Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Synaesthesia

25.06.2013, Berlin | What do numbers smell like? Do sounds have taste or colour? The term "synaesthesia", from the Greek "aisthesis" ("Sensation", "sensory impression") and "syn" ("together") means the experience of two or more sensory impressions at the same time As a theoretical addition to its on-going exhibition series SYNAESTHESIA (October 2012 - July 2013), Art Laboratory Berlin will hold an international conference on July 5 and 6, 2013 to further explore and theoretically question the field of multisensory perception.

Currently there is a strikingly strong interest in the coupling of the senses in science, humanities and in contemporary art. This should come as no surprise: Our daily life in recent years has been subject to ever more multimedia and multisensory experiences. Comparing the latest technologies in the field of communication we come upon the radical development during the last 25 years: music video (text, music, colour), computer (as "total" sensory object) and also newest multiple forms of mobile phones.
It is the aim of Art Laboratory Berlin to grasp the specific impulses of our current complex, synchronous and technologised society on the phenomenon of synaesthesia, with its distinctive form of sensory fluctuation. For the upcoming conference, Art Laboratory is interested in discussing issues from diverse scholarly fields - humanities, arts as well as natural and social sciences - regarding both historical positions and contemporary inquiries. The conference will reflect topics such as: synaesthesia and the neurological discourse (memory and cognition); synaesthesia - between perception and subjectivity; synaesthesia and language; synaesthetic modalities (grapheme synaesthesia; synaesthesia of smell, taste, touch, sound and vision); synaesthesia in art and cultural history (in visual art, literature and film); synaesthesia and the digital world (synaesthesia in the 21st century).


Synaesthesia.
Discussing a Phenomenon in the Arts, Humanities and (Neuro-)Science

 

5 and 6 July, 2013
10 am – 7 pm

Conference Programme as pdf

Theater Glaskasten
Pinzenallee 34
133359 Berlin


The Synaesthesia-Conference is open to the public and free of charge - donations are very welcome.


Conference Concept: Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz, Art Laboratory Berlin
Realisation of Conference: The Art Laboratory Berlin Team: Regine Rapp, Christian de Lutz, Olga
Shmakova, Chiara Cartuccia, Chiara Massari, Anastasia Shavlokhova, Ashley Chang


For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at 030-20 62 29 60 or visit artlaboratory-berlin.org

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Synaesthesia

Wie riechen Zahlen? Haben Töne einen Geschmack oder eine Farbe? Der Begriff „Synästhesie“, von griech. aisthesis „Sinneswahrnehmung" und syn „zusammen“, bedeutet das gleichzeitige Vorhandensein von zwei oder mehr Sinneswahrnehmungen. Als theoretisches Begleitprogramm zur aktuellen Ausstellung SYNAESTHESIA (Oktober 2012 – Juli 2013) veranstaltet das Art Laboratory Berlin am 5. und 6. Juli 2013 eine internationale Konferenz, um sich vertiefter und aus theoretischer Perspektive mit dem Bereich der multisensorischen Wahrnehmung auseinanderzusetzen.

Derzeit besteht in den Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften sowie in der zeitgenössischen Kunst ein auffallend großes Interesse an Sinneskoppelungen. Das ist wenig überraschend: In den letzten Jahren ist unser Alltag immer mehr von multimedialen und multisensorischen Erfahrungen geprägt. Ein Blick auf die Kommunikationstechnologien zeigt ihre radikale Entwicklung in den vergangenen 25 Jahren: Musikvideos (Text, Musik, Farbe), Computer (als Objekt für alle Sinne) und die neuesten Smartphones
Das Art Laboratory Berlin möchte erkunden, welche spezifischen Impulse von unserer komplexen, synchronen und technologisierten Gesellschaft für die Synästhesie mit ihrer eigenen Form der Sinnesfluktuation ausgehen. Auf der Konferenz sollen Themen aus unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen – Geisteswissenschaften, Kunst, Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften – sowohl historisch als auch mit Blick auf aktuelle Bezüge diskutiert werden. Die Konferenz beschäftigt sich mit Themenbereichen wie: Synästhesie und neurologischer Diskurs (Erinnerung und Kognition); Synästhesie – zwischen Wahrnehmung und Subjektivität; Synästhesie und Sprache; Formen der Synästhesie (graphemische Synästhesie; Synästhesie von Riechen, Schmecken, Tasten, Hören, Sehen); Synästhesie in Kunst und Kulturgeschichte (in bildender Kunst, Literatur und Film); Synästhesie und die digitale Welt (Synästhesie im 21. Jahrhundert).


Synaesthesia.
Discussing a Phenomenon in the Arts, Humanities and (Neuro-)Science


5. und 6 Juli 2013
10:00–19:00 Uhr

Konferenzprogramm als pdf

 

Theater Glaskasten
Pinzenallee 34
133359 Berlin


Die Synaesthesia-Konferenz ist öffentlich, die Teilnahme kostenfrei. Spenden sind willkommen.


Konferenzkonzept: Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz, Art Laboratory Berlin
Realisierung: Das Team des Art Laboratory Berlin: Regine Rapp, Christian de Lutz, Olga
Shmakova, Chiara Cartuccia, Chiara Massari, Anastasia Shavlokhova, Ashley Chang


Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter artlaboratory-berlin.org

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr