Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Forward into the Past

18.09.2012, Berlin | For many centuries, the Javakheti Plateau in southern Georgia has been a meeting point of eastern and western cultures, but today the region is known for being an area of conflict between Armenia and Georgia. Churches, obelisks, and historical buildings are falling into disrepair, as both the local population and politicians show little interest in preserving the unique monuments and art treasures.
The documentary film Forward into the Past by Varsenik Minasyan wants to fight against the gradual disappearance of Armenian-Georgian culture and raise the population’s awareness and appreciation of their monuments.

Forward into the Past

In the summer of 2012, the young Armenian filmmaker and her team traveled across Georgia to visit historical monuments such as the St. Hambardzum Church, whose interior is overgrown with grass and used as a playground. Her aim, however, was not merely to take stock of the architectural heritage but to get in touch with the local people to engage their interest in the sights in their vicinity.

While the interviews give voice to both Armenians and Georgians, the buildings are looked at independently of their national affiliation. The focus is rather on the buildings’ architectural, historical, and cultural value. The images are accompanied by music typical of the area. Viewers also gain insights into the customs and traditions of the region.

The documentary “Forward into the Past” is one of the three winning projects of this year’s “Culture in Dialogue” competition. Co-organized for the fifth time in 2012 by the Ernst Schering Foundation and MitOst e.V., the competition supports cultural projects that promote the long-term relations between neighboring countries and/or the border regions in Eastern, Central, and Southeastern Europe. The jury was impressed by Varsenik Minasyan’s project because of its high standards in terms of thematic structure, artistic quality, and professionalism and because it focuses on a regionally important topic.

“Forward into the Past” is shown on TV in both Armenia and Georgia. In addition, the film is scheduled to be shown at universities and schools and can be viewed for free on the Internet.

 

Documentary “Forward into the Past”

 

Part 1
Part 2

 

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or write to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

Photo: © Arusyak Baldryan

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Vorwärts in die Vergangenheit

Die Javakhk Hochebene im südlichen Georgien ist seit vielen Jahrhunderten ein Begegnungspunkt von östlichen und westlichen Kulturkreisen, heute jedoch gilt die Region als armenisch-georgisches Konfliktterritorium. Kirchen, Obelisken und historische Bausubstanz sind vom Verfall bedroht, da seitens der Bevölkerung und der Politik wenig Interesse am Erhalt der einzigartigen Denkmäler und Kunstschätze besteht.
Der Dokumentarfilm „Vorwärts in die Vergangenheit“ von Varsenik Minasyan möchte dem langsamen Verschwinden armenisch-georgischer Kultur entgegen wirken und das Bewusstsein und die Wertschätzung der Bevölkerung für ihre Denkmäler verstärken.

Vorwärts in die Vergangenheit

Die junge armenische Filmemacherin hat mit ihrem Team im Sommer 2012 Georgien bereist und historische Denkmäler wie die St. Hambardzum Kirche besucht, deren Innenraum von Gras überwuchert und als Spielplatz genutzt wird. Ziel war jedoch keine reine architektonische Bestandsaufnahme, sondern der Kontakt mit den Menschen vor Ort, um deren Interesse an den Sehenswürdigkeiten in ihrer Umgebung zu wecken.

In Interviews kommen Armenier und Georgier zu Wort, die Denkmäler werden jedoch unabhängig von ihrer nationalen Zugehörigkeit betrachtet. Vielmehr stehen architektonische und historisch-kulturelle Werte der Bauwerke im Vordergrund. Untermalt werden die Bilder von landestypischer Musik. Der Zuschauer erhält darüber hinaus einen Einblick in Sitten und Gebräuche der Umgebung.

Der Dokumentarfilm „Vorwärts in die Vergangenheit“ ist eines der drei Gewinnerprojekte des Wettbewerbs „Kultur im Dialog“, der im Jahr 2012 zum 5. Mal gemeinsam von der Schering Stiftung und MitOst e.V. ausgelobt wurde. Mit dem Wettbewerb werden Kulturprojekte unterstützt, die die nachhaltigen Beziehungen zwischen Nachbarländern oder in Grenzregionen Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropas fördern. Das Projekt von Varsenik Minasyan überzeugte die Jury durch den hohen Anspruch in der inhaltlichen Konzeption, die künstlerischen Qualität und Professionalität sowie aufgrund der Fokussierung auf ein in der Region wichtiges Thema.

„Vorwärts in die Vergangenheit“ wird sowohl in Armenien, als auch in Georgien im Fernsehen ausgestrahlt. Außerdem soll er an Universitäten und Schulen gezeigt werden und ist frei zugängig im Internet zu sehen.

Dokumentarfilm Vorwärts in die Vergangenhei
Teil 1
Teil 2

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 und bei
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

Foto: © Arusyak Baldryan

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr