Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Friedmund Neumann Prize 2012

PD Dr. Sylvia Mechsner

Department of Gynecology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin

for her outstanding work on the pathogenesis of endometriosis

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2012

Sylvia Mechsner

Born in Reinbek in 1972, Sylvia Mechsner grew up near Hamburg. After her Abitur in 1991 and a Voluntary Social Year in Berlin, she started to study medicine at the Free University of Berlin in 1992. Following her prelims, she wrote her dissertation at the Institute of Biochemistry at the FU Berlin. Completing her residency in 2001, Mechsner is currently a senior physician in the Department of Gynecology with Outpatient Clinic at the Charité’s Benjamin Franklin Campus, where the focus of her work is at the Endometriosis Research Center. Since 2002, she has treated both in- and outpatients and since 2005 has directed the Endometriosis Research Lab. In 2010 she habilitated with a thesis on “Endometriose, das verkannte Frauenleiden – Untersuchungen zur Pathogenese und Schmerzentstehung“ (Endometriosis – Investigation of the Pathogenesis and Pain Conduction). Sylvia Mechsner is married and has three children.

Endometriosis

Endometriosis is a health problem that affects women during their childbearing years and whose symptoms such as lower abdominal (pelvic) pain, bleeding disorders, and fertility problems can severely compromise patients’ quality of life while also having major social, clinical, and economic relevance.

Two to twenty percent of all women of reproductive age are said to suffer from endometriosis. An estimated 2 million women are affected in Germany and up to 40,000 new cases are diagnosed every year. About 50 percent of these women need to have ongoing therapy. In addition to the physical pain, the relapse rate of 50-80 percent, even following surgical and endocrinal treatment, is a huge problem.

Another big problem is the fact that the average time interval between the appearance of the first symptoms and the diagnosis is 6 to 8 years. This is, among other things, due to the ignorance about the genesis and development of endometriosis and the mechanisms of pain generation underlying the disorder. What also makes the diagnosis difficult is that medical tests frequently yield “normal” results. The clinical picture of endometriosis-associated symptoms is very well defined, however, so that a detailed patient history in most cases would enable early diagnosis and the initiation of treatment.

Since most patients suffer from pain that significantly impairs their quality of life, knowledge in this area is crucial for both diagnosis and therapy. There are still no causal therapy approaches, which means that doctors continue to be confronted with the problem of chronic disease and a high relapse rate. In the past few years, there has been little change in the established treatments (surgical and hormonal therapies, pain therapy), even though treatment in many cases is insufficient and unsatisfactory or has severe side effects. There are no new, innovative approaches.

Sylvia Mechsner’s Research

Sylvia Mechsner’s working group deals with the mechanisms of endometriosis generation and development and with possible mechanisms of pain generation through endometriotic lesions. Aiming to establish new therapeutic approaches, the studies were done with a focus on their clinical relevance.

Mechsner and her team for the first time were able to show the lymphatic spread of endometriosis cells and study its clinical importance. Given the occurrence of endometriosis in lymph nodes, it was possible to show mechanisms of lymphangiogenesis in endometriotic lesions – a new aspect in the genesis and development of endometriosis, which deserves special attention.

Another focus of Mechsner’s work is on demonstrating and characterizing endometriosis-associated muscle cells that express estrogen, progesterone as well as oxytocin receptors. Supporting the evidence that endometriosis always involves smooth muscle cells in addition to epithelial and stromal cells, these findings are important for understanding the generation and development of the disease and may offer new therapeutic approaches.

Sylvia Mechsner has successfully begun to shed light on the connection between inflammation and pain in endometriosis. The question is not just how inflammation causes pain, but how the nervous system controls the inflammation. Mechsner and her team managed to demonstrate the density of nerve fibers in peritoneal endometriotic lesions, which most frequently occur with patients with severe pelvic pain/dysmenorrhea. This suggests that, in addition to inflammatory pain, neuropathic pain is also involved in pain generation. Of importance is also her most recent work on the neuromodulatory processes of endometriosis where she was able to show that endometriosis is involved in neurotrophic events and induces neurite outgrowth, but reduces the density of sympathetic nerve fibers. What is interesting is that the inflammatory response is most probably leading to neuromodulation.

Award Ceremony

September 10, 2012, 5:00 p.m.

Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Leibniz Hall
Markgrafenstr. 38 | 10117 Berlin

The prize will be awarded in conjunction with the Ernst Schering Foundation’s Ernst Schering Prize.
Please register at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

For more information, please contact Andrea Bölling, Project Manager Science of the Ernst Schering Foundation, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by phone at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abb. A

A: Depiction of an endometriosis-associated nerve in a peritoneal endometriotic lesion

 

 

Abb. B

B: Trichrome staining to depict nerve fibers (green) co-localized with immature vessels (red) (L: lumen, E: epithelial cells; S: stromal cells)

 

 

Abb. C

C: Peritoneal fluids from an endometriosis patient induce neurite outgrowth from chicken dorsal root ganglia.

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2012

PD Dr. Sylvia Mechsner

Klinik für Gynäkologie an der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

für ihre herausragenden Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Pathogenese der Endometriose

Friedmund Neumann Preis 2012

Sylvia Mechsner

1972 in Reinbek geboren, wuchs Sylvia Mechsner in der Nähe von Hamburg auf. Nach ihrem Abitur 1991 leistete sie in Berlin ein freies Soziales Jahr und begann 1992 ihr Studium der Humanmedizin an der Freien Universität Berlin. Nach dem Physikum verfasste sie am Institut für Biochemie der FU Berlin ihre Dissertation. 2001 schloss Mechsner ihre Facharztausbildung ab. Derzeit ist sie als Oberärztin an der Klinik für Gynäkologie mit Hochschulambulanz, Campus Benjamin Franklin beschäftigt und arbeitet dort schwerpunktmäßig im Endometriose- und Myomzentrum. Seit 2002 betreut sie Endometriosepatientinnen ambulant und stationär und leitet seit 2005 das Grundlagenforschungslabor für Endometriose. 2010 hat sie sich auf dem Gebiet der Endometriose zum Thema „Endometriose, das verkannte Frauenleiden - Untersuchungen zur Pathogenese und Schmerzentstehung“ habilitiert. Sylvia Mechsner ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder.

Krankheitsbild Endometriose

Endometriose ist eine Erkrankung bei Frauen im reproduktionsfähigen Alter, die aufgrund ihrer Symptome wie z.B. Unterbauchschmerzen, Blutungsstörungen und Fertilitätsbeeinträchtigung zu einer erheblichen Beeinträchtigung der Lebensqualität der Betroffenen führen kann und darüber hinaus eine extreme soziale, klinische und volkswirtschaftliche Relevanz hat.

Die Häufigkeit der Endometriose wird mit 2-20 % aller Frauen im reproduktionsfähigen Alter angegeben. Schätzungen ergeben, dass in Deutschland ca. 2 Mio. Frauen betroffen sind und bis zu 40.000 Neuerkrankungen pro Jahr diagnostiziert werden. Bei ca. 50 % dieser Frauen besteht ein anhaltender Therapiebedarf. Neben der starken körperlichen Einschränkung durch Schmerzen stellen die Rückfallraten von 50-80 % auch nach operativer und endokriner Therapie ein großes Problem dar.

Äußerst problematisch ist, dass das Zeitintervall vom Auftreten der Symptome bis zur Diagnosestellung im Mittel 6-8 Jahre beträgt. Diese Problematik ist u.a. durch die Unkenntnis über die Entstehung und Entwicklung der Endometriose sowie über die Mechanismen der Schmerzentstehung, die dieser Erkrankung zugrunde liegen, bedingt. Die häufig „unauffälligen“ körperlichen Untersuchungsbefunde erschweren die Diagnose. Dennoch ist das Krankheitsbild der Endometriose-assoziierten Symptome sehr gut beschrieben, sodass durch eine ausführliche Anamnese in den meisten Fällen eine frühzeitige Diagnosestellung bzw. Einleitung weiterführender Maßnahmen möglich wäre.

Da ein Großteil der betroffenen Patientinnen über Schmerzen klagt, die die Lebensqualität signifikant einschränken, sind insbesondere Kenntnisse in diesem Bereich von essentieller Bedeutung für die Diagnostik und Therapie. Weiterhin gibt es bisher keine kausalen Therapieansätze, in Folge dessen sich Mediziner mit der Problematik der chronischen Erkrankung und einer hohen Rückfallrate konfrontiert sehen. An dem bislang etablierten Behandlungskonzept (operative und hormonelle Therapie, Schmerztherapie) hat sich in den letzten Jahren kaum etwas geändert, obwohl die Behandlung in vielen Fällen unzureichend und unbefriedigend ist oder mit starken Nebenwirkungen einhergeht. Neue, innovative Ansätze fehlen.

Forschungsarbeit von Sylvia Mechsner

Die Arbeitsgruppe um Sylvia Mechsner beschäftigt sich in ihren Untersuchungen mit Mechanismen der Entstehung und Entwicklung der Endometriose und mit möglichen Mechanismen der Schmerzentstehung durch Endometrioseläsionen. Mit dem Ziel, neue therapeutische Ansätze zu etablieren, wurde bei diesen Studien fokussiert auf die klinische Relevanz hingearbeitet.

Durch Mechsner und ihr Team konnte erstmals die lympathische Ausbreitung von Endometriosezellen belegt und hinsichtlich der klinischen Bedeutung untersucht werden. Passend zum nodalen Vorkommen von Endometriose konnten Lymphangiogenesemechanismen in Endometrioseläsionen dargestellt werden, – ein neuer Aspekt in der Entstehung und Entwicklung der Endometriose, der besondere Beachtung verdient.

Ein weiterer Fokus der Arbeiten von Mechsner betrifft den Nachweis und die Charakterisierung von Endometriose-assoziierten Muskelzellen die sowohl den Oestrogen-, den Progesteronrezeptor sowie den Oxytocin-Rezeptor exprimieren. Diese Daten, die den Tatbestand stützen, dass bei einer Endometriose neben Epithel- und Stromazellen immer auch glatte Muskelzellen vorhanden sind, sind von Bedeutung für das Verständnis der Entstehung und Entwicklung der Erkrankung und können Ansätze für neue Therapieformen liefern.

Frau Mechsner hat erfolgreich begonnen, den Zusammenhang zwischen Entzündung und Schmerz bei der Endometriose aufzuklären. Dabei geht es nicht nur darum, wie die Entzündung Schmerz auslöst, sondern wie das Nervensystem die Entzündung steuert. Mechsner und ihrem Team gelang der Nachweis von Nervenfasern, die in die peritonealen Endometrioseläsionen einsprossen und vermehrt bei Patientinnen mit starken UBS/Dysmenorrhoe auftreten. Dies ist ein erstes Indiz, dass neben der inflammatorischen Schmerzkomponente auch neuropathische Schmerzen Ursache der Schmerzentstehung sind. Von Bedeutung sind auch die neuesten Arbeiten, die sich mit den neuromodulatorischen Eigenschaften der Endometriose befassen. Dabei konnte gezeigt werden, dass die Endometriose neurotrophe Eigenschaften aufweist und die Aussprossung von sensiblen Nervenfasern induziert, auf die sympathischen Nervenfasern aber einen hemmenden Einfluss ausübt. Interessant ist, dass sehr wahrscheinlich eine Neuromodulation infolge der entzündlichen Reaktion stattfindet.

Preisverleihung

10. September 2012, 17 Uhr

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Leibnizsaal
Markgrafenstr. 38 | 10117 Berlin

Der Preis wird zusammen mit dem Ernst Schering Preis der Schering Stiftung verliehen.
Eine Anmeldung zur Teilnahme ist erforderlich: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei Andrea Bölling, Projektmanagerin Wissenschaft der Schering Stiftung: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. | 030-20 62 29 60

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abb. A

A: Darstellung eines Endometriose-assoziierten Nervs in einer peritonealen Endometrioseläsion

 

 

Abb. B

B: Dreifachfärbung zur Darstellung von Nervenfasern (grün) in Kolokalisation zu unreifen Gefäßen (rot) (L: Lumen, E: Epithel; S: Stromazellen)

 

 

Abb. C

C: Durch Douglasflüssigkeit einer Patientin mit Endometriose induzierte Nervenfaseraussprossung aus einem sensiblen Hinterwurzelganglion eines Hühnerembryos.