Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2012

Dr. med. Stefan Uderhardt

University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Rheumatology and Immunology

"12/15-lipoxygenase orchestrates the clearance of apoptotic cells and maintains immunologic tolerance"

Dr. Stefan Uderhardt is the recipient of the 2012 Avrion Mitchison Prize for Rheumatology for his work, “12/15-lipoxygenase orchestrates the clearance of apoptotic cells and maintains immunologic tolerance.”

Uderhardt, born in 1984, studied medicine at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg from 2004 until 2010. From 2008 until 2011, he worked on his dissertation in the lab of Dr. Gerhard Krönke at the Institute for Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology at the University’s Medical Clinic 3, writing his thesis on the “Molecular Regulation of Bone Remodeling in Inflammatory Arthritis.” Since 2010, he has been a resident physician and research associate at the Medical Clinic 3.

At the award ceremony, Dr. Stefan Uderhardt will present his current research, “12/15-lipoxygenase orchestrates the clearance of apoptotic cells and maintains immunologic tolerance”.

“One major task of the immune system is to efficiently eliminate invading pathogens and to maintain immunological self-tolerance at the same time. However, during inflammation and consequent tissue damage, the innate immune system is challenged with both pathogens and dying cells. Defective clearance of apoptotic cells has emerged as a crucial factor in the development of autoimmune diseases. The ingestion and processing of self-antigens derived from apoptotic cells by inflammatory antigen-presenting cells could provoke an unwanted immune response and could result in a break of self-tolerance leading to autoimmunity. Therefore, there must be mechanisms, especially under inflammatory conditions, which regulate a selective cellular sorting of different antigens into differentially-activated phagocyte compartments.

We have identified the lipid-oxidizing enzyme 12/15-lipoxygenase (12/15-LO) as a crucial factor orchestrating the non-inflammatory clearance of apoptotic cells under inflammatory conditions. During inflammation, the uptake of apoptotic cells was strictly confined to a population of alternatively-activated, 12/15-LO-expressing, resident tissue macrophages. Pathogens like bacteria, on the other hand, were mainly taken up into freshly recruited inflammatory phagocytes. Here, resident macrophages could actively block the uptake of apoptotic cells into inflammatory macrophages in a 12/15-LO-dependend manner. By exposing 12/15-LO-generated oxidation-products of phosphatidylethanolamin (PE) on the surface of their cell membranes, resident macrophages could eliminate distinct soluble receptors for apoptotic cells such as the milk fat globule-EGF factor 8 (MFGE8), which was utilized by inflammatory phagocytes to take up apoptotic cells. Mass-spectrometry data revealed that specific PE oxidation products were absent in resident macrophages from 12/15-LO knockout mice. 12/15-LO-deficiency, in turn, caused an aberrant uptake of apoptotic cells with a clear shift towards inflammatory macrophages and subsequent presentation of AC-derived self-antigen in vitro and in vivo, respectively. Indeed, we could observe a break of self-tolerance and a lupus-like autoimmune disease in aged 12/15-LO-deficient mice. These mice showed a spontaneous production of autoantibodies and development of glomerulonephritis, both hallmarks of autoimmune diseases like human Systemic Lupus Erythematosus. This phenotype even exacerbated after apoptotic challenge in the Pristane-induced model of experimental murine lupus.

Our data point towards a so far unrecognized role for enzymatic lipid oxidation during the maintenance of self-tolerance and uncovered a mechanism by which the selective uptake of antigens of different origins into differentially activated phagocyte subsets is orchestrated in a cell- and context-specific manner.”

Award Ceremony on December 4, 2012, at 5:00 p.m.

The Avrion Mitchison Prize, which is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, is presented in conjunction with the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture at the German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ).

Foyer of the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin
Charité Mitte Campus
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

2012_Uderhardt_grau

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2012

Dr. med. Stefan Uderhardt

Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Rheumatologie und Immunologie

"12/15-lipoxygenase orchestrates the clearance of apoptotic cells and maintains immunologic tolerance"

Dr. Stefan Uderhardt wird mit dem Avrion Mitchison Preis für Rheumatologie 2012 für seine Arbeit „12/15-lipoxygenase orchestrates the clearance of apoptotic cells and maintains immunologic tolerance“ ausgezeichnet.

Uderhardt (Jg. 1984) studierte von 2004 bis 2010 Medizin an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Seit 2008 arbeitete er dort an der Medizinischen Klinik 3, Institut für Rheumatologie und klinische Immunologie, in der Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. Gerhard Krönke im Rahmen seiner medizinischen Doktorarbeit. 2011 promovierte er zum Thema „Molekulare Regulation des Knochenremodeling bei entzündlicher Arthritis“. Seit 2010 ist er Assistenzarzt und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Medizinischen Klinik 3.

Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung spricht Dr. Stefan Uderhardt über seine aktuelle Forschungsarbeit „12/15-lipoxygenase orchestrates the clearance of apoptotic cells and maintains immunologic tolerance“.

„Zu den Hauptaufgaben des Immunsystems gehört neben der effektiven Abwehr von Krankheitserregern die zeitgleiche Wahrung immunologischer Selbsttoleranz gegenüber körpereigenen Antigenen. Im Rahmen von Infektionen und Entzündungsvorgängen wird das Immunsystem sowohl mit dem Auftreten von pathogenen Mikroorganismen als auch mit abgestorbenen, körpereigenen Zellen konfrontiert. Fehlregulationen oder Defekte in der Entsorgung apoptotischer Zellen werden als wichtige Faktoren bei der Entstehung von Autoimmunerkrankungen diskutiert. So birgt die Phagozytose apoptotischer Zellen und Verarbeitung von Autoantigenen durch inflammatorische Antigen-präsentierende Zellen die Gefahr einer ungewollten Immunantwort in sich und könnte zur Entstehung von Autoimmunität führen. Besonders im Rahmen von Entzündungsvorgängen sind daher Mechanismen notwendig, welche bereits die Aufnahme unterschiedlicher Antigene in differenziell-aktivierte phagozytäre Kompartimente selektiv regulieren.

In diesem Zusammenhang konnten wir das lipid-oxidierende Enzym 12/15-Lipoxygenase (12/15-LO) als einen zentralen Faktor in der Regulation der nicht-immunogenen Entsorgung apoptotischer Zellen im Rahmen von Entzündungsvorgängen identifizieren. Die Aufnahme apoptotischer Zellen war hierbei auf eine Untergruppe alternativ-aktivierter, 12/15-LO exprimierender, residenter Gewebemakrophagen konzentriert. Pathogene, wie Baktieren, dagegen wurden vornehmlich durch einwandernde, inflammatorische Makrophagen phagozytiert. Residente Makrophagen konnten hierbei aktiv und spezifisch die Aufnahme apoptotischer Zellen in inflammatorische Phagozyten verhindern. Durch LO-Aktivität oxidierte Produkte des membranständigen Phospholipids Phosphatidylethanolamin (PE) wurden dabei auf der Zellmembran residenter Gewebemakrophagen exponiert. Hierdurch konnten diese bestimmte lösliche Rezeptoren für apoptotische Zellen, wie milk fat globule-EGF factor 8 (MFGE8), welches normalerweise von inflammatorischen Makrophagen zur Phagozytose genutzt wird, aus ihrer näheren Umgebung entfernen und damit die Aufnahme von apoptotischem Material in die inflammatorische Phagozyten selektiv blocken. Mittels Massenspektrometrieanalysen konnten wir zeigen, dass residenten Makrophagen aus 12/15-LO-defizienten Mäusen spezifische PE-Oxidationsprodukte fehlten. Dies führte in Experimenten mit 12/15-LO-defizienten Mäusen zu einer gestörten Aufnahme apoptotischer Zellen mit einer deutlichen Verschiebung zugunsten der inflammatorischen Phagozyten und folglich zu vermehrter Präsentation von Autoantigenen sowohl in vitro als auch in vivo. In der Tat konnten wir einen Verlust immunologischer Selbsttoleranz in 12/15-LO-defizienten Mäusen nachweisen. Spontan produzierten diese Mäuse mit zunehmendem Alter Autoantikörper und entwickelten eine Glomerulonephritis, beides charakteristische Merkmale von Autoimmunerkrankungen wie dem humanen Systemischen Lupus Erythematodes. In einem murinem Lupus-Modell wiesen 12/15-LO-defiziente Mäuse zudem einen deutlich aggravierten Krankheitsverlauf auf.

Die vorliegenden Daten deuten auf eine bislang nicht bedachte Rolle enzymatischer Lipidoxidation in der Aufrechterhaltung immunologischer Selbsttoleranz hin. So konnten wir einen Mechanismus aufzeigen, durch welchen eine selektive, Zell- und Kontext-spezifische Aufnahme von Antigenen unterschiedlicher Herkunft in differenziell-aktivierte Phagozytensubgruppen auf zellulärer Ebene reguliert wird.“

Festveranstaltung am 4. Dezember 2012 um 17 Uhr

Die Verleihung des Avrion-Mitchison-Preises, der von der Schering Stiftung finanziert wird, findet im Rahmen der Albrecht Hasinger Lecture im DRFZ statt.

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

Stefan Uderhardt

Aktuelles

Die Debatte – Die Macht der Meinungsforschung

01.08.2017, Berlin | Das politische Jahr 2017 bewegt sich auf den Höhepunkt zu: Die Bundestagswahlen am...
mehr

Digitaler Salon: Bei Nebenwirkungen fragen Sie Ihren Algorithmus

01.08.2017, Berlin | Werden wir durch personalisierte Tabletten und Nano-Roboter künftig länger und besser leben? Welchen...
mehr

"Women" von Sasha Waltz

19.07.2017, Berlin | Sasha Waltz & Guests werden im Rahmen von „Tanz im August“ am 30....
mehr