Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Infamous Perspectives

25.02.2013, Berlin | In 1999, two parents murdered both their children in a hotel room in Aalst (Belgium). In court, they said: “We only wanted what was best for them.” Both parents were declared criminally liable and sentenced to life imprisonment. Is it possible to put yourself into the shoes of such extreme figures? Can we see things from the perspective of people and figures whose actions we disapprove of? When is it helpful or necessary to take this perspective? When is it helpful or necessary to take this perspective and why do insights into crimes fascinate reader and theatre- and cinemagoers?

Infamous Perspectives

These questions are examined by the !KF – Institute for Artistic Research in its project INFAMOUS PERSPECTIVES, which will start with an experiment in March 2013. On March 4–17, 2013, visitors can conduct a self-experiment: in an installation, they will speak the roles of the parents in court, which are recorded in Aalst, a documentary drama by Pol Heyvaert and Dimitri Verhulst.
The highlight of the project will be the premiere, on October 24, 2013, of a play that documents the process and results of the experiment in the form of a theater production. On October 25–27, 2013, a public symposium will be held with members of occupational groups that need to deal with and figure out infamous perspectives in their professional capacities: lawyers, psychiatrists, criminologists, writers and actors, literary and art historians use their own different strategies to judge, treat, describe, present or simply understand the holders of such perspectives.

Since its establishment, the Ernst Schering Foundation has actively promoted works at the interface of art and science. INFAMOUS PERSPECTIVES is an outstanding example of an interdisciplinary research project conducted by both artists and scientists. In addition, the project provides the theater audience, the test subjects of the experimental video installation as well as the symposium participants with the opportunity to test and analyze the research findings “first-hand.”

Infamous Perspectives – Theater Experiment and Symposium

Part 1: The Experiment
March 4–17, 2013, daily 2–7 p.m.

UFERSTUDIOS
Uferstr. 8/23
13357 Berlin

Tickets: 7 €, discounted tickets: 4 €. Free admission for participants in the experiment.
Participants need to register (2 visitors per hour) at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by phone at +49 (0)163-72 9388 80

per.SPICE!
March 18, 2013, 8 p.m.

First impressions and experiences of the experiment will be discussed with the participants in the forum of artistic research per.SPICE!

SOPHIENSAELE, Cafeteria
Sophienstr. 18
10178 Berlin
Free admission.


Part 2: Play and Symposium
October 24–27, 2013

SOPHIENSAELE
Sophienstr. 18
10178 Berlin
For tickets, call +49 (0)30-283 52 66 or stop by at any of the usual ticket offices. The box office opens two hours prior to the scheduled event.

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation by phone at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit artistic-research.de

A production by !KF – Institut für künstlerische Forschung and a rose is in cooperation with Sophiensæle and kindly supported by Uferstudios. The project is made possible by Hauptstadtkulturfonds, Ernst Schering Foundation and Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

Photo: Don-berlin.com

 

PDF Programme of Infamous Perspectives

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Infame Perspektiven

In einem Hotelzimmer in Aalst (Belgien) ermordete 1999 ein Elternpaar seine beiden Kinder. Vor Gericht sagten sie: „Wir wollten nur das Beste für sie.“ Beide wurden für schuldfähig erklärt und zu lebenslanger Haft verurteilt. Ist es möglich, sich in die Innenwelt solch extremer Figuren hinein zu versetzen? Können wir uns in die Perspektive von Personen und Figuren hineindenken, deren Handeln wir ablehnen? Wann ist diese Perspektivübernahme hilfreich oder geboten und warum faszinieren Einblicke in Verbrechen Leser, Theater- und Kinobesucher?

Infame Perspektiven

Diese Fragen untersucht das !KF Institut für künstlerische Forschung in seinem Projekt INFAME PERSPEKTIVEN, das im März 2013 mit einem Experiment beginnt. Vom 4. bis zum 17. März 2013 können Besucher des Experiments einen Selbstversuch unternehmen: In einer Installation sprechen sie die Rollen der Eltern aus dem Prozess, aufgezeichnet in dem dokumentarischen Drama Aalst von Pol Heyvaert und Dimitri Verhulst.
Höhepunkt des Projekts wird am 24. Oktober 2013 um 20 Uhr die Premiere einer Aufführung sein, die den Verlauf und die Ergebnisse des Experiments als Theaterproduktion dokumentiert und verarbeitet. Vom 25. bis 27. Oktober 2013 findet ein öffentliches Symposium mit Vertretern von Berufsgruppen statt, die sich infame Perspektiven professionell erschließen müssen: Juristen, Psychiater, Kriminologen, Schriftsteller und Schauspieler, Literatur- und Kunstwissenschaftler nutzen jeweils unterschiedliche Strategien, um die Subjekte solcher Perspektiven zu verurteilen, zu therapieren, zu beschreiben, darzustellen oder schlicht zu verstehen.

Das Projekt ist ein herausragendes Beispiel interdisziplinärer Forschung von Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern – eine Schnittstelle, deren Förderung die Schering Stiftung seit ihrer Gründung aktiv unterstützt. Darüber hinaus eröffnet INFAME PERSPEKTIVEN den Theaterbesuchern, den Probanden der experimentellen Videoinstallation sowie den Teilnehmern des Symposiums die Möglichkeit, die Ergebnisse der Forschung „am eigenen Leib“ zu überprüfen und zu hinterfragen.

Infame Perspektiven – Theaterexperiment und Symposium

Teil 1: Das Experiment
04. – 17. März 2013, täglich 14 bis 19 Uhr

UFERSTUDIOS
Uferstr. 8/23
13357 Berlin

Karten: 7 €, ermäßigt 4 € - für Teilnehmer am Experiment Eintritt frei
Teilnahme nur nach Anmeldung (2 Besucher pro Stunde): Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. oder 0163-72 9388 80

per.SPICE!
18. März 2013, 20 Uhr

Erfahrungen und Berichte aus dem Experiment werden im Forum künstlerischer Forschung perSPICE! vorgestellt und mit Teilnehmern des Experiments diskutiert.

SOPHIENSAELE, Kantine
Sophienstr. 18
10178 Berlin
Eintritt frei


Teil 2: Aufführung und Symposium

24. bis 27. Oktober 2013

SOPHIENSAELE
Sophienstr. 18
10178 Berlin

Kartenreservierung unter 030-283 52 66 und an allen bekannten Vorverkaufsstellen, Abendkasse zwei Stunden vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: artistic-research.de

 

Eine Produktion von !KF – Institut für künstlerische Forschung und a rose is in Zusammenarbeit
mit den Sophiensælen mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Uferstudios. Gefördert aus Mitteln des
Hauptstadtkulturfonds, der Schering Stiftung und der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.


Foto: Don-berlin.com

 

 

Programm Infame Perspektiven als pdf

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr