Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

New Museum for Bees

18.07.2013, Berlin | On August 22, 2013, the New Museum for Bees, a project of the artists’ group finger, will open in Budapest. “For Bees” is meant to be taken literally: all exhibition rooms of the museum are designed to be visited and used by bees. But since the observation of this unique stream of visitors is of interest to humans, too, the museum is open to all.

New Museum for Bees

Besides making it possible to observe the busy insects, the museum also provides an overview of the long tradition of seeing bees as role models for society-building processes. Bee colonies have been used as models for monarchist, nationalist or democratic societies. By examining these models, the artists’ group finger wants to reflect on the image that our globalized society has of itself. In addition, it wants to develop the institution of the museum into a site of current artistic practice.

The museum in Budapest will be established and maintained by the Budapest-based Mixed Bee Group. This group brings together people in difficult life situations (e.g. drug addicts or long-term unemployed people); it is also open to everybody who wants to learn the basics of bee keeping. Being together in a group and not least producing honey opens up new perspectives for some of the participants.

Beekeeping has a long tradition in Hungary. Urban bee-keeping, however, is relatively little known despite the growing popularity of urban gardening. In recent years, urban gardening has often been supported by socially engaged initiatives. Like many other autonomous cultural projects, these initiatives are increasingly under pressure from a government that aims to concentrate power and establish national institutions. The work of the artists’ group finger thus can also be seen as a critical commentary on the polemical transformation of the institutional system in Hungary.

The New Museum for Bees is one of the winning projects of the 2013 “Culture in Dialogue” competition, which was co-organized for the sixth time by the Ernst Schering Foundation and MitOst e.V. The competition supports cultural projects that promote the long-term relations between neighboring countries and the border regions in Eastern, Central, and Southeastern Europe. What especially impressed the jury about the project of the artists’ group finger was its participatory approach and its specific political relevance.

 

New Museum for Bees


Opening: August 22, 2013 at 6 pm
The opening weekend features a diverse program of artist talks, lectures, concerts, and film evenings.

 

Duration: August 26 – September 30, 2013
Opening Hours: Thursdays through Sundays 2 – 6 pm
Members of the Mixed Bee Group offer two guided tours a week.
Detailled programme: http://kozossegimez.tumblr.com/

Closing Event: September 29–30, 2013

 

KUNSTHALLE - back terrasse

1146 Budapest, Dózsa György út 37.

 

Blog
Facebook

 

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation by phone at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit the website at http://www.fingerweb.org/html/bienen.html

 

Photo: © finger

 

 

 

New Museum for Bees

 

 

 

New Museum for Bees

 

 

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Neues Museum für Bienen

Am 22.08.2013 eröffnet in Budapest das Neue Museum für Bienen, ein Projekt der Künstlergruppe finger. “Für Bienen” wird dabei wörtlich genommen – sämtliche Ausstellungsräume des Museums sind für den Besuch und die Nutzung durch Bienen ausgelegt. Aber auch für Menschen ist die Beobachtung der eigenartigen Publikumsströme interessant, so dass das Museum seine Türen für alle öffnet.

Neues Museum für Bienen

Neben der Beobachtung der fleißigen Insekten, schafft das Museum einen Überblick über die lange Tradition von Bienen als Vorbild für gesellschaftsgestaltende Prozesse. Bienenstaaten wurden schon als Modell für monarchistische, nationalistische oder demokratische Gesellschaftsgestaltung herangezogen. Diese Modelle will die Künstlergruppe untersuchen, um an ihnen das Selbstverständnis unserer globalisierten Gesellschaft zu reflektieren. Der Künstlergruppe finger will darüber hinaus die Institution Museum zu einem Ort aktueller künstlerischer Praxis weiterentwickeln.

Das Museum in Budapest wird von der Budapester Gemischten Bienengruppe aufgebaut und gepflegt. In dieser Gruppe versammeln sich zum einen Menschen in schwierigen Lebenssituationen (z.B. Drogenabhängige oder Langzeitarbeitslose), zum anderen steht sie für alle offen, die die Grundzüge der Imkerei lernen möchten. Das Zusammensein in der Gruppe und nicht zuletzt die Honigproduktion ergeben für manche Beteiligten neue Perspektiven.
Die Imkerei hat in Ungarn eine lange Tradition. Stadtimkerei ist jedoch trotz der wachsenden Beliebtheit von städtischen Gemeinschaftsgärten wenig bekannt. In den letzten Jahren wurde das urban gardening oft von gesellschaftlich engagierten Initiativen unterstützt. Diese geraten wie viele andere autonome kulturelle Projekte immer stärker unter den Druck der Regierung, die auf Machtkonzentration und die Gründung von Nationalinstitutionen hinarbeitet. Die Arbeit der Künstlergruppe finger kann deshalb auch als kritischer Kommentar verstanden werden, der sich auf die polemische Umwandlung des institutionellen Systems in Ungarn bezieht.

Das Neue Museum für Bienen ist eines der beiden Gewinnerprojekte des Wettbewerbs „Kultur im Dialog“, der im Jahr 2013 zum 6. Mal gemeinsam von der Schering Stiftung und MitOst e.V. ausgelobt wurde. Mit dem Wettbewerb werden Kulturprojekte unterstützt, die die nachhaltigen Beziehungen zwischen Nachbarländern oder in Grenzregionen Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropas fördern. Das Projekt der Künstlergruppe finger überzeugte die Jury insbesondere durch den partizipatorischen Ansatz und wegen seiner besonderen politischen Relevanz.

 


Neues Museum für Bienen


Eröffnung: 22.08.2013, 18 Uhr
Am Eröffnungswochenende findet ein buntes Programm aus Künstlergesprächen, Vorträgen, Konzerten und Filmabenden statt.

 

Laufzeit: 26.08. bis 30.09.2013

Öffnungszeiten: Donnerstag bis Sonntag, 14 - 18 Uhr
Es finden 2 Führungen pro Woche mit den Mitgliedern der Gemischten Bienengruppe statt.

Detailliertes Programm

 

Finissage: 29. bis 30.09.2013

 

KUNSTHALLE - hintere Terasse
1146 Budapest, Dózsa György út 37.

 

Blog

Facebook

 

Foto: © Künstlergruppe Finger

 

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter fingerweb.de

 

 

Neues Museum für Bienen

 

 

 

 

Neues Museum für Bienen

Aktuelles

Nachwachsende Gliedmaßen und Nervenschädigungen im Visier

05.09.2017, Berlin | Am 25. September 2017, um 18:30 Uhr, verleiht die Schering Stiftung in der...
mehr

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

04.09.2017, Berlin | Vom 29. September bis 1. Oktober 2017 findet zum sechsten Mal die Konferenz...
mehr

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin...
mehr