Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

The Earworm, or The Melody of Horror

05.03.2014, Berlin | What makes a melody an earworm? This is the topic of the next musical soiree on March 24, 2014, featuring Prof. Dr. Eckart Altenmüller, Jardena Flückiger, and David Santos. It is the second event in the concert series entitled Music Creates Knowledge: The Neurosciences and Music in Dialogue. Initiated by Ulrich Köstlin and the Ernst Schering Foundation, the series presents music from different centuries, followed by a discussion with renowned neuroscientists.

© Schering Stiftung

After the successful inaugural event in September 2013 on the question of “Does music trigger emotions?,“ featuring Prof. Dr. Stefan Koelsch (Free University of Berlin) and the musicians Leonore von Falkenhausen and Markus Gotthard, this time the focus is on “The Earworm, or The Melody of Horror.” The speaker will be Prof. Dr. Eckart Altenmüller, director of the Institute of Music Physiology and Musicians’ Medicine at the Hanover University of Music, Drama, and Media. The musicians Jardena Flückiger (vocals) and David Santos (piano) will present “standards” from Mozart to the musical stage, but also new music that might pose a challenge to our memory structures.
The neurosciences teach us that our knowledge is determined not only by scientific findings, but also by the arts. Music is considered one of mankind’s oldest and most fundamental socio-cognitive domains; it plays a significant role in the development of language, it influences our ability to learn, and it affects our emotions, our autonomic nervous system and even our endocrine and immune systems.


Participation is by registration only. Space is limited and will be available on a first-reserve basis.


The Neurosciences and Music in Dialogue – A concert series sponsored by the Ernst Schering Foundation and hosted by Ulrich und Nathan Köstlin


The Earworm, or The Melody of Horror

March 24, 2014


For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at +49 (0)30 20 62 29 65.


Photo © Ernst Schering Foundation

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Ivana Franke

 

Der Ohrwurm oder Melodie des Grauens

Was macht eine Melodie zu einem Ohrwurm? Das ist das Thema des nächsten Musiksalons mit Prof. Dr. Eckart Altenmüller, Jardena Flückiger und David Santos, der am 24. März 2014 stattfindet. Es ist bereits das zweite Konzert der von Ulrich Köstlin und der Schering Stiftung initiierten Konzertreihe Musik schafft Wissen. Neurowissenschaften und Musik im Dialog, die Musikwerke aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten präsentiert und anschließend zu einer Diskussion mit renommierten Neurowissenschaftlern einlädt.

© Schering Stiftung

Nach dem erfolgreichen Auftakt im September 2013 zur Frage „Wie löst Musik Emotionen aus?“ mit Prof. Dr. Stefan Koelsch (Freie Universität Berlin) und den Musikern Leonore von Falkenhausen und Markus Gotthard widmen wir uns nun dem Thema „Der Ohrwurm oder Melodie des Grauens“. Es spricht Prof. Dr. Eckart Altenmüller, Direktor des Instituts für Musikphysiologie und Musiker-Medizin an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover. Die Musiker Jardena Flückiger (Gesang) und David Santos (Klavier) präsentieren „Evergreens“ von Mozart bis zum Musical aber auch Neue Musik, die unsere Gedächtnisstrukturen überfordern kann.

Wie uns die Neurowissenschaften lehren, wird unser Wissen nicht nur durch Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung geprägt, sondern auch durch die Künste. Die Musik gilt dabei als einer der ältesten und grundlegenden sozial-kognitiven Bereiche des Menschen. Ihr wird für die Entwicklung der Sprache eine signifikante Rolle eingeräumt, Musik hat Auswirkungen auf unsere Lernfähigkeit, auf unsere Emotionen, unser vegetatives Nervensystem und sogar auf unser Hormon- und Immunsystem.

Teilnahme ist nur nach Anmeldung möglich. Die Plätze sind begrenzt und werden nach Eingang vergeben.


Neurowissenschaften und Musik im Dialog - Eine Konzertreihe der Schering Stiftung bei Ulrich und Nathan Köstlin

Der Ohrwurm oder Melodie des Grauens
24. März 2014


Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter (030) 20 62 29 - 65


Foto © Schering Stiftung

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr