Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Avrion Mitchison Prize 2013

Dirk Baumjohann, PhD is the recipient of the 2013 Avrion Mitchison Prize for Rheumatology for his work “Persistent antigen and germinal center B cells sustain T follicular helper cell responses and phenotype”.

Baumjohann grew up in Germany and did his undergraduate studies in Molecular Medicine at the University of Erlangen. After an internship in Uli von Andrian's lab at Harvard Medical School, he went to Switzerland to work on his PhD research with Federica Sallusto and Antonio Lanzavecchia at the Institute for Research in Biomedicine and received his PhD degree in Immunology/Cell Biology from the University of Bern. In Mark's lab at UCSF he is now working on the molecular requirements for CD4+ T helper cell differentiation.

At the award ceremony, Dirk Baumjohann will present his current research “Persistent antigen and germinal center B cells sustain T follicular helper cell responses and phenotype”:

„T helper (Th) cells orchestrate cellular and humoral (antibody-mediated) immune responses against a variety of pathogens. In recent years, T follicular helper (TFH) cells have emerged as the prototypic Th cell subset that provides help to B cells. In this regard, TFH cells are crucial for the establishment of germinal centers (GCs), in which the processes of somatic hypermutation, affinity maturation, and class switch recombination lead to the generation of memory B cells and long-lived plasma cells that produce high-affinity antibodies. Due to their central role in controlling humoral immunity, dysregulated TFH cells can contribute to the development of autoimmunity and allergies. Accordingly, several autoimmune diseases are characterized by increased TFH cell numbers and by the production of autoantibodies, including rheumatoid arthritis and systemic lupus erythematosus.

We could demonstrate that the magnitude of the TFH cell and GC B cell response was dictated by the amount of antigen and that TFH cell numbers directly correlated with the extent of the GC B cell response. Previous work established that the initiation of the TFH cell program occurs during priming by dendritic cells, independent of cognate interactions with B cells. Nevertheless, B cells play an important role for TFH cells at later stages during the GC response, as B cells become the sole antigen-presenting cell type for TFH cells. Therefore, we next aimed at defining the requirements for the maintenance of TFH cells. Through the combined use of adoptive transfer approaches, in vivo blocking antibody treatments, and diphtheria toxin-mediated depletion of GC B cells in carefully controlled bone marrow chimera experiments, we revealed that maintenance of TFH cells required sustained antigenic stimulation and interaction with GC B cells. Retransfer of TFH cells to naïve mice resulted in a rapid loss of the TFH cell phenotype. While depletion of non-GC B cells during the peak of the GC response did not affect TFH and GC B cell numbers, interference with cognate interactions between TFH and GC B cells by blockade of ICOS/ICOSL or CD40/CD40L pathways rapidly resulted in the dissolution of the GC response.

Another important finding was that immunization under T cell-lymphopenic conditions generated dysregulated TFH cells, leading to hypergammaglobulinemia and autoantibody production. These data indicate that dysregulated TFH cell responses might contribute to the pathology of diseases that are characterized by T cell lymphopenia, such as HIV infection and certain tumors. Taken together, the results of this study have important implications for our current understanding of T cell-B cell interactions and may help uncovering novel avenues for therapeutic intervention in autoimmune diseases or for boosting the immune response in vaccine settings.”

 

Award Ceremony on December 3, 2013, at 5:00 p.m.


The Avrion Mitchison Prize, which is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, is presented in conjunction with the Albrecht Hasinger Lecture at the German Rheumatism Research Center (DRFZ).

Foyer of the German Rheumatism Research Center Berlin
Charité Mitte Campus
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

 

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Avrion Mitchison Preis 2013

Dirk Baumjohann, PhD wird mit dem Avrion Mitchison Preis für Rheumatologie 2013 für seine Arbeit “Persistent antigen and germinal center B cells sustain T follicular helper cell responses and phenotype” ausgezeichnet.

Baumjohann studierte Molekulare Medizin an der Friedrich-Alexander- Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt an der Harvard Medical School ging er für seine Doktorarbeit an das Institute for Research in Biomedicine in Bellinzona (Schweiz), wo er T-Zell-B-Zell Interaktionen untersuchte und darüber an der Universität Bern summa cum laude in Zellbiologie/Immunologie promovierte. Seit August 2010 forscht er in den USA als Postdoktorand an der University of California in San Francisco (UCSF). Sein Interesse gilt der molekularen Regulation von T-Helferzellen, welche eine zentrale Rolle in der zellulären und Antikörper-vermittelten Immunantwort spielen. Dabei interessiert er sich besonders für Transkriptionsfaktoren und MikroRNAs und wie diese die Differenzierung, Funktion und Plastizität von T-Helferzellen regulieren. Seine bisherige Forschung wurde unter anderem durch Forschungsstipendien des Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds, des Schweizer Nationalfonds und der National Multiple Sclerosis Society gefördert.

Im Rahmen der Preisverleihung spricht Dirk Baumjohann über seine aktuelle Forschungsarbeit “Persistent antigen and germinal center B cells sustain T follicular helper cell responses and phenotype”:

„T-Helfer (Th) Zellen dirigieren die zelluläre und humorale (Antikörper-vermittelte) Immunantwort gegen eine Vielzahl von Krankheitserregern. Follikuläre T-Helfer (TFH) Zellen repräsentieren dabei die wichtigste Th Zell-Subpopulation welche B-Zellen zur Produktion von hochaffinen Antikörpern anregt. TFH Zellen sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Keimzentrumsreaktion, in der die Prozesse der somatischen Hypermutation, der Affinitätsreifung und des Klassenwechsels zur Erzeugung von Gedächtnis-B-Zellen und langlebigen Plasmazellen führen. Aufgrund ihrer zentralen Rolle in der Kontrolle der humoralen Immunantwort können TFH Zellen jedoch auch zur Entwicklung von Autoimmunität und Allergien beitragen. So sind viele Autoimmunerkrankungen durch erhöhte TFH Zellzahlen und die Produktion von Autoantikörpern charakterisiert, z.B. bei rheumatoider Arthritis und systemischen Lupus erythematodes.

Wir konnten nun zeigen, dass die Zahl der TFH Zellen direkt abhängig von der Menge des spezifischen Antigens war. Darüberhinaus korrelierte die Zahl der TFH Zellen direkt mit der Zahl der Keimzentrums-B-Zellen. Frühere Arbeiten hatten bereits festgestellt, dass die Induktion des TFH Zell-Programmes durch dendritische Zellen erfolgt - und zwar unabhängig von Interaktionen mit Antigen-spezifischen B-Zellen. Trotzdem spielen B Zellen eine wichtige Rolle zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt im Leben von TFH Zellen. Dazu haben wir im weiteren Verlauf unserer Untersuchungen die Voraussetzungen für die Aufrechterhaltung des TFH Phänotyps untersucht. So stellte sich heraus, dass kontinuierliche Stimulation mit Antigen und Interaktionen mit antigen-spezifischen B-Zellen eine wichtige Rolle spielten. Transfer von TFH Zellen in „antigen-freie“ Rezipienten führte zu einem schnellen Verlust des TFH Phänotyps. Depletion der meisten B Zellen außerhalb der Keimzentrumsreaktion hatte keinen Einfluss auf das Gleichgewicht von TFH und Keimzentrums-B-Zellen. Wurden jedoch hauptsächlich die Keimzentrums-B-Zellen eliminiert, so führte dies zu einem raschen Verlust an TFH Zellen. Blockade von ICOS/ICOSL oder CD40/CD40L Interaktionen zwischen ausgereiften TFH und B Zellen resultierte ebenfalls in der Auflösung der Keimzentrumsreaktion.

HIV-Infektion und bestimmte Tumore führen zu einer Verminderung der Anzahl von Th Zellen in solchen Patienten - auch Lymphopenie genannt. Interessanterweise konnten wir in unserer Studie zeigen, dass Immunisierung unter solchen T-Zell-lymphopenischen Bedingungen eine dysregulierte TFH Zell-Antwort auslösen kann, welche durch Hypergammaglobulinämie und Autoantikörperproduktion gekennzeichnet ist. Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass diese Studie wichtige Erkenntnisse zu unserem gegenwärtigen Verständnis von T-Zell–B-Zell-Interaktionen beigetragen hat. Idealerweise könnte dies auch dazu beitragen, neuartige Ansätze für die therapeutische Intervention bei Autoimmunerkrankungen bzw. zur Verstärkung der Immunantwort bei Impfungen zu entwickeln."

Festveranstaltung am 3. Dezember 2013 um 17 Uhr


Die Verleihung des Avrion-Mitchison-Preises, der von der Schering Stiftung finanziert wird, findet im Rahmen der Albrecht Hasinger Lecture im DRFZ statt.

Foyer des Deutschen Rheuma-Forschungszentrums Berlin
Campus Charité Mitte
Charitéplatz 1
10117 Berlin
www.drfz.de

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr