Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The Art of Listening

01.06.2012, Berlin | “The art of listening” is how cultural historian Peter Gay described the silent, focused listening to music that became commonplace for concert audiences in the 19th century. On July 12–14, 2012, the University of Potsdam in cooperation with the Radialsystem V will hold an international conference on the history of listening to music in the past three centuries.

Radialsystem V © Photo: Volker Bolesch

The project consists of two parts: an international academic symposium and several new concert formats, where visitors are able to explore, participate in and experience with their senses a variety of experimental set-ups. Visitors are invited to walk through the rooms of the building, listen to music in a variety of ways and to deal creatively with their own perceptions. How do light, stage setting, and the visitor’s position affect the same concert program? Does wine taste differently while listening to different styles of music? Such and similar questions will be explored during the “Radiale Nacht – Experimente des Musikhörens (Radial Night – Experiments in Listening to Music),” which will take place as part of “The Art of Listening” on July 12–15.

 

The symposium on “The Art of Listening – Trends and Perspectives in the History of Listening to Music” considers itself a forum for different research approaches in musicology, history, and cultural studies, and aims to open up new perspectives for research. It promises to offer new insights into the art of listening to music – both through musicological research and artistic practice. Since its inception, the Ernst Schering Foundation has sought to expand our knowledge through interdisciplinary approaches such as this one.

 

Symposium: The Art of Listening – Trends and Perspectives in the History of Listening to Music


Thursday, July 12, 2012, 2 pm

Friday, July 13, 2012, 9:30 am

Saturday, Jul 14, 2012, 9:30 am

 

Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin


Free admission to the symposium and to the panel discussions.

Tickets to the evening events at Radialsystem V can be purchased at the ticket counter in the foyer or via radialsystem.de. Ticket Hotline for reservations: +49(0)30 – 288 788 588

 

For more information please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at 030-20 62 29 60 or visit radialsystem.de

 

Photo: Volker Bolesch

 

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

The Art of Listening - Von der Kunst des Musikhörens

„The Art of Listening“ nannte der Kulturhistoriker Peter Gay das stille, fokussierte Hören von Musik, wie es seit dem 19. Jahrhundert für das Publikum in Konzerten üblich wurde. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Radialsystem V veranstaltet die Universität Potsdam vom 12. bis zum 14. Juli 2012 eine internationale Konferenz, in der die Entwicklung des Musikhörens in den letzten drei Jahrhunderten thematisiert wird.

Publikum Radialsystem V © Foto: Volker Bolesch

Das Projekt besteht aus zwei Teilen: einem international besetzten wissenschaftlichen Symposium, sowie mehreren neuartigen Konzertformaten, in denen die Besucher Versuchsanordnungen erkunden und selbst Teil sinnlich erfahrbarer Experimente werden können. Das Publikum ist eingeladen durch die Räume des Hauses zu flanieren, auf unterschiedliche Weise Musik zu hören und sich kreativ mit der eigenen Wahrnehmung auseinanderzusetzen. Wie wirken sich Licht, Bühneninstallation und Zuhörerposition auf das gleiche Konzertprogramm aus? Solche und ähnliche Fragen werden in der "Radialen Nacht - Experimente des Musikhörens" im Rahmen von "The Art of Listening" vom 12. bis 15. Juli im Radialsystem V erkundet.

Das Symposium „The Art of Listening – Trends und Perspektiven einer Geschichte des Musikhörens“ versteht sich als Forum für unterschiedliche Forschungsansätze aus den Musik- Geschichts- und Kulturwissenschaften und will Perspektiven eröffnen für die weitere Entwicklung dieses Forschungsfelds. Dadurch verspricht die Veranstaltung neue Erkenntnisse über die Kunst des Musikhörens – zum einen durch die Forschung der Musikwissenschaftler, zum anderen durch die künstlerische Praxis. Seit der Gründung der Schering Stiftung ist es eines unserer Hauptanliegen, unser Wissen durch interdisziplinäre Ansätze wie diesen zu erweitern.

Symposion: The Art of Listening – Trends und Perspektiven einer Geschichte des Musikhörens


Do, 12. Juli 2012, ab 14 Uhr

Fr, 13. Juli 2012, ab 9:30 Uhr

Sa, 14. Juli 2012, ab 9:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort ist das
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

 

Der Eintritt zum Symposion und zur Podiumsdiskussion ist frei.

Karten zu den Abendveranstaltungen des Radialsystems V können entweder an der Kasse im Foyer des Hauses oder über radialsystem.de erworben werden. Die telefonische Reservierung von Karten ist unter +49(0)30 – 288 788 588 möglich.

 

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: radialsystem.de

 

Foto: Volker Bolesch

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr