SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Young Investigator Award 2011

This year, the Ernst Schering Foundation’s Young Investigator Award, which carries a prize money of 10,000 euros, is given to Prof. Dr. Gunter Meister, professor of biochemistry at the University of Regensburg, whose basic research in RNA biochemistry has made an extraordinary contribution to understanding the function of non-coding RNAs. The award ceremony will take place in Frankfurt on September 27, 2011, as part of the 2011 “Molecular Life Sciences,” the annual conference of the German Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (GBM).

Gunter Meister is working on the basics of gene regulation by small non-coding RNAs. These molecules play an important role in the regulation of many neurodegenerative diseases and in carcinogenesis.

His early research on assembly processes of RNA-protein complexes has made a major contribution to understanding the biogenesis of spliceosomal U snRNPs. His insights into the endonuclease activity of argonaute proteins that interact with small regulatory RNAs (siRNAs, microRNAs) have increased our understanding of RNA interference (RNAi).

His current research focuses on microRNAs. It could be shown that the import receptor Importin8 plays an important role for miRNA function. Other research established that longer RNAs too (so-called snoRNAs) can be processed to miRNAs. This well-regarded studies have brought together two independent research areas that are now widely researched internationally.

Because of his outstanding work, Gunter Meister was appointed a chaired professor of biochemistry at the University of Regensburg at the age of 35.

News

Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive

15.01.2018, Berlin | From February 16 through May 27, 2018, the National Museums in Berlin will...
more

Stellenausschreibung: Teamassistenz

05.01.2018, Berlin | Zur Erweiterung unseres Teams suchen wir zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine Teamassistenz (m/w), Teilzeit...
more

Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth Theater

02.01.2018, Berlin | An expert conference titled “Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Young Investigator Award 2011

Der mit 10.000€ Preisgeld dotierte Young Investigator Award der Schering Stiftung geht in diesem Jahr an Prof. Dr. Gunter Meister, Professor für Biochemie an der Universität Regensburg, der mit seiner Grundlagenforschung im Bereich RNA-Biochemie außergewöhnliches zum Verständnis der Funktion von nicht-kodierenden RNAs beigetragen hat. Die Preisverleihung findet am 27. September 2011 im Rahmen der „Molecular Life Sciences 2011”, der Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, in Frankfurt / Main statt.

Gunter Meister beschäftigt sich mit den Grundlagen der Genregulation durch kleine nichtkodierende RNAs. Diese Moleküle spielen eine wichtige regulatorische Rolle bei vielen neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen und bei der Krebsentstehung.

Seine frühen Arbeiten zu Assemblierungsprozessen von RNA-Protein-Komplexen haben maßgeblich zum Verständnis der Biogenese von spleißosomalen U snRNPs beigetragen. Die Erkenntnisse zur Endonukleaseaktivität der Argonauten-Proteine, die mit kleinen regulatorischen RNAs (siRNAs, microRNAs) interagieren, stellen einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Verständnis der RNA-Interferenz (RNAi) dar.

Der derzeitige Forschungsschwerpunkt konzentriert sich auf microRNAs. So konnte gezeigt werden, dass der Import-Rezeptor Importin8 eine wichtige Rolle für die miRNA-Funktion spielt. Weitere Arbeiten belegten, dass auch längere RNAs (sog. snoRNAs), zu miRNAs weiter prozessiert werden können. Diese viel beachteten Arbeiten haben zwei unabhängige Forschungsfelder zusammen gebracht, die nun international intensiv beforscht werden.

Aufgrund seiner herausragenden Arbeiten wurde er im Alter von 35 Jahren auf den Lehrstuhl für Biochemie an der Universität Regensburg berufen.

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr