Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Street Artists for Creative Space in Budapest

09.07.2012, Berlin | “For 20 forint, you are allowed not to take notice of me” – this sentence on a homeless person’s sign in Budapest was the starting point for a project that will take place this summer in the Hungarian capital. Inspired by Brecht’s Threepenny Opera, the “Twenty-Forint Operetta – A Budapest Street Fantasy” invites people to participate in a variety of events in urban space, making possible a “city for everybody” – an almost utopian project given the current political situation in Hungary.

The Twenty-Forint Operetta – A Budapest Street Fantasy

At a time when the distrust between different population groups and polemics against groups such as the Roma people or the homeless are intensifying, the initiators Sarah Günther and Berecz Zsuzsa seek to inspire a non-mainstream independent cultural movement. Under the current government, cultural institutions in Hungary are becoming more and more dependent on the political sector, are packed with party loyalists, provincialized or lose their funding altogether. Seeking to counteract these developments, the “Twenty-Forint Operetta” is addressed to street artists and marginalized groups as well as at passers-by and residents with the goals of weakening boundaries and creating creative spaces free of prejudice, bias and categorization. In cooperation with the Budapest-based creative network “Pneuma Szöv.” and the German artists’ collective “Mobile Albania,” as well as with Hungarian and international artists, urbanists, and street experts, the first scene of a Budapest street fantasy, taking its cue from Brecht’s and Weill’s Threepenny Opera, will be created in the summer of 2012.

The two-month-long process will be implemented in cooperation with the municipal administration of the Józsefváros district. Through playful and ethical-aesthetic activities, it will deal with issues of the street and search for possibilities to open up gaps and create social and artistic networks in this ethically and socially very diverse district of Budapest. This process shall continue in the years to come by adding more scenes to the street operetta.

The operetta will be accompanied by a film team who will make a docu-fiction film of the project, thus making public the working process and the artworks that resulted from it.

The “Twenty-Forint Operetta – A Budapest Street Fantasy” is one of the three winning projects of the 2012 “Culture in Dialogue” competition, held by the Ernst Schering Foundation and MitOst e.V. for the fifth time. The competition seeks to support cultural projects that promote the relations between neighboring countries and/or in the border regions of Eastern, Central, and Southeastern Europe. The jury was impressed by the concept and political relevance of Sarah Günther’s project.

 

The Twenty-Forint Operetta – A Budapest Street Fantasy

July 1 through September 22, 2012, Budapest, Józsefváros district

 

Artistic Director: Sarah Günther
Production Manager: Berecz Zsuzsa
Mobile Albania: www.mobilealbania.de
Pneuma Szöv: www.pneumaszov.org

 

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit www.mitost.org.


Photo: © Mobile Albania and Pneuma Szöv

The Twenty-Forint Operetta – A Budapest Street Fantasy

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Mit Straßenkünstlern für kreativen Freiraum in Budapest

„Für 20 Forint kannst du mich nicht beachten“ - dieser Satz auf dem Schild eines Budapester Obdachlosen bildet den Ausgangspunkt eines Projektes, das in diesem Sommer in der ungarischen Hauptstadt stattfinden wird. Inspiriert von Brechts Dreigroschenoper soll die „Zwanzig-Forint-Operette – eine Budapester Straßenfantasie“ mit unterschiedlichen Aktionen im Stadtraum zum Mitmachen einladen und eine „Stadt für alle“ ermöglichen – ein angesichts der aktuellen politischen Situation in Ungarn fast schon utopisches Vorhaben.

Die Zwanzig-Forint-Operette - eine Budapester Straßenfantasie

In Zeiten, in denen sich das Misstrauen zwischen verschiedenen Bevölkerungsgruppen gezielt verschärft und die Polemik gegenüber sozial Benachteiligten wie Roma oder Obdachlosen zunimmt, wollen die Initiatorinnen Sarah Günther und Berecz Zsuzsa eine unabhängige Kulturbewegung jenseits des Mainstream anregen. Kulturschaffende Institutionen in Ungarn geraten unter der aktuellen Regierung immer mehr in die Abhängigkeit von Politik, werden mit parteitreuen Personen durchsetzt, provinzialisiert oder verlieren ihre Förderung ganz. Die „Zwanzig-Forint-Operette“ möchte dieser Entwicklung entgegen wirken und richtet sich sowohl an Straßenkünstler und Randgruppen, aber auch an Passanten und Anwohner um Grenzen aufzuweichen und kreative Freiräume unabhängig von Vorurteilen, Schubladen und Kategorien zu schaffen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Budapester kreativen Netzwerk „Pneuma Szöv.“ und dem deutschen Künstlerkollektiv „Mobile Albania“, sowie mit ungarischen und internationalen Künstlern, Urbanisten und Straßenexperten wird im Sommer 2012 das erste Bild einer Budapester Straßenfantasie entwickelt, in Anlehnung an Brechts/Weills Dreigroschenoper.

Der zweimonatige Prozess wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Budapester Bezirksverwaltung der Josephstadt (Józsefváros) verwirklicht. In diesem ethnisch und gesellschaftlich sehr gemischtem Bezirk wird in spielerischen und ethisch-ästhetischen Aktionen mit Themen der Straße umgegangen und nach Möglichkeiten gesucht, gemeinsame Zwischenräume zu eröffnen und soziale-künstlerische Netzwerke zu schaffen. Dieser Prozess soll in den nächsten Jahren in weiteren Bildern der Straßenoperette fortgesetzt werden

Begleitet wird die Operette von einem Filmteam, das nach Abschluss des Projektes einen fiktiv-dokumentarischen Film erstellt und den Arbeitsprozess sowie die entstandenen Kunstwerke nach Außen trägt.

Die „Zwanzig-Forint-Operette – Eine Budapester Straßenfantasie“ ist eines der drei Gewinnerprojekte des Wettbewerbs „Kultur im Dialog“, der im Jahr 2012 zum 5. Mal gemeinsam von der Schering Stiftung und MitOst e.V. ausgelobt wurde. Mit dem Wettbewerb werden Kulturprojekte unterstützt, die die nachhaltigen Beziehungen zwischen Nachbarländern oder in Grenzregionen Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropas fördern. Das Projekt von Sarah Günther überzeugte die Jury durch seine inhaltliche Konzeption und aufgrund der politischen Aktualität.

 

Die Zwanzig-Forint-Operette – Eine Budapester Straßenfantasie

 

01. Juli bis 22. September 2012 in Budapest, Josephstadt (Józsefváros)

Künstlerische Leitung: Sarah Günther
Produktionsleitung: Berecz Zsuzsa

Mobile Albania: www.mobilealbania.de
Pneuma Szöv: www.pneumaszov.org

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter www.mitost.org

 

Foto: © Mobile Albania und Pneuma Szöv

Die Zwanzig-Forint-Operette - eine Budapester Straßenfantasie

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: “Young Investigator Fund” für innovative Forschungsideen

22.03.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt erfolgsversprechende Forschungsideen junger WissenschaftlerInnen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden...
mehr

Leere Meere oder wildes Leben? Der Weltozean im 21. Jahrhundert

08.03.2017, Berlin | Unsere Weltmeere sind mit Abstand das größte Ökosystem unserer Erde. Sie bedecken mehr...
mehr

Weiter Schreiben. Ein literarisches Portal für AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten

02.03.2017, Berlin | Das Projekt „Weiter Schreiben“ veröffentlicht Texte von AutorInnen aus Krisengebieten und verleiht ihnen...
mehr