Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

"sid" by Leni Hoffmann at the Städel Museum

On February 25, 2012, the Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, opens its new extension building for the contemporary art collection including the work “sid” by Leni Hoffmann, a donation of the Ernst Schering Foundation, Berlin. Commissioned by the Ernst Schering Foundation, the Düsseldorf-based artist developed this wall work specifically for the Städel Museum. In summer 2010, the work had already been implemented for the first time at Ernst Schering Foundation’s Project Space. In the Städel Museum, it was now re-created in modified form and will be permanently displayed.

Leni Hoffmann: sid | Photo: Manuel Franke

The site-specific work sid by Leni Hoffmann is characterized by phenomena such as transformation, time, movement, and taking a break. Leni Hoffmann plays with visual disruptions, re-inventing the work in the process of viewing it. She sets up a geometrical plane painted with a very shiny, iridescent color shift (flip flop) paint, which changes colors, from white-silvery to orange to a broken green, when seen from different angles. The viewer’s movement thus determines the color. Every time the viewer takes up a position, s/he co-creates the color determination. This plane, which is installed along the walls, is disrupted by an organic plaster area. Water is poured on the plaster to determine its shape. The color possibilities relate to the plaster surface as well as the remaining wall and window surfaces.

Born in Bad Pyrmont in 1962, Leni Hoffmann now lives in Düsseldorf and works “in situ,” i.e. at the site of her respective work in progress. She graduated with a master’s in fine arts from the class of Georg Karl Pfahler at the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg. Since 2002, Leni Hoffmann has held a chair in painting and graphic arts at the State Academy of Fine Arts in Karlsruhe.

Her work negotiates the complex terrain between autonomous art and relinquished authorship. Her mostly ephemeral works intensify the specific encounters between the viewer and the artwork at its site of creation in real time. Leni Hoffmann’s three- and two-dimensional interventions make it possible for the viewer to walk her large-scale installations and their spatial relations by taking up a position. Leni Hoffmann sees the viewer as a crucial, incalculable potential of her work.

In Leni Hoffmann’s work, thus the viewer plays a key role. The space orientation of the works can only be appreciated by the constantly changing position of the viewer. Leni Hoffmann emancipates painting: away from the canvas, towards real space and objects of everyday life.

For more information about the Städel Museum, please contact:

Städel Museum
Dorothea Apovnik
Press Department
Dürerstraße 2
60596 Frankfurt am Main | Germany
Phone +49.69.60 50 98 234
Fax +49.69.60 50 98 188
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

www.staedelmuseum.de

Leni Hoffmann: sid | Photo: Manuel Franke

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

"sid" von Leni Hoffmann im Städel Museum

Am 25. Februar 2012 eröffnet das Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, seinen neuen Erweiterungsbau für die Sammlung der Gegenwartskunst. Darin enthalten ist die Arbeit „sid“ von Leni Hoffmann, eine Schenkung der Schering Stiftung, Berlin. Die Düsseldorfer Künstlerin entwickelte im Auftrag der Schering Stiftung diese ortspezifische Wandarbeit, die bereits im Sommer 2010 im Projektraum der Stiftung erstmals ausgeführt wurde. Im Städel Museum wird sie nun in neuer Form dauerhaft zu sehen sein. Auf der Seite des Städel Blog finden Sie einen Film über Leni Hoffmann und ihre Arbeit "sid" in Frankfurt.

Leni Hoffmann: sid | Foto: Manuel Franke

Die von Leni Hoffmann ortspezifisch konzipierte Arbeit sid bestimmen Phänomene wie Veränderung, Zeit, Bewegung und Innehalten. Leni Hoffmann spielt mit visuellen Brüchen und erfindet die Arbeit im Prozess des Betrachtens neu. Sie legt eine geometrische Fläche an, die einen stark glänzenden irisierenden „Kipplack“ zeigt, dessen Farbe aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen betrachtet eine jeweils andere Farbigkeit von weißsilbrig über orange bis zu einem gebrochenen Grün annimmt. Die Bewegung des Betrachters bestimmt den jeweiligen Farbton. Jede Standortnahme des Betrachters wird so zur mitschöpfenden Farbbestimmung. Diese die Wand entlanglaufende Fläche wird durch einen rauen Mauerputzauftrag gestört, dessen organische Form durch die vorausgehende Handlung einer Wasserschüttung bestimmt wird. Die Farbmöglichkeiten setzen sich zur Putzoberfläche sowie den übrigen Wand- und Fensterflächen in Bezug.

Die 1962 in Bad Pyrmont geborene Künstlerin Leni Hoffmann lebt in Düsseldorf und arbeitet stets in-situ, am jeweiligen Ort der Bildfindung. Sie schloss ihr Studium der freien Malerei als Meisterschülerin von Georg Karl Pfahler (Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg) ab. Seit 2002 hat Leni Hoffmann einen Lehrstuhl für Malerei und Grafik an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe inne.

Ihre Arbeiten bewegen sich im Spannungsfeld von autonomem Kunstwerk und abgegebener Autorschaft. Die zumeist ephemeren Arbeiten spitzen die punktuelle Begegnung des Betrachters mit dem Kunstwerk an dessen Ort des Entstehens in der real erlebbaren Zeit zu. Leni Hoffmanns plastische wie flächige Eingriffe ermöglichen es dem Betrachter, ihre Arbeiten und deren räumliche Zusammensichten durch die eigene Standortnahme zu erlaufen. Leni Hoffmann begreift den Betrachtenden als wesentliches, nicht kalkulierbares Potential ihrer Arbeit.

Der Betrachter spielt daher im Werk von Leni Hoffmann eine zentrale Rolle. Die Raumbezogenheit der Arbeiten lässt sich nur durch den sich ständig verändernden Betrachterstandpunkt erfassen. Leni Hoffmann emanzipiert die Malerei: weg von der Leinwand, hin zum Realraum und zu allen Dingen des Alltags.

 

Weitere Informationen zum Städel Museum erhalten Sie unter:


Städel Museum
Dorothea Apovnik
Presseabteilung
Dürerstraße 2
60596 Frankfurt am Main
Tel. +49.69.60 50 98 234
Fax +49.69.60 50 98 188
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.
www.staedelmuseum.de

Leni Hoffmann: sid | Foto: Manuel Franke

Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr