Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

German Scholarship

Promoting Young Talents for Our Future

As part of its programs to promote young talents, the Ernst Schering Foundation has been participating in the “Germany Scholarship” program of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) since April 2012. The Foundation awards scholarships to students at Berlin’s Humboldt University (HU Berlin). The Ernst Schering Foundation puts particular emphasis on the fact that the students are also interested in the arts or the sciences outside their own discipline. In order to further strengthen the interdisciplinary dialogue, the scholarship recipients will become members of the Ernst Schering Foundation’s fellows and alumni networks.

Germany Scholarship theme courses

Together with Berlin’s Humboldt University (HU Berlin), the Ernst Schering Foundation launched a pilot project in summer term 2013: HU Berlin for the first time offers Germany Scholarship theme courses. As part of a year-long tutorial, 15 bachelors or masters degree students from different disciplines will work together on an interdisciplinary project. For an overview about all theme courses of the Ernst Schering Foundation please click here: theme courses of the foundation (in German only)

The theme courses aim to provide Germany Scholarship recipients with insights into current research projects at an early stage of their studies in order to enable them to develop and present their own ideas. Conversely, the participating scholars and scientists hope that the scholarship recipients’ thirst for knowledge and fresh views will stimulate and encourage them to critically examine theories, including their own, and to develop new perspectives.

General information on the Germany Scholarship

With its Germany Scholarship, the BMBF in April 2011 launched a new nation-wide program to promote talented and high-achieving students. Outstanding students at German universities will receive a stipend of €300/month. The scholarship will be awarded by the universities and is designed to support and strengthen gifted and high-achieving students. It is co-financed by private sponsors and the federal government according to the “matching funds” principle: private sponsors pay €150/month, and the federal government doubles this amount. The scholarship is not related to income and is designed to supplement the students’ basic income so that they can focus even more successfully on their studies and achieve top results for Germany’s future. In the medium term, up to 8 percent of all students (approx 160,000 students) at German universities are to benefit from this new alliance between private and public sponsorship. The definition of what constitutes high achievement is deliberately broad: it includes good grades and academic achievements, but also the willingness to assume responsibility or the successful overcoming of obstacles in one’s life or educational career.

Award procedure and additional information

The Germany Scholarships of the Ernst Schering Foundation are awarded by the HU Berlin:

Mariana Bulaty
Tel. +49 (0)30-20 93-21 47 | This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

General information on the Germany Scholarship is also available at the website of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

BMBF_DeutschlandSTIPENDIUM

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Deutschlandstipendium

Nachwuchsförderung für unsere Zukunft

Im Rahmen ihrer Nachwuchsförderung beteiligt sich die Schering Stiftung seit dem Sommersemester 2012 an dem Programm „Deutschlandstipendium“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Sie vergibt derzeit Stipendien an Studierende  an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Dabei ist es der Schering Stiftung besonders wichtig, dass sich die Studierenden über ihre eigene Disziplin hinaus auch für Kunst bzw. Naturwissenschaft interessieren. Für einen verstärkten interdisziplinären Austausch werden die Stipendiaten in das Stipendiaten- und Alumninetzwerk der Schering Stiftung eingebunden.

Themenklasse im Rahmen des Deutschlandstipendiums

Zusammen mit der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin startete die Schering Stiftung im Sommersemester 2013 zudem ein Modellprojekt: So etablierte die HU Berlin sogenannte Deutschlandstipendium-Themenklassen. 15 Bachelor- oder Masterstudierende verschiedener Fachrichtungen arbeiten als Klasse im Rahmen eines Tutoriums für ein Jahr gemeinsam an einem interdisziplinären Projekt. Die Schering Stiftung fördert folgende Themenklassen:

SS 2013 bis WS 2013/14: Altern und Alter
SS 2014 bis WS 2014/15: Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Ziel der Themenklasse ist es, den Deutschlandstipendiaten schon zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt ihres Studiums Einblicke in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte zu ermöglichen, um eigene Ideen zu entwickeln und vorzustellen. Umgekehrt hoffen die beteiligten Wissenschaftler, dass der Wissensdrang und unverstellte Blick der Deutschlandstipendiaten sie anspornt, auch eigene Theorien kritisch zu hinterfragen und neue Perspektiven zu entwickeln.

 

Allgemeine Informationen zum Deutschlandstipendium

Mit dem Deutschlandstipendium etablierte das BMBF im April 2011 ein neues nationales Programm zur Förderung begabter und leistungsstarker Studierende. Gefördert werden herausragende Studierende an deutschen Hochschulen mit 300 € monatlich. Das Stipendium wird durch die Hochschulen vergeben und soll begabten und leistungsstarken Studierenden den Rücken stärken. Es wird durch private Förderer und den Bund im Prinzip eines "Matching Funds" gemeinsam finanziert: Die privaten Förderer zahlen monatlich 150 € und der Bund verdoppelt diesen Betrag. Dabei ist das Stipendium einkommensunabhängig, denn es soll das Grundeinkommen der Studierenden ergänzen, damit sich diese noch erfolgreicher ihrem Studium widmen und somit Spitzenleistungen für die Zukunft Deutschlands erreichen können. Von dem neuen Bündnis aus zivilgesellschaftlichem Engagement und staatlicher Förderung sollen mittelfristig bis zu 8 % aller Studierenden (ca. 160.000) an deutschen Hochschulen profitieren. Der Leistungsbegriff, der dem Stipendium zugrunde liegt, ist bewusst weit gefasst: Gute Noten und Studienleistungen gehören ebenso dazu wie die Bereitschaft, Verantwortung zu übernehmen oder das erfolgreiche Meistern von Hindernissen im eigenen Lebens- und Bildungsweg.

Stipendienvergabe & weitere Informationen

Die Vergabe der Deutschlandstipendien der Schering Stiftung erfolgt über die HU Berlin:

Frau Mariana Bulaty
Tel. 030-20 93-21 47 | Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Allgemeine Informationen zum Deutschlandstipendium erhalten Sie hier.

BMBF_DeutschlandSTIPENDIUM