Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

22nd European Students’ Conference | “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine”

Focusing on “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine,” 700 young scientists from more than 60 countries gathered at the 22nd European Students’ Conference in Berlin on September 21-24. The largest biomedical conference for young scientists and doctors in Europe, the conference featured renowned researchers from the United States, Japan and Germany who were talking about serious illnesses such as diabetes mellitus, cardiac insufficiency, Parkinson’s disease and HIV and report on new treatment approaches to these diseases. European Students Conference

Regenerative medicine seeks to cure a variety of diseases by replacing dysfunctional cells, tissue and organs, for example with the aid of lab-grown tissue or by stimulating the body’s own regenerative and reparation processes. The goal is to find new approaches to treat Parkinson’s disease, paraplegia and cancer or widespread diseases such as diabetes, obesity or coronary heart disease. It is also hoped to be able to apply the principles of regenerative medicine to the treatment of HIV.

Various researchers presented their insights and findings at the conference. Dr. Paula Cannon and Dr. Gero Hütter (keynotes on Sept. 22), for example, independently have shown that T4 helper cells that normally serve as a reservoir for the HI virus, can be immunized against HIV invasion if the CCR5 co-receptor necessary for this process is missing or eliminated. Professor Zimmermann, Professor Sumi and Dr. Petersen (keynotes on Sept 23) focus on tissue engineering. This term refers to procedures to regenerate damaged tissue with the aid of stem cells from the patient’s own body. It may thus be possible in the future to grow entire organs in the lab for transplantation. 

In addition to the lectures, conference participants could participate in sessions and workshops to present their own research and enhance their practical skills. Moreover, they could build valuable contacts with fellow students, companies, research groups and professors. An interactive workshop on career planning has been held in cooperation with the Charité and other renowned research institutes, and the aid organization “Doctors Without Borders” provided information about its work and activities.

The ESC was founded by medical students in 1989 with the goal of improving the scientific exchange between East and West after reunification and promoting the international networking of biomedical sciences, faculties and students. The Ernst Schering Foundation supported the conference because it makes an important contribution to promoting excellent young scientists and helping them build international networks.

22nd European Students’ Conference
Charité Campus Virchow-Klinikum
Augustenburger Platz 1 (Forum 3)
13353 Berlin

Other information is available at www.esc-berlin.com.

 

Photo: Copyright European Students Conference

 

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Ivana Franke

 

22nd European Students’ Conference | “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine”

Unter der Motto “Perspectives and Challenges in Regenerative Medicine” trafen sich vom 21. - 24. September 2011 700 junge Wissenschaftler aus über 60 Ländern zur 22. European Students’ Conference in Berlin. Auf der größten biomedizinischen Konferenz für junge Wissenschaftler und Ärzte in Europa referierten in diesem Jahr renommierte Forscher aus den USA, Japan und Deutschland zu schwerwiegenden Erkrankungen wie Diabetes mellitus, Herzinsuffizienz, Morbus Parkinson und HIV und zeigten neue Therapieansätze im Kampf gegen diese auf.

European Students Conference

Die regenerative Medizin befasst sich mit der Heilung verschiedener Erkrankungen durch die Wiederherstellung funktionsgestörter Zellen, Gewebe und Organe durch biologischen Ersatz, beispielsweise mit Hilfe gezüchteter Gewebe, oder durch die Anregung körpereigener Regenerations- und Reparaturprozesse. Zukünftig sollen dabei neue Ansätze in der Therapie von Morbus Parkinson, Querschnittlähmung oder Krebs aber auch bei Volkskrankheiten wie Diabetes mellitus, Koronare Herzkrankheit oder Fettsucht gefunden werden. Auch bei der Bekämpfung von HIV wird große Hoffnung in die Prinzipien der regenerativen Medizin gesetzt. Einige Forscher stellten ihre Erkenntnisse auf der Konferenz vor.

So haben Dr. Paula Cannon und Dr. Gero Hütter (Keynotes 22.09.) unabhängig voneinander nachgewiesen, dass T4-Helferzellen, die normalerweise das Reservoir des HI-Virus bilden, gegen das Eindringen von HIV immunisiert werden können, wenn der für diesen Prozess notwendige CCR5-Co-Rezeptor fehlt oder eliminiert wird. Prof. Zimmermann, Prof. Sumi und Dr. Petersen (Keynotes 23.09.) beschäftigen sich mit dem Tissue-Engineering. Dieser Begriff fasst Verfahren zusammen, die es erlauben, mit Stammzellen aus dem Körper des Patienten geschädigtes Gewebe zu regenerieren. In Zukunft könnte es so möglich sein, ganze Organe im Labor herzustellen und sie zu transplantieren.

Neben den Vorträgen konnten die Teilnehmer in Sessions und Workshops ihre eigene Forschung dem Publikum und einer Fachjury vorstellen sowie praktische Fertigkeiten vertiefen. Darüber hinaus bestand die Möglichkeit, wertvolle Kontakte zu Mitstudenten, Firmen, Forschungsgruppen und Professoren zu knüpfen. So wurde zusammen mit der Charité und anderen namhaften Forschungsinstituten ein interaktiver Workshop zur Karriereplanung veranstaltet und die Hilfsorganisation „Ärzte Ohne Grenzen“ stellte sich vor.

Die ESC wurde 1989 von Medizinstudenten mit dem Anspruch gegründet, nach der Wiedervereinigung einen besseren wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen Ost und West zu schaffen und junge Wissenschaftler und Ärzte sowie die Verknüpfung der biomedizinischen Wissenschaften, Fakultäten und Studierenden auf internationaler Ebene zu fördern. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützte die Konferenz daher als wichtigen Beitrag zur Förderung und internationalen Vernetzung von exzellenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf: www.esc-berlin.com.

Foto: Copyright European Students Conference

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr