Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Prize 2012

Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann

On the 10th of September 2012 the Schering Foundation Berlin will award the Ernst Schering Prize 2012 for internationally leading accomplishments in the area of medical, biological and chemical basic research to Prof. Matthias Mann, director at the Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried. He will receive the prize, which carries an award of 50,000 Euro, for his seminal work exploring the proteome – the complete complement of the proteins of an organism. Matthias Mann has revolutionized the methods that are used for the identification and characterization of proteins, by successfully transferring methods of the physical sciences – such as mass spectrometry – to the area of molecular biology.

Not genes but protein molecules, whose structures are laid down in the genetic material, are the real carriers of function in the cell. The analysis of proteins of organisms is therefore one of the most important tasks in biology and medicine. Matthias Mann’s research is making it possible to analyze the proteome with the same efficiency that was previously reserved for the genome (the total genetic material of an organism). Applying and continuously refining methods of the physical sciences such as electrospray ionization and mass spectrometry to the analysis of biological systems, now enables comprehensive cataloging of proteins and their interconnections. The bioinformatic software algorithms that Matthias Mann has developed over the years are an important prerequisite for these developments. These developments are crucial foundations of proteomics, a new scientific field whose aim is the identification and quantification of proteins in an organism and of which Matthias Mann was one of the founders. A goal of proteomics is to chart all the proteins of a cell or an organ and to thereby find hints to their function or malfunction in a disease. The application of proteomics spans from the identification of microorganisms to stem cell research and aging research and it has already lead to many novel insights and discoveries in the medical sciences. For instance, researchers can now compare healthy tissues with cancer tissues to find out which proteins are involved in cancer. Very recently, Matthias Mann has developed a method for the fast and precise determination of proteins in cancer tissues, which is now being investigated for its clinical applicability.

Matthias Mann studied physics and mathematics at Gottingen University and obtained his Ph.D. in chemical engineering at Yale University. Here he was decisively involved in the development of electrospray ionization, which has become a key technology of the life sciences. As a post-doctoral fellow and later as a professor for bioinformatics at the University of Southern Denmark in Odense, he developed amongst others techniques the first bioinformatic search algorithms for peptide fragmentation data and SILAC, a new method of quantitative proteomics and a breakthrough in the mapping of protein interactions. Since 2005 Matthias Mann is director at the Max-Planck institute of biochemistry and since 2009 also the department head of proteomics at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research in Copenhagen. Besides the Ernst Schering Prize, he will receive the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation in 2012, which entails a 2.5 million Euro research grant.

Important dates

Press conference with the Prize Winner
September 10, 2012, 11:15 a.m.
Schering Stiftung | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

Award Ceremony „Ernst Schering Prize 2012“
September 10, 2012, 5 p.m.
Berlin
Participation by invitation only

Lectures of the Prize Winner
September 11, 2012, in the morning
Lecture for pupils in Berlin-Center (non public lecture)

September 11, 2012, 6:15 p.m.
Public Lecture for Scientist and Students

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Einstein-Saal
Jägerstr. 22/23 | 10117 Berlin

The lecture will be in English.
Registration is not necessary.

Futher informationen

Andrea Bölling, Project Manager Science of the Ernst Schering Foundation:
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it | 030-20 62 29 60

Foto: © Max-Planck-Institute for Biochemistry

2012_Mann_grau

Curriculum Vitae

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Ernst Schering Preis 2012

Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann

Am 10. September 2012 verleiht die Schering Stiftung in Berlin den Ernst Schering Preis 2012 für international herausragende Leistungen im Bereich der medizinischen, biologischen und chemischen Grundlagenforschung an Prof. Matthias Mann, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried. Er erhält den mit 50.000 Euro dotierten Preis für seine bahnbrechenden Arbeiten zur Erforschung des Proteoms – der Gesamtheit der Eiweißstoffe (Proteine) eines Organismus. Matthias Mann hat die Methoden zur Identifikation und Analyse von Proteinen revolutioniert, indem er physikalische Verfahren wie z.B. die Massenspektrometrie erfolgreich auf die Molekularbiologie übertrug.

Nicht Gene, sondern Eiweißmoleküle, deren Struktur im Erbgut festgelegt ist, sind die eigentlichen Funktionsträger der Zelle. Die Proteinanalyse von Organismen ist daher eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben in der Biologie und Medizin. Matthias Manns Forschungsarbeit hat es ermöglicht, das Proteom mit der gleichen Effizienz zu untersuchen, die vorher nur der Analyse des Genoms (Gesamtheit des genetischen Materials eines Organismus) vorbehalten war. Durch die Anwendung und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung physikalischer Methoden wie Electrospray-Ionisierung und Massenspektrometrie zur Analyse biologischer Systeme können die Eigenschaften von Proteinen sowie deren Wechselwirkungen mit anderen Zellbestandteilen heute umfassend kartographiert werden. Dazu tragen auch die bioinformatischen Software-Algorithmen und Datenbanken bei, die Matthias Mann im Laufe der Jahre entwickelt hat. Diese Technologien sind entscheidende Grundlage der Proteomik, eines neuen Wissenschaftszweiges, der die Identifizierung und Quantifizierung der Proteine in einem Organismus im Blick hat und den Matthias Manns entscheidend mitbegründet hat. Ziel der Proteomik ist, alle Proteine in einer Zelle oder in einem Organ zu erfassen und entscheidende Hinweise zu deren Funktionen oder Fehlfunktionen zu finden, welche für Erkrankungen verantwortlich sein können. Der Einsatz von Proteomik-Technologien in der biologischen und medizinischen Wissenschaft reicht von der Erkennung von Mikroorganismen über die Stammzellforschung bis hin zur Altersforschung und hat schon zu vielen neuen Erkenntnissen für die Gesundheitsforschung geführt. So kann zum Beispiel gesundes Gewebe mit Krebsgewebe verglichen werden, um herauszufinden, welche Proteine an der Krebsentstehung beteiligt sind. Kürzlich hat Matthias Mann ein Verfahren zur schnellen und äußerst genauen Bestimmung der Proteine in Krebsgeweben entwickelt, das jetzt auf die klinische Anwendbarkeit geprüft wird.

Matthias Mann studierte Physik und Mathematik an der Universität Göttingen und promovierte 1988 in Chemical Engineering an der Yale University, wo er maßgeblich an der Entwicklung der Elektrospray-Massenspektrometrie als Schlüsseltechnologie für die heutigen Biowissenschaften beteiligt war. Als Post-Doc und später als Professor für Bioinformatik entwickelte Mann an der University of Southern Denmark, Odense, u.a. den ersten bioinformatischen Suchalgorithmus für Peptidfragmetierungsdaten und SILAC, eine neue Methode für die quantitative Proteomik und ein bahnbrechender Schritt in der Kartographierung von Protein-Wechselwirkungen. Seit 2005 ist Matthias Mann Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried und seit 2009 Vorsitzender der Abteilung für Proteomik am Novo Nordisk Foundation Center für Proteinforschung in Kopenhagen. Neben dem Ernst Schering Preis wird ihm im Jahr 2012 auch der mit 2,5 Mio. Euro dotierte Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft verliehen.

Wichtige Termine im Überblick

Pressegespräch mit dem Preisträger
10. September 2012, 11:15 Uhr
Schering Stiftung | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

Preisverleihung „Ernst Schering Preis 2012“
10. September 2012, 17:00 Uhr
Berlin, Teilnahme nur auf Einladung

Vorträge des Preisträgers
11. September 2012, vormittags
Vortrag vor Schülern in Berlin-Mitte (nicht öffentlich)

11. September 2012, 18:15 Uhr
Öffentlicher Vortrag für Wissenschaftler und Studenten
Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Einstein-Saal
Jägerstr. 22/23 | 10117 Berlin

Der Vortrag wird in englischer Sprache gehalten.
Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Weitere Informationen

Bitten wenden Sie sich an Andrea Bölling, Projektmanagerin Wissenschaft der Schering Stiftung:
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. | 030-20 62 29 60

 

Foto: © Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie

2012_Mann_grau

Curriculum Vitae

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | Auch im Jahr 2018 schreiben der MitOst e.V. und die Schering Stiftung gemeinsam...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr