Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Susan Philipsz: Part File Score

06.01.2014, Berlin | On January 31, 2014, the Hamburger Bahnhof will open an exhibition in its Historical Hall that is entirely devoted to concentrated listening. The Scottish artist Susan Philipsz has created a 24-channel sound installation that makes reference both to the building’s former function as a train station and to the hall’s architectural structure with its 12 archways. Philipsz links the former train station – as a site of departure and arrival, of separation and return – to the turbulent life of composer Hanns Eisler (1898-1962) who lived in Berlin in the 1920s and again in the 1950s.

Historical Hall Hamburger Bahnhof

 

Presse Release as PDF

Following an artistic principle she last applied to Study for Strings, a work presented at the dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel, each tone of the compositions was recorded seperately in the studio. In the installation, the tones are distributed among the 24 loudspeakers installed along the entire length of the historic grand industrial hall. With this sound work and its accompanying twelve prints, in which pages of Eisler’s scores are superimposed with pages from his FBI files, Philipsz seeks an approach to Eisler’s aesthetic of the displaced form so as to evoke themes such as life’s journey and the experience of separation and displacement.

Hanns Eisler, who emigrated to the United States in the 1930s and reluctantly had to leave the country again in 1948 because of his pro-Communist convictions, wrote twelve-tone-music, but was also interested in “popular” genres such as stage and film music. He composed numerous songs, including songs for workers’ choirs and international labor movement rallies, and, in 1949, the national anthem of the GDR.

Dealing with musical and literary models and specific historical constellations, Susan Philipsz (b. 1965 in Glasgow), winner of the prestigious Turner Prize in 2010, works primarily with the medium of sound. Based in Berlin since 2001, the artist frequently uses well-known songs and pop songs that she performs and records in her own voice to create an acoustic environment in dialogue with the specific exhibition site or urban space. More recently, she has increasingly worked with instrumental compositions and acoustic material such as field recordings or radio signals, redacting and staging them for a specific location following intensive research.

Since Susan Philipsz’s work at the interface of the visual arts and music fits perfectly with our grant-making focus, the Ernst Schering Foundation supports the artist’s first institutional solo exhibition in Berlin.

Susan Philipsz
Part File Score

24-Channel Sound Installation
Opening: January 31, 2014, 8:00 p.m.
Duration: February 1 – May 4, 2014
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum for Contemporary Art – Berlin / Historical Hall
Berlin State Museums
Invalidenstr. 50-51
10557 Berlin

Accompanying Program: Artist talk with Susan Philipsz

Tuesday, April 29, 2014, 7 p.m.
Hamburger Bahnhof
Admission free.
The exhibition is open until 7 p.m.

Program:

Welcome
Ingrid Buschmann and Gabriele Knapstein

Introduction to the film music compositions of Hanns Eisler with film excerpts
with Peter Deeg and Johannes C. Gall (in German)

Susan Philipsz in conversation with Martin Herbert
(in English)


The exhibition by Susan Philipsz is part of Musikwerke Bildender Künstler (Works of Music by Visual Artists), a series of events that has been organized since 1999 by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin in cooperation with the National Gallery and, since 2002, with MaerzMusik – Festival of Contemporary Music of the Berliner Festspiele.
With support from the Capital Culture Fund and the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Curators:
Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum for Contemporary Art – Berlin

More information at: http://www.musikwerke-bildender-kuenstler.de/

Photo 1: Historical Hall, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum for Contemporary Art – Berlin

Photos 2-4: Opening Susan Philipsz - Part File Score
Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin, 31.1.14
© Freunde Guter Musik Berlin/Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Photos: Sebastian Bolesch

Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score

 

 

Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score

 

 

Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score

News

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Digital Salon: A Soft Spot for Cyborgs

22.05.2017, Berlin | Smart robot hands, artificial legs, printable organs: Are implants the panacea of the...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Susan Philipsz: Part File Score

06.01.2014, Berlin | Am 31. Januar 2014 wird in der Historischen Halle des Hamburger Bahnhofs eine Ausstellung eröffnet, die ganz dem konzentrierten Hören gewidmet ist. Die schottische Künstlerin Susan Philipsz hat eine 24-Kanal Sound Installation konzipiert, die zum einen auf die ehemalige Funktion des Gebäudes als Bahnhof und zum anderen auf die architektonische Struktur der Halle mit ihren 12 Stahlbögen Bezug nimmt. Als Ort von Abfahrt und Ankunft, von Trennung und Wiederkehr bringt die Künstlerin den ehemaligen Bahnhof in Verbindung mit dem bewegten Leben des in den 1920er und 1950er Jahren in Berlin beheimateten Komponisten Hanns Eisler (1898–1962).

Historische Halle Hamburger Bahnhof

 

Pressemitteilung als PDF

Einem künstlerischen Prinzip folgend, das Philipsz bereits für ihre 2012 auf der dOCUMENTA (13) in Kassel präsentierte Arbeit Study for Strings anwandte, hat die Künstlerin die Noten der Kompositionen im Studio einzeln aufgenommen. Sie werden wiederum separiert über 24 entlang der Historischen Halle installierte Lautsprecher wiedergegeben. Mit dieser akustischen Arbeit und 12 großformatigen Grafiken, in denen Partiturseiten Eislers mit Seiten aus den ihn betreffenden Akten des FBI überlagert werden, sucht Philipsz eine Annäherung an Eislers Ästhetik der displaced form, um Themen wie die der Lebensreise und der Erfahrung von Trennung, Überwachung und Vertreibung aufzurufen.

Hanns Eisler, der in den 1930er Jahren nach Amerika emigrierte und 1948 die USA aufgrund seiner prokommunistischen politischen Überzeugungen schweren Herzens wieder verlassen musste, setzte sich zum einen mit der Zwölftonmusik auseinander, wandte sich zum anderen aber auch ‚populären’ Genres wie der Bühnen- und Filmmusik zu. Er komponierte zahlreiche Lieder, darunter Lieder für Arbeiterchöre sowie Kundgebungen der internationalen Arbeiterbewegung und 1949 die Nationalhymne der DDR.

Susan Philipsz (*1965 in Glasgow), die 2010 den renommierten Turner Prize gewann, arbeitet in ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit musikalischen und literarischen Vorlagen sowie mit spezifischen historischen Konstellationen überwiegend mit dem Medium Klang. Die seit 2001 in Berlin lebende Künstlerin greift häufig bekannte Lieder und Popsongs auf, die sie mit ihrer eigenen Stimme vorträgt und aufnimmt, um damit im Ausstellungs- oder im städtischen Raum ein auf den jeweiligen Ort bezogenes akustisches Environment zu schaffen. In jüngerer Zeit wählt sie verstärkt instrumentale Kompositionen und akustisches Material wie Field Recordings oder Radiosignale, bearbeitet dieses und inszeniert es nach intensiver Recherche für einen bestimmten Ort. Da das Werk von Susan Philipsz an der Schnittstelle von Bildender Kunst und Musik sich ausgezeichnet in den Fokus unserer Förderung einfügt, unterstützt die Schering Stiftung die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin in Berlin.

Susan Philipsz
Part File Score

24-Kanal Sound Installation
Eröffnung: 31. Januar 2014, 20 Uhr
Laufzeit: 01.02. – 04.05.2014
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historische Halle
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstr. 50-51
10557 Berlin

Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung: Künstlergespräch mit Susan Philipsz

Dienstag, 29. April 2014, 19 Uhr
Hamburger Bahnhof
Der Eintritt zur Veranstaltung ist frei.
Die Ausstellung ist bis 19 Uhr geöffnet.

Programm:

Begrüßung
Ingrid Buschmann und Gabriele Knapstein

Einführung in die filmmusikalischen Kompositionen von Hanns Eisler
mit Filmbeispielen
mit Peter Deeg und Johannes C. Gall
(in deutscher Sprache)

Susan Philipsz im Gespräch mit Martin Herbert
(in englischer Sprache)


Die Ausstellung von Susan Philipsz findet im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe Musikwerke Bildender Künstler statt, die seit 1999 von Freunde Guter Musik Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalgalerie und seit 2002 mit dem Festival MaerzMusik der Berliner Festspiele durchgeführt wird.
Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Schering Stiftung.

Kuratorinnen: Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Weitere Informationen: http://www.musikwerke-bildender-kuenstler.de/

Foto 1: Historische Halle, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Foto 2-4: Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score
Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin, 31.1.14
© Freunde Guter Musik Berlin/Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Fotos: Sebastian Bolesch

 

Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score

 

 

Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score

 

 

Eröffnung Susan Philipsz - Part File Score

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr