Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Faith in the City

29.10.2013, Berlin | Aren’t religion and urbanity mutually exclusive? All the findings of the international project GLOBAL PRAYERS: Redemption and Liberation in the City indicate that this basic assumption of urban research is no longer valid: New religious communities are changing urban topographies and are emerging as economic and global players. On November 14–16, 2013, the House of World Cultures in Berlin will host the Global Prayers Congress (open to the public), which will kick off with “Speaking in Tongues,” a video installation by Dutch artist Aernout Mik.

The Global Prayers Congress

In the favelas of Rio de Janeiro, evangelical communities are active in drug prevention. In Beirut, Muslim organizations work to rebuild a war-ravaged city. In Berlin, Christian communities meet in movie theaters, cafés, and other secular spaces. So far, there has been little research on these new, globally networked movements; instead, they are frequently ignored or ostracized. During the Global Prayers Theme Days, international scholars and artists present religious phenomena as well as religious spaces, strategies, and productions of meaning from metropolises around the world. Through discussions, presentations, sounds, film, and photography, they explore the links between urban liberation and religious practices, between promises of spiritual redemption and social liberation.
In addition to lectures, panel discussions, and film screenings, the program also includes a lecture performance, on November 15, at 10 p.m., by Paola Yacoub and Joseph Rustom entitled “O Syria,” which examines images and videos that are published daily on the Internet by the warring parties in Syria.
Current findings of artistic and scientific research can be viewed online at www.globalprayers.info.
To mark the occasion of the conference, a volume of essays entitled “Global Prayers: Contemporary Manifestations of the Religious in the City” has been published by Lars Müller Publishers.

The expert conference On Research II. Reflections on Research Methodologies will take place as part of the Global Prayers Congress. An outstanding example of interdisciplinary research by artists and scientists, the conference is supported by the Ernst Schering Foundation for the second time. Participation is by invitation only.

 

The Global Prayers Congress: Faith in the City

Opening: November 14, 2013

7:00 p.m. Aernout Mik: “Speaking in Tongues,” a video work featuring Lars Eidinger et al.
8:00 p.m. Discussion: “Speculative Staging,” with Aernout Mik, Martijin Oosterbaan, Stefan Heidenreich, and Sabeth Buchmann
Free admission.

Congress: November 15 and 16, 2013

For more information on the program and admission fees, please click here.

 

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin

For additional information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at ++49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit http://globalprayers.info/index.php.

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Faith in the City

29.10.2013, Berlin | Schließen sich Religion und Urbanität nicht gegenseitig aus? Diese Grundannahme der Stadtforschung ist nicht mehr haltbar. Das zeigen alle Erkenntnisse, die das internationale Projekt GLOBAL PRAYERS. Erlösung und Befreiung in der Stadt gewonnen hat: Neue religiöse Gemeinschaften verändern urbane Topographien und treten als wirtschaftliche und politische Akteure auf. Vom 14. bis 16. November 2013 findet im Haus der Kulturen der Welt der öffentliche Global Prayers Congress statt, der von der Videoinstallation „Speaking in tongues“ des niederländischen Künstlers Aernout Mik eröffnet wird.

The Global Prayers Congress

In den Favelas von Rio de Janeiro engagieren sich evangelikale Gemeinden in der Drogenprävention. In Beirut übernehmen islamische Einrichtungen den Wiederaufbau der kriegszerstörten Stadt. In Berlin lassen sich christliche Gemeinden in Kinos, Cafés und anderen säkularen Räumen nieder. Diese neuen, global vernetzten Bewegungen sind bislang selten untersucht worden, sie werden oftmals ignoriert oder skandalisiert. Während der Global Prayers-Thementage beleuchten internationale Wissenschaftler und Künstler in Gesprächen, Vorträgen, Film- und Rauminstallationen die Zusammenhänge zwischen urbaner Entwicklung und sakralen Praktiken, zwischen den Versprechen spiritueller Erlösung und sozialer Befreiung.

Am 15. November um 22 Uhr findet die Lecture Peformance „O Syria“ von Paola Yacoub und Joseph Rustom statt, die sich mit Bildern und Videos beschäftigt, die täglich von verschiedenen Kriegsparteien in Syrien im Netz veröffentlicht werden.


Aktuelle Ergebnisse der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Recherche können im Internet unter www.globalprayers.info eingesehen werden.
Zum Kongress ist bei Lars Müller Publishers der Band „Global Prayers: Manifestations of the Religious in the City“ erschienen.

 

Im Rahmen von The Global Prayers Congress findet die Fachtagung On Research II. Reflections on research methodologies statt. Die Tagung wird von der Schering Stiftung als herausragendes Beispiel interdisziplinärer Forschung von Künstlern und Wissenschaftlern bereits zum zweiten Mal gefördert. Eine Teilnahme ist nur auf Einladung möglich.

 

The Global Prayers Congress. Faith in the City

Eröffnung: 14. November 2013

19 Uhr Aernout Mik: „Speaking in Tongues“, Videoarbeit mit Lars Eidinger u.a.
20 Uhr Gespräch: "Speculative Staging." Mit Aernout Mik, Martijin Oosterbaan, Stefan Heidenreich, Sabeth Buchmann
Eintritt frei

Kongress: 15. und 16. November 2013

Mehr Informationen zum Programm und zu Eintrittspreisen finden Sie hier.

 

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin

 

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter http://globalprayers.info/index.php


Foto:

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr