SS_PP_190x190px2

 

Turning Towards Leaving

25.04.2013, Berlin | “There was a moment when I said to myself: ‘Okay, it won’t be very long now before I die, and now I will face up to this situation.’ I turned, as it were, in a different direction, towards leaving. This is surprisingly very liberating.” This quotation by the Viennese writer Ilse Helbich forms the starting-point of the music theater TURNING TOWARDS LEAVING. The choir project sees itself as a tale, told with musical means, from the unknown country of aging, based on texts by Ilse Helbich and musical memories of older people.

Choir of the Old

A sixty-strong Choir of the Old will be at the center of the music theater production, which is developed by Union Universal together with the Kaleidoskop soloists’ ensemble, composer Manuela Kerer, and six performers.
The starting point of the scenic composition are musical pieces linked to biographical snapshots from the lives of elderly people: lullabies, dance tunes, children’s songs, folk songs, sounds, radio songs or melodies – because the memories that are stored deepest when people start to forget are those rooted in music. As one’s cognitive abilities fade, the memory of the actual events that have triggered feelings disappears, but the memory of the feeling itself remains stored in the music.

The stories and musical memories that form the material for TURNING TOWARDS LEAVING can be listened to online via the MACHINA RECORDATIO, a memory machine and voice archive. Starting in April 2013, the MACHINA RECORDATIO will also be present as an urban space installation in Hamburg and later in Berlin and Dresden.
In our accelerated society, old people not only risk the loss of their own memories, they also lose their social ties, because they are rarely integrated into extended families or cross-generational ways of living. Frequently living with others like them in nursing care homes, where they receive professional care, they are not encouraged to raise their voice and have nobody to whom they can pass on their experiences. An ever-growing number of older people is thus increasingly falling silent, although it would be very interesting to listen to them. TURNING TOWARDS LEAVING makes the voices of elderly people audible and the older people themselves visible, both as individuals and as members of a social group. They become experts of a musical tale from the foreign country of aging.
The project thus succeeds in broadening disciplinary horizons and provides creative inspiration for society – aims that have been supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation since its inception.

Turning Towards Leaving

TURNING TOWARDS LEAVING will be performed in Hamburg, Berlin, and Dresden with a changing, locally staffed choir of elderly people. Tickets are available via the websites listed below and through the ticket offices of the various venues.

HAMBURG
Thu, May 16, 2013 Kampnagel Hamburg, K6 // Premiere
Fri, May 17, 2013 Kampnagel Hamburg, K6
Sat, May 18, 2013 Kampnagel Hamburg, K6
More information at www.kampnagel.de

BERLIN
Fri, June 28, 2013 Radialsystem V, Berlin // Premiere
Sat, June 29, 2013 Radialsystem V, Berlin
Sun, June 30, 2013 Radialsystem V, Berlin
For more information, visit www.radialsystem.de

DRESDEN
September 27, 2013 HELLERAU – European Center for the Arts Dresden // Premiere
September 28, 2013 HELLERAU – European Center for the Arts Dresden
More information at www.hellerau.org

For additional information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation by phone at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit the website www.dem-weggehen-zugewandt.de

News

Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive

15.01.2018, Berlin | From February 16 through May 27, 2018, the National Museums in Berlin will...
more

Stellenausschreibung: Teamassistenz

05.01.2018, Berlin | Zur Erweiterung unseres Teams suchen wir zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt eine Teamassistenz (m/w), Teilzeit...
more

Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth Theater

02.01.2018, Berlin | An expert conference titled “Who Is Talking? Research Orientation in Children’s and Youth...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Dem Weggehen Zugewandt

„Es hat einen Moment gegeben, in dem ich mir gesagt habe: ‚Okay, ich werde in sehr absehbarer Zeit sterben, und ich gehe jetzt diesem Zustand entgegen.’ Ich habe mich sozusagen in eine andere Richtung, zum Weggehen, gewandt. Das ist erstaunlicherweise sehr befreiend.“ Dieses Zitat der Wiener Schriftstellerin Ilse Helbich bildet den Ausgangspunkt der Musiktheaterinszenierung DEM WEGGEHEN ZUGEWANDT. Das Chorprojekt versteht sich als eine Erzählung aus dem unbekannten Land des Alters mit den Mitteln der Musik, basierend auf Texten von Ilse Helbich und musikalischen Erinnerungen älterer Menschen.

Chor der Alten

Ausgangspunkt der szenisch-kompositorischen Arbeit sind Musikstücke, die mit biographischen Momentaufnahmen alter Menschen verknüpft sind: Wiegenlieder, Tanzlieder, Kinderlieder, Volkslieder, Geräusche, Radiosongs oder Melodien. Denn die tiefsten gespeicherten Erinnerungen, die Menschen bleiben, wenn sie beginnen zu vergessen, liegen in der Musik. Wenn die kognitiven Fähigkeiten nachlassen, verschwindet die Erinnerung an die tatsächlichen Vorgänge, die Gefühle ausgelöst haben, doch die Erinnerung an das Gefühl selbst bleibt in der Musik gespeichert.

Die Geschichten und musikalischen Erinnerungen, die das Material für DEM WEGGEHEN ZUGEWANDT bilden, sind in der MACHINA RECORDATIO, einer Erinnerungsmaschine und einem Stimmenarchiv, online anhörbar. Ab April 2013 wird die MACHINA RECORDATIO außerdem als Installation im Stadtraum von Hamburg und später auch in Berlin und Dresden stehen.
Alten Menschen droht in der beschleunigten Gesellschaft nicht nur die eigene Erinnerung zu entschwinden, sie verlieren mangels Einbindung in Großfamilien oder generationenübergreifenden Lebensformen auch den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhang. Häufig unter ihresgleichen in Pflegeheimen professionell betreut, fehlen die Ermutigung die Stimme zu erheben und der Ansprechpartner, um Erfahrungen weiterzugeben. Eine größer werdende Gruppe von alten Menschen verstummt somit zunehmend, obwohl ihnen zuzuhören sehr interessant sein könnte. DEM WEGGEHEN ZUGEWANDT macht Stimmen alternder Menschen hörbar und sie selbst sichtbar, sowohl als Individuen als auch als gesellschaftliche Gruppe. Sie werden zu Experten einer musikalischen Erzählung aus dem fremden Land des Alters.
Damit gelingt es dem Projekt, den Blick über die Grenzen der eigenen Disziplin hinaus zu erweitern und kreative Impulse für die Gesellschaft zu geben – Ziele, die die Schering Stiftung seit ihrer Gründung intensiv unterstützt.

Dem Weggehen Zugewandt

DEM WEGGEHEN ZUGEWANDT ist in Hamburg, Berlin und Dresden mit einem je neuen, lokal besetzten Chor der Alten zu sehen. Tickets sind erhältlich über die Webseiten und Vorverkaufsstellen der jeweiligen Spielorte.

HAMBURG
DO 16.05.2013 Kampnagel Hamburg, K6 // Premiere
FR 17.05.2013 Kampnagel Hamburg, K6
SA 18.05.2013 Kampnagel Hamburg, K6
Kampnagel

BERLIN
FR 28.06.2013 Radialsystem V, Berlin // Premiere
SA 29.06.2013 Radialsystem V, Berlin
SO 30.06.2013 Radialsystem V, Berlin
Radialsystem V

DRESDEN
27.09.2013 HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden // Premiere
28.09.2013 HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden 
Hellerau

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter
www.dem-weggehen-zugewandt.de

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr