Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The World Is Not Fair - The Great World Fair 2012

From June 1 through June 24, an ambitious project will be on site at the Flugfeld Tempelhof: the Great World’s Fair 2012, an exhibition featuring 15 pavilions, planned and realized by Hebbel am Ufer and the architectural collective raumlaborberlin. Entitled “The World Is Not Fair,” the event is an ironic reference to the tradition of the “expos,” which have been organized for more than 160 years in different locations worldwide. The pavilions on the Tempelhofer Feld do not see themselves as serving the branding of nation-states, but as sites for thinking about the world subjectively and artistically.

The World is Not Fair - Große Weltausstellung 2012

Across disciplinary boundaries, theater makers, performers, visual artists, filmmakers, and architects explore ideas or phenomena that connect even the most remote and out-of-the-way cultures. With his architectural structure that is reminiscent of the damaged nuclear reactor in Fukushima, the Japanese director Toshiki Okada (Yokohama) reminds us of the abstractness and immensity of catastrophic events. Filmmaker Harun Farocki (Berlin) examines the role of computer animation for forecast services, which evoke the global cycles of air, fire, water, and the desire to control a world in which future events are increasingly difficult to predict. Other participants include artist Tracey Rose (Johannesburg), the architectural collective Umschichten (Stuttgart), and director Hans-Werner Kroesinger (Berlin).

With its enormous expanse and its diverse history as a former parade ground, a site of early aviation experiments, a military base for the Nazi air warfare, and final destination of the airlift between Berlin and West Germany, the former Tempelhof Airport is the ideal location for the Great World’s Fair 2012. By choosing this historical site, “The World Is Not Fair – The Great World’s Fair” also invites us to think about how to deal with public spaces and the future of the city.

The concept of a world’s fair as a forum for utopian and real ideas of life in this world is both a grand and bold idea. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports this project at the interface of the visual and performing arts, because it broadens our horizons and makes us think in terms beyond the nation-state.

Exhibition

The World Is Not Fair – The Great World’s Fair 2012

Tempelhofer Park

Main entrances on Oderstrasse, Tempelhofer Damm, and Columbiadamm

We recommend that visitors come by bike.

Opening Hours of the Pavilions

June 1-3, June 7-10, 2012

June 14-17, June 21-24, 2012

Thu and Fri: 4 – 9 p.m.

Sat and Sun: 2 – 9 p.m.

Photo: © raumlaborberlin

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at +49-(0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit: www.hebbel-am-ufer.de

News

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Ivana Franke

 

The World Is Not Fair – Die große Weltausstellung 2012

Vom 1. bis zum 24. Juni ist auf dem Flugfeld Tempelhof ein ehrgeiziges Projekt zu erleben: die Große Weltausstellung 2012 – ein Ausstellungsparcour mit 15 Pavillons, geplant und realisiert vom Hebbel am Ufer und dem Architektenkollektiv raumlaborberlin. Mit dem Motto „The World Is Not Fair“ verweist die Veranstaltung ironisch auf die Tradition der „Expos“, die seit mehr als 160 Jahren weltweit an wechselnden Schauplätzen ausgerichtet werden. Die Pavillons auf dem Tempelhofer Feld verstehen sich allerdings nicht als Agenten der Markenbildung von Nationalstaaten, sondern als Orte eines höchst subjektiven Nachdenkens über die Welt mit den Mitteln der Kunst.

The World is Not Fair - Große Weltausstellung 2012

Über die Grenzen kultureller Disziplinen hinweg suchen Theatermacher, Performer, bildende Künstler, Filmemacher und Architekten die Auseinandersetzung mit Ideen oder Phänomenen, über die noch die entlegensten Kulturen miteinander verbunden sind. So gemahnt der japanische Regisseur Toshiki Okada (Yokohama) mit seiner Architektur, die an die havarierten Reaktorblöcke in Fukushima erinnert, der Abstraktheit und Unermesslichkeit katastrophischer Ereignisse. Der Filmemacher Harun Farocki (Berlin) erkundet die Rolle von Computeranimationen für prognostische Dienstleistungen, in denen die globalen Kreisläufe von Luft, Feuer, Wasser und das Verlangen nach der Beherrschbarkeit einer Welt, in der sich zukünftige Ereignisse immer schwerer vorhersagen lassen, anklingen. Weitere Teilnehmer sind u.a. die Künstlerin Tracey Rose (Johannesburg), das Architektenkollektiv Umschichten (Stuttgart) und der Regisseur Hans-Werner Kroesinger (Berlin).

Der ehemalige Flughafen Tempelhof mit seiner ungeheuren Ausdehnung und seiner wechselhaften Geschichte als ehemaliger Exerzierplatz, als Bühne früher Luftfahrtexperimente, als Stützpunkt für den Luftkrieg der Nazis und als Endpunkt der Luftbrücke zwischen Berlin und Westdeutschland ist der ideale Schauplatz für die Große Weltausstellung 2012. Mit der Entscheidung für diesen historischen Ort als Spielstätte lädt „The World Is Not Fair – Die Große Weltausstellung“ auch zum Nachdenken über einen reflektierten Umgang mit öffentlichen Räumen und die Zukunft dieser Stadt ein.

Das Konzept einer Weltausstellung als Forum utopischer und realer Vorstellungen von Leben in dieser Welt ist eine ebenso grandiose wie mutige Idee. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt dieses Projekt, da es an der Schnittstelle von bildender und darstellender Kunst unseren Horizont jenseits nationalstaatlichen Denkens erweitert.

Ausstellung
The World Is Not Fair – Die Große Weltausstellung 2012

Tempelhofer Park
Haupteingänge Oderstraße, Tempelhofer Damm und Columbiadamm

Es wird empfohlen, die Veranstaltung mit dem Fahrrad zu besuchen.

Öffnungszeiten der Pavillons
01. bis 03. Juni, 07. bis 10. Juni 2012
14. bis 17. Juni, 21. bis 24. Juni 2012
Do und Fr: 16 bis 21 Uhr
Sa und So: 14 bis 21 Uhr

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 67 sowie unter: www.hebbel-am-ufer.de.

 

 

Foto: Toshiki with Smoke, (c) raumlaborberlin

 

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr