Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Never Mind – a “Neuro Performance” at the Sophiensæle

10.01.2012, Berlin | What is our self, what is capable of destroying it, and how can it be recovered? These and other difficult questions are at the heart of “Never Mind,” an interdisciplinary stage production by choreographer Sommer Ulrickson and molecular biologist and writer Giovanni Frazzetto. The play “Never Mind” an experiment at the interface of science and theater, will premiere at the Sophiensæle on January 25, 2012.

The two-part evening deals with, among other things, the Capgras syndrome, a neurological disorder that occurs frequently as a result of brain injury or severe dementia. First described by French psychiatrist J. M. Joseph Capgras, it is a very rare syndrome, where patients believe that close friends and relatives have been replaced with identical-looking doubles. While otherwise showing normal behavior, Capgras sufferers perceive close acquaintances, often even close friends and partners, as imposters. The patients recognize the faces, but lack the ability to link them with emotional body reactions. The production, which is the result of an intense cross-disciplinary collaboration between a scientist and an artist, examines the fragility of relationships as well as the frustration of everybody involved when dealing with psychic disorders. Trying out new forms of dance and music theater, the play does without traditional dramatic means such as, for example, a linear storyline and sees science – in this case neurological theories on the Capgras syndrome – as an “expanded and dominating theatrical metaphor.”

Through a tension-filled yet exciting dialectic, this work illustrates both the potential of neurobiology and its helplessness when it comes to existential questions about the “true self.” Ulrickson and Frazzetto see their “neuro performance” as part of a curious inquiry that employs artistic reflection to communicate to the public the highly complex findings of an “expert-based science.” Scientific material is examined and expanded through theatrical means. Conversely, the theatrical performance feeds on facts collected during scientific experiments. The project aims to foster a productive dialogue between science and art. It shares this goal with the Ernst Schering Foundation, whose funding makes the experiment possible.


Never Mind

Premiere: January 25, 2012, 8 p.m.
Additional performances: January 27, 28, 29, 2012, at 8 p.m.

Sophiensæle
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Directed by Sommer Ulrickson
Based on texts by Giovanni Frazzetto
Set design: Alexander Polzin, Nicola Minssen
Music: Amos Elkana
With Christoph Schuechner, Laura Quarg, Lisa Quarg, Jonas Vietzke, Lena Kussmann, Mareila Metzner

Tickets (13 / 8 euros) are available by phone at +49-(0)30-283 52 66.

For further information, please visit www.sophiensaele.com
Photo: Tobias Bungter

Nevermind

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Never Mind – eine „Neuro-Performance“ in den Sophiensælen

10.01.2012, Berlin | Was ist unser Selbst, durch was kann es zerstört werden und wie lässt es sich wieder herstellen? Diesen und weiteren schwierigen Fragen stellten sich die Choreografin Sommer Ulrickson und der Molekularbiologe und Publizist Giovanni Frazzetto in ihrer interdisziplinär erarbeiteten Inszenierung „Never Mind“. Das Stück „Never Mind“ ist ein Experiment zwischen Wissenschaft und Theater und wurde am 25. Januar 2012 in den Sophiensælen uraufgeführt.

Der zweiteilige Abend setzte sich u. a. mit dem Capgras-Syndrom, einer neurologischen Erkrankung, die häufig in Folge einer Verletzung am Gehirn oder einer schweren Demenz auftritt, auseinander. Das Krankheitsbild, erstmals beschrieben von dem französischen Psychiater J. M. Joseph Capgras, ist ein sehr selten auftretendes Syndrom, bei dem der Betroffene glaubt, nahe Lebensgefährten seien durch identisch aussehende Doppelgänger ausgetauscht worden. Bei sonst allgemein unauffälligem Verhalten nehmen die Erkrankten enge Bekannte, häufig sogar intime Freunde und Partner, als Betrüger wahr. Dabei erkennen die Patienten zwar die Gesichter, aber es fehlt die Verknüpfung mit emotionalen Körperreaktionen. In der intensiven Zusammenarbeit des Wissenschaftlers und der Künstlerin wurden im Vorfeld der Inszenierung sowie auf der Bühne die Fragilität von Beziehungen sowie die Frustration aller Beteiligten bei psychischen Störungen untersucht. Das Stück, das neue Formen von Tanz- und Musiktheater erprobt, verzichtet auf traditionelle dramaturgische Mittel wie z. B. eine lineare Erzählung und begreift Wissenschaft – hier neurologische Theorien, die mit dem Capgras-Syndrom zusammenhängen – als „erweiterte und dominierende theatralische Metapher“.

In einer spannungsreichen Dialektik verdeutlicht diese Arbeit gleichermaßen das Potential der Neurobiologie als auch ihre Hilflosigkeit existenzieller Fragen nach dem „wahren Selbst“. Ihre „Neuro-Performance“ verstehen Ulrickson und Frazzetto als Teil eines neugierigen Aufbruchs, die versucht, hochkomplexe Ergebnisse einer „Expertenwissenschaft“ durch künstlerische Reflexion einem breiten Publikum nahe zu bringen. Dabei wird wissenschaftliches Material mit den Mitteln des Theaters überprüft und erweitert. Umgekehrt speist sich das Theater aus den Faktensammlungen des wissenschaftlichen Experiments. Ziel des Projektes ist es, Wissenschaft und Kunst in einen produktiven Austausch treten zu lassen. Mit diesem Gedanken steht es im Interessenfokus der Schering Stiftung, die das Experiment finanziell ermöglicht hat.

Never Mind

Premiere: 25. Januar 2012, 20 Uhr
Weitere Aufführungen: 27., 28., 29. Januar 2012, 20 Uhr

Sophiensæle
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Regie: Sommer Ulrickson
Nach Texten von: Giovanni Frazzetto
Ausstattung: Alexander Polzin, Nicola Minssen
Musik: Amos Elkana
Mit Christoph Schuechner, Laura Quarg, Lisa Quarg, Jonas Vietzke, Lena Kussmann, Mareila Metzner

Tickets: 13 / 8 Euro unter Tel. (030) 283 52 66

Weitere Informationen unter www.sophiensaele.com
Foto: Tobias Bungter

Nevermind

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr