Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Control and Chance – Iannis Xenakis: Composer, Architect, Visionary

10.08.2011, Berlin | “Control and Chance” is the title of an exhibition of Iannis Xenakis’s graphic works and sound installations, which will open at the Berlin Academy of Arts on September 6, 2011. Part of a major interdisciplinary focus on John Cage and his artistic partners and contemporaries such as, for example, Merce Cunningham, the exhibition examines the controversy between the seeming anarchy of Cage’s “Change Music” and Xenakis’s strictly mathematical constructions. The focus is, among other things, on the relationship between control and chance and thus on chance as a method during the period of this idea’s emergence.

Iannis Xenakis

 

 

 

Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001) is undeniably one of the major composers of the 20th century. The Greek-French artist is less known as an architect, in spite of the visionary nature of both his works that resulted from his long-standing collaboration with Le Corbusier and his polytopes – spectacular multimedia performances. What connects his various works is the inclusion of mathematical processes – and his working method of first putting all ideas on paper: Xenakis “thought” with his hand.

Xenakis’s drawings, a part of his work that has so far received little attention, are the focus of an exhibition organized by the Academy of Arts as part of a John Cage program. The exhibition includes sketches, studies, scores, drafts and unknown film documents on ground-breaking musical works such as “Metastaseis” and “Terretektorh,” on architectural works such as the diatope for the Centre Pompidou in 1974 as well as the avant-garde polytopes. In his works on paper, Xenakis gave graphic form to his complex calculations at the intersection of art, architecture and mathematics. They are visual preliminary stages of an art that finds its expression mostly in the listening experience; in the exhibition, the drawings and the musical excerpts that visitors can listen to at audio stations illuminate each other.

First shown at the Drawing Center in New York in 2010, the exhibition at the Berlin Academy of Arts has been expanded to also include works by Xenakis’s contemporaries as well as current works. By drawing connections to Hermann Scherchen, Richard Buckminster Fuller or Allan Kaprow, the topic of “control and chance” opens up new perspectives on John Cage. During the 1960s, the controversies around processes of chance and control – which were exemplified by the debate between Cage’s principle of indeterminacy, serial music, and Xenakis’s strictly mathematical constructions – extended beyond the field of music. The different positions are summed up in an archive room, which includes video portraits featuring Eberhard Blum, Reinhild Hofmann, Enno Poppe, Dieter Schnebel and previously undisplayed documents from the Academy archives such as the drawings for the planned Scherchens auditorium in Gravesano (1961).  

The methodological approach of the “Control and Chance” exhibition, which dates back to a correspondence between John Cage and Pierre Boulez, is central to the work of the Ernst Schering Foundation, which seeks to promote the dialogue between art and science and the interdisciplinary dialogue between the visual and performing arts as well as music and architecture. The exhibition examines the seeming contrast between controlled science on the one hand and the random creative processes in art on the other hand, refuting this contrast by juxtaposing John Cage and Iannis Xenakis. The method of chance in artistic production is examined not only through documentary materials, but also by including contemporary artists and architects.

Control and Chance
Opening: September 6, 2011, 7 p.m.
Free Admission. 

Exhibition Dates: September 7 – November 27, 2011

Accompanying Lecture and Performance Programme on November 25 and 27, 2011 (in German):

pdf Programme

Academy of Arts
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin

Opening Hours:
Tue-Sun: 11 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Admission € 6 / € 4, free admission for under 18-year-olds and on the first Sunday of the month.
Phone: +49 (0) 30 200 57 1000

(The ticket is also valid for the exhibitions “Merce Cunningham performs STILLNESS” and “Members comment on Cage.”)

For additional information on “A Year from Monday. 365 Days of John Cage,” please visit www.adk.de/cage

The part of the exhibition which was organized by the Drawing Center, New York, was realized with the special assistance of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris.

Photos: James Klosty; Iannis Xenakis Archives, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris.

Iannis Xenakis

 

 

Iannis Xenakis

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Kontrolle und Zufall – Iannis Xenakis: Komponist, Architekt, Visionär

10.08.2011, Berlin | „Kontrolle und Zufall“ ist der Titel einer Ausstellung zu Iannis Xenakis’ graphischen Arbeiten und Soundinstallationen, die am 6. September 2011 in der Akademie der Künste eröffnet wird. Die Ausstellung steht im Kontext eines großen interdisziplinären Schwerpunktprogramms zu John Cage und seinen künstlerischen Partnern und Zeitgenossen, wie z. B. Merce Cunningham, und untersucht die Auseinandersetzung zwischen der scheinbaren Anarchie der „Change Music“ von Cage mit den streng mathematischen Konstruktionen von Xenakis. Diskutiert wird u.a. die Frage nach dem Verhältnis von Kontrolle und Zufall und damit nach dem Zufall als Methode innerhalb des Entstehungszeitraums dieser Idee.

Iannis Xenakis

Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001) gehört zweifellos zu den bedeutendsten Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts. Als Architekt ist der griechisch-französische Künstler weniger bekannt, obwohl die Arbeiten aus der jahrelangen Zusammenarbeit mit Le Corbusier und seine Polytope, spektakuläre multimediale Rauminszenierungen, visionär sind. Bindeglied seiner vielfältigen Aktivitäten war die Einbeziehung von mathematischen Verfahren ­­– und seine Arbeitsweise, alle Ideen zuerst zu Papier zu bringen: Xenakis ‚dachte’ mit der Hand.

Dieser bis dato wenig beachtete Zweig von Xenakis’ Wirken, seine Zeichnungen, stehen im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung, welche die Akademie der Künste im Rahmen eines Schwerpunktes zu John Cage ausrichtet. Die Schau zeigt Skizzen, Studien, Partituren, Entwürfe und unbekannte Filmdokumente zu bahnbrechenden musikalischen Werken wie „Metastaseis“ und „Terretektorh“, zu architektonischen Arbeiten wie dem Diatope für das Centre Pompidou 1974 bis hin zu den avantgardistischen Polytopen. In den Papierarbeiten setzte Xenakis seine komplexen Kalkulationen im Schnittfeld von Musik, Architektur und Mathematik grafisch um. Sie sind visuelle Vorstufen einer Kunst, die zumeist im Hörerlebnis ihren Ausdruck findet; in der Ausstellung erhellen sich die Zeichnungen und über Hörstationen erlebbare Musikeinspielungen wechselseitig.

Die Ausstellung, die erstmals 2010 im Drawing Center, New York, zu sehen war, ist in der Akademie um Arbeiten von Zeitgenossen und aktuelle Werke erweitert. Über die Querverbindung zu Hermann Scherchen, Richard Buckminster Fuller oder Allan Kaprow eröffnen sich unter dem Thema „Kontrolle und Zufall“ neue Bezüge zu John Cage. Die Auseinandersetzungen um Verfahren des Zufalls und der Kontrolle – exemplarisch in der Kontroverse zwischen dem Unbestimmtheitsprinzip bei Cage, der seriellen Musik und den streng mathematischen Konstruktionen von Xenakis – hatte in den sechziger Jahren nicht nur in der Musik Konjunktur. Die unterschiedlichen Positionen sind in einem Archivraum zusammengefasst, darunter Videoporträts mit Eberhard Blum, Reinhild Hofmann, Enno Poppe, Dieter Schnebel und bisher noch nie gezeigte Dokumente aus dem Archiv der Akademie wie die Zeichnungen zum geplanten Auditorium Scherchens in Gravesano, 1961.  

Der methodische Ansatz der Ausstellung „Kontrolle und Zufall“, der auf einen Briefwechsel zwischen John Cage und Pierre Boulez zurückgeht, ist zentral für die Arbeit der Schering Stiftung im Hinblick auf die Förderung des Dialoges von Kunst und Wissenschaft bzw. des interdisziplinären Dialoges zwischen bildender und darstellender Kunst sowie Musik und Architektur. Der scheinbare Gegensatz von kontrollierter Wissenschaft auf der einen Seite und zufälligen kreativen Prozessen in der Kunst andererseits wird aufgegriffen und anhand der Gegenüberstellung von John Cage und Iannis Xenakis widerlegt. Dies geschieht anhand der Untersuchung der Methode des Zufalls in der künstlerischen Produktion, die nicht nur an dokumentarischem Material aufgezeigt, sondern auch durch die Einbindung zeitgenössischer Künstler und Architekten weitergeführt wird.

Kontrolle und Zufall
Eröffnung: 6. September 2011, 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Ausstellungsdauer: 7. September – 27. November 2011

Begleitendes Vortrags- und Konzertprogramm am 25. und 27. November 2011:

pdf Begleitprogramm

Akademie der Künste
Hanseatenweg 10
10557 Berlin
Di-So 11–20 Uhr
Tel. (0 30) 200 57 1000

Eintritt € 6/4, bis 18 Jahre und am 1. Sonntag im Monat frei (Ticket gilt auch für die Ausstellungen „Merce Cunningham performs STILLNESS“ und „Mitglieder kommentieren Cage“)

Weitere Informationen zum Programm „A Year from Monday. 365 Tage John Cage“ unter www.adk.de/cage

Der vom Drawing Center, New York, organisierte Teil der Ausstellung wurde unter besonderer Mitwirkung der Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Paris, realisiert.

Bilder:

Iannis Xenakis
Study for Polytope de Montreal (light score), c. 1966
24,13 x 31,75 cm | Iannis Xenakis Archives, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris.

Iannis Xenakis
Study for Terretektorh (distribution of musicians), Dec. 20, 1965 | 22,86 x 22,86 cm | Iannis Xenakis Archives, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris.

James Klosty; Iannis Xenakis Archives, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris.

Xenakis_Adk_2

 

Iannis Xenakis

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr