Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Yunchul Kim: CARVED AIR

Opening: Thursday, September 6, 2012, at 7 p.m.
Exhibition Dates: September 7 to December 1, 2012
Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 6 p.m. | Free admission.

Ernst Schering Foundation | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

In his exhibition CARVED AIR, the Berlin-based Korean artist Yunchul Kim presents a series of electrochemical drawings as well as his latest fluid-kinetic sculptures, coupled to a cosmic ray detector. Conceived specifically for the Project Space of the Ernst Schering Foundation, the works were created in cooperation with “Fluid Skies,” a working group consisting of Kim, the art historian Lucía Ayala and the astrophysicist Jaime Forero (www.fluid-skies.net). Curated by Lucía Ayala, the exhibition is the first outcome of this collaboration.

Exhibition view Carved Air. Photo: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

 

 

CARVED AIR suggests, even through its title, one of the main impulses of Kim’s work: the enormous epistemological complexity behind contemporary scientific processes. The Swiss theoretical physicist Walther Ritz wrote in 1909, before the full deployment of quantum mechanics, that the spectral measurements of atoms provide us with many documents, “unfortunately written in hieroglyphics that we do not know how to decipher.” The original meaning of the word hieroglyph is “sacred carving,” from the Greek hierós (sacred) and glýphō (carved [in stone]). The French philosopher Gaston Bachelard later echoed Ritz’s words and used the term hieroglyphics to characterize contemporary science. From the 20th century onward, the objects analyzed by scientists have lost their direct relation to immediate experience. According to Bachelard, they are no longer objects in a traditional sense, but have entered a cryptic realm, an “organization of metaphors” that brings us “messages from an unknown world.”

In response to these ideas, and in connection with the concept of the fluid skies, which has a long history in astronomy, Yunchul Kim proposes to “carve the air,” to aesthetically manipulate the fluid skies to reflect some core aspects of current astrophysics. His works deal with the artistic potential of fluid dynamics using materials such as custom-made ferrofluids moved by electromagnetic forces. Kim thus investigates not only the cosmic dimensions of nanoparticles, but also the morphology of physical instabilities on visible and dark matter leading to the formation of galaxies. With CARVED AIR, Yunchul Kim, Lucía Ayala and Jaime Forero explore the fluid skies from a scientific, artistic, historical, philosophical and poetic perspective.

Yunchul Kim lives and works in Berlin. His works have received many awards, including a Honorary Mention at the Transmediale Festival in Berlin (2004), a Honorary Mention in the Interactive Art category at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz (2006), the prize of the New Artist Trend, Seoul (2008), an artist-in-residency at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2010-2011), and a residency at the Edith Ruß House for Media Art, Oldenburg (2011-2012).

The exhibition CARVED AIR is supported by UCIRA, the Arts Council Korea, the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics in Potsdam, the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and the Korea Culture Center in Berlin.

RELATED EVENTS

Friday, November 2, 2012
2:00 – 7:00 p.m., Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities | Einstein Hall | Jägerstr. 22/23 | 10117 Berlin

Symposium FLUID COSMOLOGIES I
Moderator: Dr. Lucía Ayala, art historian and curator of the exhibition. Lectures by Prof. Dr. Volker Springel (Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies), Dr. Rainer Arlt (Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics, Potsdam), and Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski (Berlin University of the Arts).

Catalogue Presentation
Yunchul Kim. CARVED AIR. Edited by Lucía Ayala
Volume 3 in the monograph series published by the Ernst Schering Foundation (argobooks)

Saturday, November 3, 2012
2:00 p.m., Ernst Schering Foundation | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin
Guided tour of the exhibition. The artist Yunchul Kim and the curator Lucía Ayala will be present.

8:00 p.m., Korea Culture Center | Leipziger Platz 3 | 10117 Berlin
Concerts of Electroacoustic Music. Yunchul Kim, Jacob Kierkegaard, Jörg Lindenmaier

All events are free and open to the public.
Please register at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

More information on “Fluid Skies” and the events related to the exhibition is available at http://www.fluid-skies.net/fluid-cosmologies/fc-i-berlin/.


For more information on the exhibition, please contact:

Friederike Petersen
Manager Public Relations

Phone: +49-30-20 62 29-67
Mobile: +49-170-579 41 35
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012

 

 

 

 

Electrochemical Drawings. Photo: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

 

 

 

 

Sample Box. Photo: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Yunchul Kim: CARVED AIR

Eröffnung: 6. September 2012 um 19 Uhr
Laufzeit: 07.09. bis 01.12.2012
Montag bis Samstag: 11 bis 18 Uhr | Eintritt frei

Schering Stiftung | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin

In CARVED AIR präsentiert der in Berlin lebende koreanische Künstler Yunchul Kim elektrochemische Zeichnungen und neue strömungskinetische Skulpturen, die mit einem Detektor für kosmische Strahlung verbunden sind. Die eigens für den Projektraum der Schering Stiftung produzierten Werke entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit „Fluid Skies“, einer Arbeitsgruppe, zu der neben dem Künstler auch die Kunsthistorikerin Lucía Ayala und der Astrophysiker Jaime Forero gehören (www.fluid-skies.net). Die von Lucía Ayala kuratierte Ausstellung ist das erste Resultat dieser Zusammenarbeit.

Raumansicht Carved Air. Foto: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Bereits der Titel CARVED AIR verweist auf einen Hauptimpuls von Kims künstlerischem Schaffen: die enorme Komplexität heutiger wissenschaftlicher Prozesse. Im Jahr 1909, vor der Entwicklung der Quantenmechanik, schrieb der Schweizer Physiker Walther Ritz, dass die Spektralmessung von Atomen viele Dokumente liefert, „wenn auch leider in einer Hieroglyphenschrift, die wir nicht entziffern können.“ Ursprünglich bedeutet das Wort Hieroglyphe „heiliges Schriftzeichen“ oder „heilige Eingrabung“, zusammengesetzt aus hierós „heilig“ und glýphō „(in Stein) gravieren/ritzen“. Der französische Philosoph Gaston Bachelard griff den Hieroglyphen-Begriff von Ritz später zur Charakterisierung der zeitgenössischen Wissenschaft auf: Seit dem 20. Jahrhundert haben die wissenschaftlich erforschten Gegenstände den Bezug zur unmittelbaren Erfahrungswelt verloren. Sie sind nicht länger Objekte im herkömmlichen Sinn, sondern befinden sich in einem kryptischen Bereich, einer „Organisation von Metaphern“, die uns „Nachrichten aus einer unbekannten Welt“ überbringt.

Ausgehend von diesen Ideen und in Verbindung mit dem Konzept der flüssigen Himmel, das in der Astronomiegeschichte eine lange Tradition hat, schlägt Yunchul Kim in CARVED AIR vor, „die Luft zu schnitzen“, d.h. den flüssigen Himmel ästhetisch zu manipulieren, um zentrale Aspekte der heutigen Astrophysik zu reflektieren. Seine Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit dem künstlerischen Potenzial der Fluiddynamik unter Verwendung von Materialien wie speziell angefertigten Ferrofluiden, die auf elektromagnetische Kräfte reagieren. So untersucht Kim neben der kosmischen Dimension von Nanopartikeln auch die Morphologie physikalischer Instabilitäten auf sichtbare und dunkle Materie, die zur Entstehung von Galaxien führt. Mit CARVED AIR nähern sich Yunchul Kim, Lucía Ayala und Jaime Forero den fluid skies aus wissenschaftlicher, künstlerischer, historischer, philosophischer und poetischer Perspektive.

Yunchul Kim lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Für seine Arbeiten erhielt er u. a. eine Honorary Mention bei der Transmediale in Berlin (2004), eine Honorary Mention in der Kategorie Interaktive Kunst bei der Ars Electronica in Linz (2006), den Preis der New Artist Trend, Seoul (2008), Artist-in-Residence-Aufenthalt im Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2010-2011) und einen Aufenthalt im Edith-Ruß-Haus für Medienkunst, Oldenburg (2011-2012).

Die Ausstellung CARVED AIR wird unterstützt von UCIRA, dem Arts Council Korea, dem Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam, der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und dem Koreanischen Kulturzentum, Berlin.

BEGLEITPROGRAMM

Freitag, 2. November 2012
14 – 19 Uhr, Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften | Einstein-Saal | Jägerstr. 22/23 | 10117 Berlin

Symposium FLUID COSMOLOGIES I
Moderation: Dr. Lucía Ayala, Kunsthistorikern und Kuratorin der Ausstellung. Vorträge von Prof. Dr. Volker Springel (Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien); Dr. Rainer Arlt (Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik, Potsdam) und Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski (Universität der Künste, Berlin)

Katalogpräsentation
Yunchul Kim. CARVED AIR. Hg. von Lucía Ayala
Band 3 der Schriftenreihe der Schering Stiftung (argobooks)

Samstag, 3. November 2012
14 Uhr, Schering Stiftung | Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin
Führung durch die Ausstellung in Anwesenheit des Künstlers und der Kuratorin Lucía Ayala

20 Uhr, Koreanisches Kulturzentrum | Leipziger Platz 3 | 10117 Berlin
Konzerte Elektroakustischer Musik. Yunchul Kim, Jacob Kierkegaard, Jörg Lindenmaier

Alle Veranstaltungen sind öffentlich und kostenlos.
Wir bitten um Anmeldung unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .

Weitere Informationen zu „Fluid Skies“ und zum Begleitprogramm finden Sie unter http://www.fluid-skies.net/fluid-cosmologies/fc-i-berlin

Weitere Informationen zur Ausstellung erhalten Sie bei:

Friederike Petersen
Referentin Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Tel. +49-30-20 62 29-67
Mob. +49-170-579 41 35
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Fotos:

Yunchul Kim, EFFULGE (Detail), 2012, Foto: Alexander Schippel
Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012
Yunchul Kim, TRIAXIAL PILLARS, 2012

Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012

 

 

 

Elektrochemische Zeichnungen. Foto: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

 

 

 

Sample Box. Foto: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

 

 

 

 

 

Aktuelles

Kunst und Neurowissenschaft auf Augenhöhe

17.11.2017. Berlin | Im Juni 2017 lud das Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience Künstler aus aller Welt...
mehr

Wie die Insekten die Blumen gezüchtet haben

15.11.2017, Berlin | Jeder von uns hat sich schon an Blumen erfreut und sich dabei vielleicht...
mehr

Die Hungerkunst. Eine Krankheit zwischen Rausch und Abgrund

09.11.2017, Berlin | Ist der durchtrainierte und schlanke Körper in Zeiten der Selbstoptimierung und Sozialkontrolle das...
mehr