Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Symposium “Art and Neuroscience in Dialogue”

29.05.2013, Berlin, Venice | On the occasion of the Biennale di Venizia the Association of Neuroesthetics, Berlin (AoN) organizes on May 31, 2013 at Peggy Guggenheim Library in Venice a symposium on the theme “Embodied cognition, body perception and intersubjectivity. An interdisciplinary dialogue addressing Tino Sehgal’s work“. The symposium is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation as it promotes the dialogue between science and the arts at a fundamental level.

Over the past decade, neuroscience has become an active member in a dialogue that was previously reserved for the humanities and the arts. Topics such as the relationship between the mind and the body, empathy and social behaviour, and concepts of consciousness now constitute growing areas of neuroscientific inquiry and interdisciplinary dialogue.

To extend the discussion to the domain of contemporary art, this symposium will focus on the work of Tino Sehgal. In his artistic practise, exemplified in his recent piece “This Variation”, Sehgal broaches questions of body perception and embodied cognition. In keeping with the AoN’s mission of creating a forum for discussion of current neuroscientific research alongside contemporary artistic practise, Sehgal’s work provides a timely point of convergence.

Sehgal’s pieces are choreographic installations, whose materials are the human voice, movement, and interaction. They are regularly staged in museums or galleries, and continuously executed by trained individual — Sehgal refers to them as “interpreters” — for the entire duration of a show. The artworks arise from the constructed situations between the audience and the interpreters of the pieces: the reaction or even participation of the spectator gives the possibility for the work to actually happen. No documentation or reproduction is allowed, and they continue to exist only in the memory of those who experience them.

Speakers

Olaf Blanke
Founding director of the Center for Neuroprosthetics, Bertarelli Foundation Chair in Cognitive Neuroprosthetics at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne and Professor of Neurology at the University Hospital of Geneva, Switzerland

Bernard Blistène
Director of the department of cultural development at Centre Pompidou, Paris, France

Alain Dagher
Neurologist at the Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

Jörg Fingerhut
Humboldt-University of Berlin / University of Stuttgart, Germany

Vittorio Gallese
Professor of Human Physiology at the University of Parma, Italy

Noah Hutton
Graduate of Wesleyan University (art history and neuroscience) and founder of the website “The Beautiful Brain”, USA

Caroline A. Jones
Director of the History, Theory, and Criticism Section of the Department of Architecture at MIT, Cambridge; USA

Christine Macel
Founding member of the AoN and Chief Curator of the Musée national d’art moderne – Centre Pompidou, Paris, France

Alva Noë
Writer and a philosopher, Berkeley and New York, USA

Daria Parkhomenko
Director of LABORATORIA Art&Science Space in Moscow; Russia

Andrea Pinotti
Teacher of Aesthetics at the University of Milan, Italy

Sigrid Weigel
Director of the “Centre for Literary and Cultural Research” in Berlin, Germany


For further information on the event and the speakers, please click here .

The symposium is a closed event. It is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, Allianz Kulturstiftung and ERES Stiftung.

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Symposium “Kunst und Neurowissenschaft im Dialog"

Aus Anlass der Eröffnung der 55. Biennale in Venedig iniziiert die Association of Neuroesthetics, Berlin (AoN) am 31. Mai 2013 ein interdisziplinäres Symposium zwischen Kunst und Neurowissenschaften in der Peggy Guggenheim Collection unter dem Titel „Körperwahrnehmung, körperliche Kognition und Intersubjektivität". Im Zentrum des Symposiums steht das Werk des Künstlers Tino Sehgal. In Kooperation mit der AoN zeigt Sehgal am 30. Mai 2013 seine Arbeit „This Variation“ im Palazzetto Pisani in Venedig. Das Symposium wird von der Schering Stiftung unterstützt, da es den grundlegenden Dialog von Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern fördert.

Im Laufe des letzten Jahrzehnts wurde die Neurowissenschaft zu einem wichtigen Protagonisten in einem Dialog, welcher bisher eher von Vertretern der Geisteswissenschaften und der Künste geführt wurde. Themen wie die Beziehung zwischen Geist und Körper, Empathie und sozialem Verhalten sowie dem Bewusstsein bilden nun die Basis für neue neurowissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und dem daraus entstehenden interdisziplinären Dialog.

Das AoN-Symposium fokussiert sich auf das Werk von Tino Sehgal und weitet dadurch den interdisziplinären Dialog auf die zeitgenössische Kunst aus. In seiner künstlerischen Arbeit thematisiert Sehgal die Fragen der Körperwahrnehmung und der körperlichen Kognition, welche sich exemplarisch in seinem Werk „This Variation“ zeigen.

Charakteristisch sind choreografische Installationen deren Materialien die menschliche Stimme, Bewegung und Interaktion sind. Die Kunstwerke entstehen aus konstruierten Situationen zwischen dem Publikum und den Interpreten: Erst die Reaktion oder auch die Teilnahme des Betrachters ermöglichen erst die Entstehung der tatsächlichen Arbeiten. Deren Dokumentation oder Vervielfältigung ist nicht erlaubt und sie bestehen nur in der Erinnerung derer, die sie erlebt haben.

Im Rahmen des interdisziplinären Symposiums richten die eingeladenen Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen Kunst und Neurowissenschaften in ihren Vorträgen ihren Blick auf die Arbeit von Tino Sehgal und diskutieren die unterschiedlichen Erkenntnisse.

Sprecher

Olaf Blanke
Gründungsdirektor Center for Neuroprosthetics, Bertarelli Foundation - Vorsitzender der Kognitiven Neuroprothetik an der Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale in Lausanne und Professor für Neurologie am Universitätsklinikum Genf, Schweiz

Bernard Blistène
Direktor des Departments für Kulturelle Entwicklung am Centre Pompidou, Paris, Frankreich

Alain Dagher
Neurologe am Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill Universität, Montreal, Kanada

Jörg Fingerhut
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin / Universität Stuttgart, Deutschland

Vittorio Gallese
Professor für Humanphysiologie an der Universität Parma, Italien

Noah Hutton
Absolvent der Wesleyan Universität (Kunstgeschichte und Neurowissenschaft) und Gründer der Website “The Beautiful Brain”, USA

Caroline A. Jones
Direktorin der Sektion ‘Geschichte, Theorie und Kritik‘ am Department für Architektur am MIT, Cambridge; USA

Christine Macel
Gründungsmitglied der AoN und Chefkuratorin am Musée national d’art moderne – Centre Pompidou, Paris, Frankreich

Alva Noë
Schriftsteller und Philosoph, Berkeley und New York, USA

Daria Parkhomenko
Direktorin LABORATORIA Art&Science Space in Moskau, Russland

Andrea Pinotti
Lehrer im Fach Ästethik an der Universität von Milan, Italien

Sigrid Weigel
Direktorin des Zentrums für Literatur- und Kulturforschung Berlin, Deutschland


Weitere Informationen zur Veranstaltung und zu den Sprechern finden Sie hier.

Das Symposium ist eine geschlossene Veranstaltung. Es wird gefördert von der Schering Stiftung, der Allianz Kulturstiftung und der ERES Stiftung.

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr