Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Schering Prize 2011

Dr. Moritz F. Kuehnel

Institute for Chemistry and Biochemistry, Free University of Berlin

“Metal Hydride-Induced Hydrodefluorination of Fluorinated Alkenes and Allenes“

The Schering Prize 2011 goes to Dr. Moritz F. Kuehnel for his dissertation on “Metal Hydride-Induced Hydrodefluorination of Fluorinated Alkenes and Allenes,” which he completed at the Free University of Berlin under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Dieter Lentz.

Moritz F. Kuehnel was born in Berlin, Germany in 1980. He was educated at Gymnasium Steglitz (Berlin) and Melbourne Grammar School (Victoria, Australia) and received his Abitur in 2000. He studied Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin, where he also worked as an undergraduate teacher. In his Diploma project with Dieter Lentz, he explored the organometallic chemistry of fluoroallenes. Kuehnel stayed in the Lentz group for his doctoral studies and became a fellow of the interdisciplinary Research Training Group “Fluorine as the key element”. His dissertation in fluorine chemistry focused on the transition metal-catalysed activation of carbon-fluorine bonds. His 2010 publication in Angewandte Chemie was honoured as “Best Publication in Fluorine Chemistry 2010/2011” by the GDCh Fluorine Chemistry Division. In addition to his doctoral studies, Kuehnel worked as a freelance author for Wiley-VCH and Meyers Online Encyclopaedia. After receiving his Ph.D., he moved to the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and took up a postdoc position in the group of Thomas Braun, to investigate the functionalisation of fluorinated molecules in the coordination sphere of transition-metal complexes. Recently, Kuehnel joined the group of Erwin Reisner in Cambridge (UK) as a postdoc to design novel catalysts for CO2 activation.

Summary of the dissertation
The stability of carbon-fluorine bonds has proven to be a mixed blessing. The benefits of organofluorine chemistry in controlling the chemical resistance of functional polymers like Teflon® and the metabolic properties of pharmaceuticals is contrasted by the long-term environmental persistence of pollutants such as CFCs and PFOAs. The selective cleavage of C-F bonds is regarded as a major challenge in organometallic chemistry. Beyond the deactivation of hazardous chemicals, it is expected to provide a promising means to convert readily available perfluorinated feedstocks into valuable partly fluorinated building blocks for organic synthesis.

This dissertation has shown that carbon-fluorine bonds in tetrafluoroallene can be cleaved and converted to carbon-hydrogen bonds (hydrodefluorination reaction, HDF) by reaction with a zirconium hydrido complex to afford the corresponding zirconium fluorido complex. This strategy offers a new synthetic approach to the previously hardly accessible compounds trifluoroallene and 1,3-difluoroallene, which exhibit unusual structures. 1,3-Difluoroallene is chiral, i.e., similar to life’s building blocks, it can exist in two mirror-image forms (enantiomers). The synthesis of a chiral zirconium hydrido complex allowed for the first enantioselective HDF reaction, in which the formation one of the enantiomers is preferred.

Since chemically related titanium fluorido complexes can be converted to titanium hydrido complexes using a suitable reagent, a cyclic process has been developed that requires only catalytic amounts of titanium. This system, however, proved to be little efficient for the HDF of tetrafluoroallene. Reactivity studies employing different hydrido complexes attributed this lack of activity to the structure of the allene rather than to the catalyst. Consequently, this catalyst was shown to exhibit an excellent performance in the HDF of fluoroalkenes, which exceeds all previous systems with respect to efficiency, rate, scope and cost. Mechanistic studies indicate a titanium(III) hydrido complex as the active species that forms a fluorido complex upon reaction with the substrate. The observed product distribution can be explained by two competing reaction mechanisms.

The Schering Prize will be awarded following the Bohlmann Lecture, which is as well funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Schering Prize 2011 and Bohlmann Lecture 2012

November 2, 2012
4:00 p.m.

Technical University of Berlin
Lecture Hall C 130 (Old Chemistry Building)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

Moritz F. Kuehnel

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Schering Preis 2011

Dr. Moritz F. Kuehnel

Institut für Chemie und Biochemie an der Freien Universität Berlin

“Metal Hydride-Induced Hydrodefluorination of Fluorinated Alkenes and Allenes”

Den Schering Preis 2011 erhält Dr. Moritz F. Kuehnel für seine Dissertation zum Thema “Metal Hydride-Induced Hydrodefluorination of Fluorinated Alkenes and Allenes” an der Freien Universität Berlin bei Prof. Dr. Dieter Lentz.

Moritz F. Kuehnel, geboren 1980 in Berlin, besuchte das Gymnasium Steglitz in Berlin und die Melbourne Grammar School im australischen Bundesstaat Victoria. Nach seinem Abitur im Jahr 2000 studierte er Chemie an der Freien Universität Berlin, wo er auch als Tutor tätig war. In seiner Diplomarbeit unter der Leitung von Dieter Lentz untersuchte er die metallorganische Chemie fluorierter Allene. Auch seine Promotion führte er in der Forschungsgruppe von Prof. Lentz durch, außerdem war er Kollegiat des interdisziplinären DFG-Graduiertenkollegs „Fluor als Schlüsselelement“. In seiner Dissertation beschäftigte er sich mit der übergangsmetallkatalysierten Aktivierung von Kohlenstoff-Fluor-Bindungen. Seine Veröffentlichung in Angewandte Chemie im Jahr 2010 wurde von der Arbeitsgruppe Fluorchemie in der Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker als „Beste Publikation im Bereich Fluorchemie  2010/2011“ ausgezeichnet. Während seines Promotionsstudiums arbeitete Kuehnel auch als freiberuflicher Autor für Wiley-VCH und Meyers Online Encyclopaedia. Nach seiner Promotion ging er als Postdoc zu Thomas Braun an die Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, wo er die Funktionalisierung von fluorierten Molekülen in der Koordinationssphäre von Übergangsmetallkomplexen untersuchte. Vor kurzem wechselte Kuehnel als Postdoc nach Cambridge (UK), wo er in der Forschungsgruppe von Erwin Reisner neue Katalysatoren zur CO2-Aktivierung entwickelt.

Zur Dissertation von Moritz F. Kuehnel

Die hohe Stabilität von Kohlenstoff-Fluor-Bindungen hat sich als ein zweischneidiges Schwert herausgestellt. Einerseits bildet sie die Grundlage für die hohe chemische Resistenz fluorhaltiger Polymere wie Teflon® und kann zur Modulation metabolischer Eigenschaften von Wirkstoffen ausgenutzt werden, andererseits verleiht sie Umweltgiften wie FCKWs und PFOAs ihre unheilbringende Persistenz. Die gezielte Spaltung solch starker Bindungen stellt eine der großen Herausforderungen für die moderne Metallorganische Chemie dar, weil man sich davon nicht nur erhofft, fluorierte Schadstoffe unschädlich zu machen, sondern gleichzeitig auch aus leicht zugänglichen hochfluorierten Verbindungen kostengünstig teilfluorierte Moleküle zu gewinnen, die als wertvolle Synthesebausteine eingesetzt werden können.

Im Rahmen dieser Dissertation konnte gezeigt werden, dass ein Zirkonium-Hydridokomplex in der Lage ist, Kohlenstoff-Fluor-Bindungen in Tetrafluorallen zu spalten und in Kohlenstoff-Wasserstoff-Bindungen umzuwandeln (Hydrodefluorierungsreaktion, HDF), wobei ein Zirkonium-Fluorokomplex entsteht. So gelangt man zu den anders kaum zugänglichen Verbindungen Trifluor- oder 1,3-Difluorallen, die ungewöhnliche Strukturen besitzen. 1,3-Difluorallen ist chiral, d. h. wie die Bausteine des Lebens existiert es in zwei spiegelbildlichen Formen (Enantiomere). Durch Darstellung eines chiralen Zirkonium-Hydridokomplexes gelang es, diese Reaktion enantioselektiv durchzuführen, sodass erstmals bei einer HDF eines der Enantiomere bevorzugt erhalten wurde.

Da chemisch verwandte Titan-Fluorokomplexe mithilfe geeigneter Reagenzien in Titan-Hydridokomplexe umgewandelt werden können, wurde ein Kreisprozess entwickelt, der nur katalytische Mengen an Titan verwendet. Dieses System erwies sich jedoch als wenig effizient für die HDF von Tetrafluorallen; Reaktivitätsuntersuchungen an anderen Hydridokomplexen legen nahe, dass dies mit der Struktur der Fluorallene und nicht des Katalysators zusammenhängt. Entsprechend konnte gezeigt werden, dass dieser Katalysator hervorragend zur HDF von Fluoralkenen geeignet ist und allen zuvor bekannten Entwicklungen hinsichtlich Effizienz, Geschwindigkeit, Anwendbarkeit und Kosten deutlich überlegen ist. In mechanistischen Untersuchungen wurde dabei ein Titan(III)-Hydridokomplex als aktive Spezies identifiziert, der bei Reaktion mit dem Substrat einen Fluorokomplex bildet. Bei dieser Umsetzung konkurrieren zwei unterschiedliche Reaktionsmechanismen, mit denen sich die beobachtete Produktverteilung gut erklären lässt.

Der Schering Preis 2011 wird im Anschluss an die Bohlmann-Vorlesung, die ebenso von der Schering Stiftung gefördert wird, verliehen.

Schering Preis 2011 und Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2012

2. November 2012
um 16 Uhr

Technische Universität Berlin
Hörsaal C 130 (altes Chemiegebäude)
Straße des 17. Juni 115
10623 Berlin

Moritz F. Kuehnel

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr