Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

4cm²

16.9.2013, Berlin | On September 27, 2013, at 7:00 p.m., the exhibition 4cm² will open at the Lecture Hall Ruin of the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité. In her watercolors, the Kassel-based artist Linda-Josephine Knop deals with colored organ dissections that are fixed under a microscope between a glass slide and cover slip. Covering a space of just four square centimeters, the colored objects form strange patterns whose anatomical and pathological structures are only recognizable to the trained eye of the scientist. When seen from an artistic perspective, a cosmos of colors and forms opens up, which will be on display in the exhibition until January 12, 2014.

Linda Josephine Knop_watercolor

Microscopic samples are important medical and scientific objects. The samples first have to be prepared in several steps: cutting, fixing, coloring, drying. Viewing the four-square-centimeter artefacts that are thus created is both seductive and disconcerting: intensive colors, peculiar formations, uneven, smooth, monotonous, and sharp things are taking shape.
Presenting microscopic samples in the context of an exhibition is tricky; to interpret them correctly, it takes prior knowledge. If they are exhibited under a microscope—like in the lab—, they frequently disappear under the equipment. Moreover, seeing structures and connections under the microscope does not provide any immediate insight to non-scientists. Showing the samples directly cannot convey what there is to see, because laypersons do not know what they should, or could, see.

Linda-J. Knop views histological objects without a microscope and creates large watercolors of what she sees but does not understand. In her paintings, the samples become images that depart from their origins and take on an aesthetic and intellectual life of their own. The artistic engagement with these histological samples, which Knop takes from the collection of the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité, moreover leads her to the tools and aids of scientific practice. The slides and the specimen box are the contexts framing the samples, into which she inserts philosophical terms, thus building a bridge between seeing and knowing. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the exhibition, which will not only provide visitors with new insights and knowledge but also help them experience the beauty of these objects.

4cm²
Intervention by Linda-J. Knop in the Specimen Hall of the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité

Opening: September 27, 2013, 7:00 p.m.
Lecture Hall Ruin
Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité
Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin
Duration: September 28, 2013 – January 12, 2014

For further information, please contact the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité.

Photos: Linda-Josephine Knop

Linda Josephine Knop_watercolor

Linda Josephine Knop_watercolor

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

4cm²

Am 27.09.2013 um 19 Uhr eröffnet in der Hörsaalruine des Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museums der Charité die Ausstellung 4cm². Die Kasseler Künstlerin Linda-Josephine Knop setzt sich in ihren Aquarellen mit gefärbten Organschnitten auseinander, die für die Betrachtung unter dem Mikroskop zwischen einem Objektträger und einem Deckblättchen aus Glas fixiert werden. Auf vier Quadratzentimeter bilden die eingefärbten Objekte sonderbare Muster, in denen nur das geschulte Auge des Wissenschaftlers anatomische und pathologische Strukturen erkennt. Aus künstlerischer Sicht eröffnet sich ein Kosmos aus Farben und Formen, der nun in der Ausstellung bis zum 12. Januar 2014 zu sehen ist.

Linda Josephine Knop_Aquarell

Mikroskopische Präparate sind wichtige Objekte der Medizin und Naturwissenschaft. Die Beobachtungsgegenstände müssen zunächst in mehreren Schritten hergestellt werden: Schneiden, Fixieren, Färben, Trocknen. Die Betrachtung der so gefertigten, weniger als vier Quadratzentimeter großen Artefakte mit dem bloßen Auge ist verführerisch und befremdlich: Intensive Farben, absonderliche Formationen, wellige, glatte, eintönige und scharfe Dinge bilden sich ab.

Schwierig ist die museale Präsentation von mikroskopischen Präparaten; Sie richtig zu deuten, erfordert Vorwissen. Werden sie – wie im Labor – unter einem Mikroskop zugänglich gemacht, verschwinden sie häufig unter der Apparatur. Das Erkennen von Strukturen und Beziehungen unter dem Mikroskop bringt Laien zudem keine unmittelbare Erkenntnis. Auch ein direktes Zeigen kann ihnen nicht vermitteln, was zu sehen ist, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie sehen sollen, sehen könnten.

Linda-J. Knop betrachtet histologische Objekte ohne Mikroskop und aquarelliert groß, was sie sieht, auch wenn sie nichts erkennt. In ihren Gemälden wird das Präparat zu einem Ab-Bild, welches von seinem Ursprung abrückt und eine ästhetische und intellektuelle Eigenständigkeit entwickelt. Die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit diesen histologischen Präparaten, die Knop der Sammlung des Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museums der Charité entnimmt, führt sie ferner hin zu den Werkzeugen und Hilfsmitteln der wissenschaftlichen Praxis. Objektträger und Präparatekasten sind Kontext und Ordnungsrahmen, in denen Präparate eingebettet sind. Hier hinein setzt sie Begriffe der Philosophie und schlägt so auf ihre Weise die Brücke zwischen Sehen und Erkennen. Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Ausstellung, um das Publikum um einen Erkenntnisgewinn und die Erfahrung der Schönheit dieser Objekte reicher zu machen.

4cm²
Intervention von Linda-J. Knop im Präparatesaal des Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museums der Charité

Eröffnung: 27. September 2013, 19 Uhr
Hörsaalruine
Berliner Medizinhistorisches Museum der Charité
Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin
Laufzeit: 28.9.2013 bis 12.1.2014

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie über das Berliner Medizinhistorische Museum der Charité.

Fotos: Linda-Josephine Knop

Linda Josephine Knop_Aquarell

Linda Josephine Knop_Aquarell

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die herausragende Arbeiten...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Die Selbstdarstellung ist so alt wie die Menschheitsgeschichte. Und doch scheint sie in...
mehr