Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Symposium "Anatomy Lessons" at the 7th Berlin Biennale

What makes a person a patient today? Four doctors explore this and other vital question of modern medicine during an unusual one day experiment titled Anatomy Lessons on June 23rd, 2012 at 2 p.m. at Charité hospital. Plastic surgeon Manfred Frey, internist Michael Häfner, abdominal surgeon Peter Moeschl and paediatric neurosurgeon Ulrich Thomale temporarily assume the role of artists and communicate common notions about the human body via a visual language.

Painting with Manfred Frey. © Photo: Christina Lammer

The Auditorium for Internal Medicine of the Charité (Sauerbruchweg 2) is transformed into a theatre space in which the participating doctors give lectures in form of performances and painting actions. Additionally, they will present video material on operations, instructional films on surgical procedures, and images of the inside of the human body, thusly providing a fascinating insight into their subject-specific field of work. The project was developed by Vienna-based sociologist Christina Lammer for the 7th Berlin Biennial in order to merge the production of body images in artistic aesthetics with medical points of views and to promote interdisciplinary communication between both fields effectively.

The symposium Anatomy Lessons proposes to stimulate the dialogue between science, society and culture, which is in accordance with the main funding aims and objectives of the Ernst Schering Foundation. The focus will lie especially on the interface of art and medicine when cultural contexts and models of cognition are submitted to critical analysis in order to make them beneficial for the different fields of knowledge.

 

Symposium Anatomy Lessons


June 23rd 2012, 2 – 7:30 p.m.

Auditorium for Internal Medicine, Charité Campus Mitte
Sauerbruchweg 2
10117 Berlin


For further information please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation via 030-20 62 29 60 or visit berlinbiennale.de

 

Photo: © Christina Lammer

 

 

Painting with Michael Haefner. Photo © Christina Lammer

 

Painting with Peter Moeschl. Photo © Christina Lammer

 

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Symposium "Anatomiestunden" der 7. Berlin Biennale

Was macht eine Person gegenwärtig zum Patienten oder zur Patientin? Mit dieser für die moderne Medizin essentiellen Frage beschäftigen sich vier Mediziner im Rahmen eines ungewöhnlichen eintägigen Experiments am 23. Juni 2012 in der Charité. Der plastische Chirurg Manfred Frey, der Internist Michael Häfner, der Bauchchirurg Peter Moeschl sowie der Kinderneurochirurg Ulrich Thomale schlüpfen für kurze Zeit in die Rolle von Künstlern und vermitteln in der Medizin gängige Vorstellungen vom menschlichen Körper mittels einer visuellen Sprache.

Malaktion mit Manfred Frey. Foto © Christina Lammer

Der Hörsaal der Inneren Medizin der Charité (Sauerbruchweg 2) wird zum Theaterraum, in dem die teilnehmenden Ärzte in Form von Lecture-Performances und Malaktionen Unterricht geben. Außerdem zeigen sie Videomaterialien von Operationen, Chirurgielehrfilme sowie Aufnahmen vom Körperinneren und geben damit faszinierende Einblicke in ihre fachspezifischen Arbeitsgebiete. Entwickelt wurde das Projekt von der Wiener Soziologin Christina Lammer für die 7. Berlin Biennale, um die künstlerische und medizinische Ästhetik hinsichtlich der Produktion von Körperbildern zusammenzuführen und die interdisziplinäre Kommunikation nachhaltig zu fördern.


Entsprechend den Förderschwerpunkten der Schering Stiftung will das Symposion Anatomiestunden den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Kultur befördern. Insbesondere die Schnittstelle von Kunst und Medizin soll im Rahmen der Veranstaltung in der Charité untersucht werden, wobei kulturelle Sinnzusammenhänge und Erkenntnismodelle einer kritischen Analyse unterzogen und für die unterschiedlichen Wissensgebiete fruchtbar gemacht werden können.

 

Symposion Anatomiestunden


23. Juni 2012, 14 bis 19:30 Uhr

Hörsaal der Inneren Medizin, Charité Campus Mitte
Sauerbruchweg 2
10117 Berlin


Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: berlinbiennale.de

Foto: © Christina Lammer

 

 

Malaktion mit Michael Haefner. Foto © Christina Lammer

 

 

Malaktion mit Peter Moeschl. Foto © Christina Lammer

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr