Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

La Figure de la Terre

28.03.2013, Berlin | On April 13, 2013, at 8 pm, the play La Figure de la Terre will premiere at the Sophiensaele in Berlin. The contemporary music theater piece deals with two journeys into foreign lands and the challenges to survive in a hostile environment. In 1736/37, the French mathematician Pierre Louis de Maupertuis traveled to Lapland to find out whether the earth flattens out at the poles or at the equator. There, he meets, and is smitten by, Christine Planström. Upon the successful conclusion of his expedition, she accompanies him back to Paris, where he becomes the toast of the salons, while she is confronted with, and struggles with, the norms and codes of the upper echelons of society.

figure de la terre

With the premiere of this contemporary music theater piece, Miika Hyytiäinen (composer) and his fellow Finn Jaakko Nousiainen (librettist and director), who have already collaborated several times in Helsinki, including at the Finnish National Opera, make their Berlin debut at the Sophiensaele.
The ensemble consists of soprano and tenor, cembalo and violin, viola and cello. Hyytiäinen borrows from baroque music as well as traditional Lappish music. Moreover, he also uses digitally created noises, sounds, and echoes that interact with the musicians. The premiere will be accompanied by a video performance by video artist Mia Mäkelä, in which images, that are linked to the sopranist’s performance, are generated in real time. They change form. Take shape. Lose shape.

In the field of new music, the Ernst Schering Foundation concentrates on supporting and promoting young composers and innovative forms of music theater such as La Figure de la Terre. The piece, which incidentally also tells an episode from the history of science and examines issues of otherness and subordination within modernity, promises an interesting evening at the theater.

La Figure de la Terre

Premiere: April 13, 2013, 8:00 p.m.

SOPHIENSÆLE Berlin
Sophienstrasse 18
10178 Berlin
For tickets, call +49 (0)30 2 83 52 66.

Additional Performances
April 14, 2013
April 18, 2013
April 19, 2013
April 20, 2013
at 8:00 p.m.

Director and Librettist: Jaakko Nousiainen
Composer: Miika Hyytiäinen
Stage Set/Video Performance: Mia Mäkelä
Musical Director/Cembalo: Daniel Trumbull
Costumes: Lisa Kentner
Dramaturgy: Dag Lohde, Susanna Heise
Estelle Lefort (Christine), Mathias M. Møller (Maupertuis), Anna Fusek (violin), Raphaëlle Pacault (viola), Tabea Schrenk (cello)
Produced by Dag Lohde and René Dombrowski.

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit www.sophiensaele.com.

Photo: axellambrette.de

 

figure de la terre

 

 

figure de la terre

 

 

figure de la terre

 

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

La Figure de la Terre

28.03.2013, Berlin | Am 13. April 2013 um 20 Uhr feiert das Stück La Figure de la Terre in den Sophiensaelen seine Uraufführung. Das zeitgenössische Musiktheaterstück handelt von zwei Reisen in die Fremde und den Anforderungen, die eine feindliche Umwelt an das Überleben stellt. Der französische Mathematiker Pierre Louis de Maupertuis reist 1736/37 nach Lappland, um die Frage zu klären, ob die Erde an den Polen oder am Äquator abgeflacht ist. Dort angelangt, begegnet ihm Christine Planström, er ist hingerissen von ihr. Nachdem er seine Untersuchungen erfolgreich abgeschlossen hat, begleitet sie ihn nach Paris. Hier avanciert er zum Star der Salons, während sie sich mit den Normen und Codes der höheren Gesellschaft konfrontiert sieht und mit ihnen ringt.

figure de la terre

Mit der Uraufführung dieses zeitgenössische Musiktheaterstücks geben die beiden Finnen Miika Hyytiäinen (Komposition) und Jaakko Nousiainen (Libretto, Regie), die bereits mehrfach in Helsinki, unter anderem für die finnische Nationaloper, zusammengearbeitet haben, in den Sophiensaelen ihr Berlin-Debüt.
Das Ensemble besteht aus Sopran und Tenor, Cembalo sowie Violine, Bratsche und Cello. Hyytiäinen arbeitet mit musikalischen Zitaten des Barock und Musiklinien traditioneller lappländischer Musik. Darüber hinaus nutzt er Geräusche, Klänge, Echos, die digital erstellt sind und mit den Musikern interagieren. Die Uraufführung wird begleitet von einer Videoperformance der Videokünstlerin Mia Mäkelä. Dabei werden Bilder, die an den Gesang der Sopranistin gekoppelt sind, in Echtzeit generiert. Sie verformen sich. Nehmen Gestalt an. Verlieren sie.

Die Schering Stiftung hat sich im Bereich der Neuen Musik auf die Förderung junger Komponisten sowie innovativer Formen des Musiktheaters wie La Figure de la Terre fokussiert. Dass nebenbei auch noch ein Stück Wissenschaftsgeschichte erzählt wird und gesellschaftliche Fragen nach Fremdheit und Subordination innerhalb der Moderne aufgeworfen werden, verspricht einen interessanten Theaterabend.

La Figure de la Terre

Uraufführung: 13.04.2013, 20 Uhr

SOPHIENSÆLE Berlin
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin
Kartentelefon: 030.2 83 52 66

Weitere Aufführungen
14.04.2013
18.04.2013
19.04.2013
20.04.2013
jeweils um 20 Uhr

Regie, Libretto: Jaakko Nousiainen
Komposition: Miika Hyytiäinen
Bühnenbild/Videoperformance: Mia Mäkelä
Musikalische Leitung/Cembalo: Daniel Trumbull
Kostüm: Lisa Kentner
Dramaturgie: Dag Lohde, Susanna Heise
Estelle Lefort (Christine), Mathias M. Møller (Maupertuis), Anna Fusek (Violine), Raphaëlle Pacault (Bratsche),
Tabea Schrenk (Cello)
Eine Produktion von Dag Lohde und René Dombrowski.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: www.sophiensaele.com


Foto: Axel Lambrette

figure de la terre

 

 

figure de la terre

 

 

figure de la terre

 

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr