Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

ON RESEARCH – Knowledge Generation in Art and Science

16.04.2012, Berlin | What scientific methods are used by artists, and what artistic approaches are used by scientists? These and other questions will be at the heart of ON RESEARCH, a two-day program at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), which takes place in the context of a conference on “Research in Art and Science. Challenges to Discourses and Systems of Knowledge.” The conference and the artistic program, which is open to the public, are a collaboration of the Center for Movement Research at the Free University of Berlin, the HKW, the Ernst Schering Foundation, and Sigrid Gareis.

On Research

The program will kick off with Hito Steyerl (Berlin University of the Arts) and Rabih Mroué (Beirut and Berlin), whose work “Probable title: zero probability” will premiere at the HKW on May 4, 2012. After several joint projects, the film maker and the theater director, in this new production, engage in a dialogue about the (im-)probability of events. The lecture-performance weaves a poetic-fictional web of interconnections among Mroué’s father, a mathematician, his scientific focus, the probability theory, and his experiences in the Lebanese Civil War.

On May 5, 2012, a panel discussion on “Research in Art and Science” will examine the current state of this presently much-observed debate between science and art and what it means for the generation of knowledge. The potentials of an alternative definition of research and of an art of knowledge production will be addressed by speakers including Beatrice von Bismarck (art historian, Leipzig Academy of Visual Arts), Gabriele Brandstetter (professor of dance and theater studies, Free University of Berlin), Tom Holert (art historian and cultural critic, Berlin), Sybille Krämer (philosopher, Free University of Berlin) (tbc), Kirsten M. Langkilde (artist, Berlin University of the Arts), and Bernd M. Scherer (honorary professor of European Ethnology, Humboldt University of Berlin, and director of the HKW).

The discussion will be followed by two artistic events that, discursively and performatively, present processes and procedures and examine the status of knowledge as a product.

With “Kuhle Wampe Remix, or: Who Owns the City?,” artist and curator Ina Wudtke (Berlin) and philosopher and writer Dieter Lesage (Erasmus University College and Vrije Universiteit, Brussels, and Berlin) focus on current gentrification debates in the context of academic studies. The lecture-performance launches a multi-year project that includes, among other things, a remake of Brecht’s and Dudow’s 1932 film “Kuhle Wampe, or: Who Owns the World?” Wudtke and Lesage take the film as a starting-point to show their solidarity with low-income households in the city of Berlin, which is undergoing ever-rapid gentrification.

Finally, in “Product of Circumstances” (1999), choreographer Xavier Le Roy (Montpellier), shows how a Ph.D. in molecular biology like himself became an artist. In his autobiographical lecture-performance, he combines fragments of dance with an academic lecture format. Le Roy’s work reflects both worlds: his dance performance focuses as much on the body as did his dissertation about cancer cells, investigating the mechanisms and hierarchies he is subject to as a “product of his circumstances” in both the academic and artistic communities.

ON RESEARCH

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin
www.hkw.de

Friday, May 4, 2012
8:30 p.m.: “Probable title: zero probability” – A lecture-performance by Hito Steyerl and Rabih Mroué
Admission: 5€ | 3€

Saturday, May 5, 2012
7:00 p.m.: “Research in Art and Science” – A panel discussion with Beatrice von Bismarck, Gabriele Brandstetter, Tom Holert, Sybille Krämer (tbc), and Kirsten M. Langkilde, moderated by Bernd M. Scherer
Free admission.

8:30 p.m.: “Kuhle Wampe Remix, or: Who Owns the City?” – A lecture-performance by Ina Wudtke and Dieter Lesage
Admission: 5€ | 3€

10:00 p.m.: “Product of Circumstances” (1999) – A lecture-performance by Xavier Le Roy, followed by a conversation with the artist
Admission: 5€ | 3€

Combination Ticket for Saturday: 8€ | 4€

ON RESEARCH takes place in the context of “Research in Art and Science. Challenges to Discourses and Systems of Knowledge,” a non-public conference supported by the German Research Foundation (DFG).


Photo:
Haus der Kulturen der Welt
ON RESEARCH | May 4 and 5, 2012
Xavier Le Roy | “Product of Circumstances” (1999)
© Katrin Schoof

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

SS_PP_190x190px2

 

ON RESEARCH – Wissensgenerierung in Kunst und Wissenschaft

Welcher wissenschaftlicher Methoden bedienen sich Künstler und welcher künstlerischer Verfahren Wissenschaftler? Diesen und andere Fragen widmete sich das zweitägige Programm ON RESEARCH im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, das im Kontext der Tagung „Forschung in Kunst und Wissenschaft. Herausforderungen an Diskurse und Systeme des Wissens“ stattfindet. Die Tagung und das öffentliche künstlerische Programm entstanden in Kooperation mit dem Zentrum für Bewegungsforschung an der Freien Universität Berlin, dem HKW, der Schering Stiftung und Sigrid Gareis.

On Research

Zum Auftakt des Programms zeigen Hito Steyerl (UdK Berlin) und Rabih Mroué (Beirut und Berlin) am 4.5.2012 im HKW erstmals ihre Arbeit „Probable title: zero probability“. Nach mehreren gemeinsamen Projekten treten die Filmemacherin und der Theaterregisseur in dieser Neuproduktion nun in einen Dialog über die (Un-)Wahrscheinlichkeiten von Ereignissen. Die Lecture Performance entspinnt ein poetisch-fiktionales Beziehungsgeflecht zwischen Mroués Vater, von Beruf Mathematiker, seinem Hauptthema, der Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung, sowie seinen Erfahrungen im libanesischen Bürgerkrieg.

Am 5.5.2012 erörtert das Podiumsgespräch „Forschung in Kunst und Wissenschaft“ aktuelle Formen dieser derzeit viel beachteten wissenschaftlich-künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung und die daraus resultierenden Folgerungen für die Wissensgenerierung. Über das Potenzial eines alternativen Forschungsbegriffes und einer Kunst der Wissensproduktion sprechen Beatrice von Bismarck (Kunsthistorikerin, Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig), Gabriele Brandstetter (Tanz- und Theaterwissenschaftlerin, FU Berlin), Tom Holert (Kunsthistoriker und Kulturwissenschaftler, Berlin), Sybille Krämer (tbc; Philosophin, FU Berlin), Kirsten M. Langkilde (Künstlerin, UdK Berlin) und Bernd M. Scherer (Honorarprofessor für Europäische Ethnologie, HU Berlin, und Intendant des HKW).

Zwei weitere künstlerische Beiträge stellen anschließend Prozesse und Verfahren diskursiv und performativ vor und problematisieren den Status von Wissen als Produkt.

Die Künstlerin und Kuratorin Ina Wudtke (Berlin) und der Philosoph und Schriftsteller Dieter Lesage (Erasmus University College/Vrije Universiteit, Brüssel und Berlin) widmen sich mit „Kuhle Wampe Remix, oder: Wem gehört die Stadt?“ aktuellen Gentrifizierungsdebatten im Kontext wissenschaftlicher Studien. Die Lecture Performance ist der Auftakt eines mehrjährigen Projektes, in dem es u.a. um ein Remake von Brechts und Dudows Film „Kuhle Wampe, oder: Wem gehört die Welt?“ von 1932 geht. Wudtke und Lesage nehmen den Film zum Anlass, sich mit einkommensschwachen Haushalten der immer schneller gentrifizierenden Metropole Berlin künstlerisch solidarisch zu zeigen.

Abschließend erzählt der Choreograf Xavier Le Roy (Montpellier) in „Product of Circumstances“ (1999), wie aus dem promovierten Molekularbiologen, der er war, ein Künstler wurde. Er inszeniert seine Autobiografie als Lecture Performance und verknüpft dafür Tanzfragmente mit dem Format eines wissenschaftlichen Vortrags. Le Roy spiegelt beide Bereiche: Er befasst sich im Tanz ebenso mit dem Körper wie in seiner Promotion über Krebszellen. Dabei spürt er den Mechanismen und Hierarchien nach, denen er als „Produkt seiner Umstände“ im Wissenschafts- wie im Kunstbetrieb unterliegt.

ON RESEARCH

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin
www.hkw.de

Freitag, 04.05.2012
20:30 h: “Probable title: zero probability” – eine Lecture Performance von Hito Steyerl und Rabih Mroué
Eintritt: 5€ | 3€

Samstag, 05.05.2012
19:00 h: Forschung in Kunst und Wissenschaft – Diskussion mit Beatrice von Bismarck, Gabriele Brandstetter, Tom Holert, Sybille Krämer (tbc) und Kirsten M. Langkilde. Moderation: Bernd M. Scherer
Eintritt frei

20:30 h: „Kuhle Wampe Remix, oder: Wem gehört die Stadt?“ – eine Lecture Performance von Ina Wudtke und Dieter Lesage
Eintritt: 5€ | 3€

22:00 h: “Product of Circumstances” (1999) – Eine Lecture Performance von Xavier Le Roy mit anschließendem Gespräch
Eintritt: 5€ | 3€
Kombiticket für Samstag: 8€ | 4€

„ON RESEARCH“ findet statt im Kontext der nicht-öffentlichen Tagung „Forschung in Kunst und Wissenschaft. Herausforderungen an Diskurse und Systeme des Wissens“. Gefördert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).


Foto:
Haus der Kulturen der Welt
ON RESEARCH | 4.5. + 5.5.2012
Xavier Le Roy | "Product of Circumstances", 1999
© Katrin Schoof

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr