Bochum

3.9. 2011, 21 Uhr
Ausstellungsraum "Invisible Borders"
Ort wird noch bekanntgegeben.

4.9. 2011, 20 Uhr
zakk | Fichtenstr. 40 | 40233 Düsseldorf

7.9. 2011, 20 Uhr
High 5 Club | Düsseldorfer Str. 5 | 47051 Duisburg

8.9 2011, 19 Uhr
Symposium: „Ost, West, Analog, Digital – Kunstaustausch in Echtzeit?“
High 5 Club | Düsseldorfer Str. 5 | 47051 Duisburg

4. Filmdokumentation und Erstellung der Internetseite: 05.09. – 30.09.11

Der Film dokumentiert den Arbeitsprozess und öffnet ihn für Außenstehende. Mit Hilfe der Agentur „Focus Designs“ wird zudem eine Internetseite entwickelt, die langfristig einen Ideenpool als eigenständige Quelle von künstlerischen Projektideen anlegt.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.borderland-project.net

Fotos: Petr Kacirek

Borderland

 

 

 

Borderland

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr