Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Concepts of life in contemporary sculpture - BIOS at the Georg-Kolbe-Museum

01.08.2012, Berlin | Our understanding of life and its malleability has changed fundamentally in the last twenty years because of groundbreaking discoveries in genetic engineering and microbiology. From August 26, 2012, the Georg Kolbe Museum, in an exhibition entitled “BIOS – Concepts of Life in Contemporary Sculpture,” will present German and international artists who use the classical media of sculpture and installation to reflect on the changed biological concepts.

Mark Dion: Sea Life. © Photo: Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

As an artistic genre, sculpture is closely linked with concepts of life, as expressed, for example, in one of its origin myths – Ovid’s story in the Metamorphoses about the divine transformation of an ivory statue created by Pygmalion into a living woman. In the hands of the sculptor, raw material is transformed into a form that does not claim its place among the living from the outset, but can indeed be suspected of competing with divine creation.

Since synthetic biology has become a buzzword, the examination of life in the fine arts has become ever more relevant. The idea that it might be possible, in the future, to generate artificially created biological systems with hitherto unknown characteristics in labs triggers both fantasies and fears. The artists respond to this development in very different ways, with their artistic exploration ranging from amorphous sculptures to interactions that are critical of society and science. The highly topical exhibition “BIOS” thus lies at the intersection of the fields supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Participating artists are Brandon Ballengée, Peter Buggenhout, Lee Bul, Mark Dion, Brad Downey, Thomas Feuerstein, Eli Gur Arie, Tue Greenfort, Patricia Piccinini, Donato Piccolo, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Günter Weseler, David Zink Yi.
The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalogue with contributions from, among others, Marc Wellmann, Anna Wenzel-Lent, Frank Fehrenbach, Jens Hauser, and Björn Brembs.

Exhibition


BIOS – Concepts of Life in Contemporary Sculpture

Exhibition Opening: Sunday, August 26, 2012, 11:30 a.m.
Duration: August 26 – November 11, 2012
Tuesday through Sunday: 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Admission: € 5 (reduced admission: €3)

 

Georg Kolbe Museum
Sensburger Allee 25
14055 Berlin

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at +49-(0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit the website of the Georg Kolbe Museum at georg-kolbe-museum.de.

 

Mark Dion: Sea Life. © Photo: Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Konzepte des Lebens in der zeitgenössischen Skulptur - BIOS im Georg-Kolbe-Museum

Das Verständnis vom Leben und der Formbarkeit des Lebendigen hat sich in den letzten zwanzig Jahren durch bahnbrechende neue Erkenntnisse in der Gentechnik und der Mikrobiologie grundlegend verändert. Das Georg-Kolbe-Museum zeigt in „BIOS – Konzepte des Lebens in der zeitgenössischen Skulptur“ ab dem 26.08.2012 deutsche und internationale Künstler, die mit den klassischen Mitteln der Skulptur und der Installation die veränderten biologischen Konzepte reflektieren.

Mark Dion: Sea Life. © Foto: Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

Die Bildhauerei ist als künstlerische Gattung eng mit Konzepten der Lebendigkeit verschränkt, so auch in einem ihrer Ursprungsmythen – Ovids Metamorphose über Pygmalion und die göttliche Verwandlung einer von ihm geschaffenen Elfenbeinskulptur in eine lebendige Frau. Rohe Materie wird durch die Hände des Bildhauers zu einer Form transformiert, die den Rang des Lebendigen zwar nicht von vornherein beansprucht, aber durchaus in den Verdacht geraten kann, mit der göttlichen Schöpfung zu konkurrieren.

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Lebendigen hat in der bildenden Kunst an Brisanz gewonnen, seitdem die Synthetische Biologie in aller Munde ist. Die Vorstellung, dass zukünftig künstlich hergestellte biologische Systeme mit bisher unbekannten Eigenschaften in Laboren entstehen, regt die Phantasie ebenso an, wie sie Ängste schürt. Die Künstler reagieren auf diese Entwicklung in sehr unterschiedlicher Weise, die Auseinandersetzung reicht von amorphen Skulpturen bis zu gesellschafts- und wissenschaftskritischen Interaktionen. Die Ausstellung „BIOS“ ist damit hochaktuell und steht im Fokus der Themenfelder, die die Schering Stiftung unterstützt.

Teilnehmende Künstler: Brandon Ballengée, Peter Buggenhout, Lee Bul, Mark Dion, Brad Downey, Thomas Feuerstein, Eli Gur Arie, Tue Greenfort, Patricia Piccinini, Donato Piccolo, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Günter Weseler, David Zink Yi.
Zu der Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog mit Beiträgen u.a. von Marc Wellmann, Anna Wenzel-Lent, Frank Fehrenbach, Jens Hauser und Björn Brembs.

 

Ausstellung


BIOS – Konzepte des Lebens in der zeitgenössischen Skulptur

Eröffnung: Sonntag, 26.08.2012, 11:30 Uhr
Laufzeit: 26.08. bis 11.11.2012
Dienstag bis Sonntag: 10 bis 18 Uhr – Eintritt 5 € ermäßigt 3 €

 

Georg-Kolbe-Museum
Sensburger Allee 25
14055 Berlin

 

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: georg-kolbe-museum.de

Mark Dion: Sea Life. © Foto: Matthias Bildstein. Courtesy Georg Kargl Fine Arts.

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr