Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

How does innovation work? – Innovation development in Germany

24.04.2012, Berlin | Innovation literally means „novelty“ or „renewal“. The „new“ is much in demand in many social fields but it is most important in science. Jürgen Mittelstraß and Harald zur Hausen will discuss the question „How does innovation work?“ at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW ) on May 7, 2012, at 6pm. The lecture and discussion is hosted by the Ernst Schering Foundation in cooperation with the BBAW in order to foster an interdisciplinary dialogue on innovation development.

Where and how does innovation happen? How do innovations enter daily life and change it to the better or worse? New terms like leap or step-by-step innovation play a role in health care where quality and outreach of an innovation have an impact on costs and benefits. At the center of this evening of talks and discussions are questions of academic research performance and application research, of the freedom of research and economic necessity.

Philosopher and science theorist Jürgen Mittelstraß is one of the leading protagonists of the German debate on higher-educatin reform. In his talk, he will point out how science and research are the basis of innovation and social progress. His talk will be followed by Nobel Prize winner, virologist and cancer researcher Harald zur Hausen’s, who’s fundamental discoveries on the development of cancer through virus infections have opened up new perspectives on the pathogenesis, prevention and therapy of cervical cancer and ultimately led to the development of vaccines. Günter Stock, President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) will introduce the evening. The talks and the following panel discussion will be chaired by Reinhard Kurth, President em. of the Robert Koch-Institute and Chairman of the Foundation Council of the Ernst Schering Foundation.

How does innovation work?
Innovation development in Germany

Monday, May 7, 2012, 6 pm
Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Leibniz Hall
Gendarmenmarkt, Markgrafenstraße 38, 10117 Berlin

We kindly ask you to register until May 2, 2012 at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

For further information please contact:

Friederike Petersen
Public Relations
Tel. +49-30-20 62 29-67
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Wie funktioniert Innovation? – Innovationsentwicklung in Deutschland

Innovation heißt wörtlich „Neuerung“ oder „Erneuerung“. Das „Neue“ ist in vielen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen gefragt, aber in keinem Bereich so relevant wie in der Wissenschaft. Zum Thema „Wie funktioniert Innovation?“ sprachen am 7. Mai 2012 um 18 Uhr Jürgen Mittelstraß und Harald zur Hausen im Dialog mit Reinhard Kurth und Günter Stock in der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW). Die Gemeinschaftsveranstaltung der Schering Stiftung und der BBAW möchte den interdisziplinären Dialog zum Thema Innovationsentwicklung fördern.

Wie funktioniert Innovation?

Wo und wie findet Innovation statt? Wie dringen Innovationen in unser tägliches Leben ein und verändern dies im Positiven oder im Negativen? Neue Begriffe wie Sprung- und Schrittinnovation spielen insbesondere in der Gesundheitsversorgung eine Rolle, hier haben Qualität und Ausmaß einer Neuerung auch Einfluss auf Kosten und Nutzen. Fragen im Spannungsfeld zwischen akademischer Forschungsleistung und Anwendungsforschung, zwischen Forscherfreiheit und ökonomischer Notwendigkeit sind Thema dieses Vortragsabends mit anschließender Diskussion.

Jürgen Mittelstraß, Philosoph und Wissenschaftstheoretiker, einer der treibenden Köpfe der deutschen Hochschulreformdebatte, zeigt auf, in welcher Weise Wissenschaft und Forschung die Basis für Innovation und gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt bilden. Er tut dies im Dialog mit dem Medizin-Nobelpreisträger Harald zur Hausen, Virologe und Krebsforscher, dessen grundlegende Entdeckungen zur Entstehung von Krebsarten durch Virusinfektionen völlig neue Perspektiven der Pathogenese, der Prophylaxe und Therapie von Gebärmutterhalskrebs eröffneten und letztlich zur Entwicklung von Impfstoffen führten. Günter Stock, Präsident der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, führt in die Veranstaltung ein. Moderiert werden die Kurzvorträge und das anschließende Podiumsgespräch von Reinhard Kurth, Präsident em. des Robert Koch-Instituts und Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Schering Stiftung.

Wie funktioniert Innovation?
Innovationsentwicklung in Deutschland

Montag, 07. Mai 2012, 18 Uhr
Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Leibniz-Saal | Akademiegebäude am Gendarmenmarkt, Markgrafenstraße 38, 10117 Berlin

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei:

Friederike Petersen
Referentin Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Tel. +49-30-20 62 29-67
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Aktuelles

Vortragsreihe Cell Communication: Daily Oscillations in the Liver

23.10.2017, Berlin | Im Wintersemester 2017/2018 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften der HU Berlin zu...
mehr

Hybrid Encounters. Siobhan Davies & Arno Villringer

23.10.2017, Berlin | Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung starten mit »Hybrid Encounters« eine neue...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr