Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Of Life in the City

28.03.2014, Berlin | On Sunday, April 6, 2014, from 11 a.m. onwards, the Radialsystem V will host the Stiftungssonntag (Foundations Sunday) under the motto “Of Life in the City.” For an entire day, the participating foundations of the Berlin Foundations Week (April 1–11, 2014) address issues of urban life in workshops, open discussions, lectures, performances, and interactive activities for young and old. The Ernst Schering Foundation will present two events: the workshop “re/searching the city” on the topic of urban experience and its reflection, in cooperation with metroZones – Center for Urban Affairs, a Berlin-based urban research association; and a lecture entitled “Images of Sexuality in Old Age – An (Art) Historical Perspective on Andreas Dresen’s Film Wolke 9 (Cloud 9)” with Germany Scholarship students of the Themenklasse on “Aging and Age” at Berlin’s Humboldt University.
Visitors are warmly invited to participate; pre-registration is not required.

Berliner Stiftungswoche

The Foundations Sunday is part of this year’s Berlin Foundations Week. On April 1–11, 2014, a number of Berlin-based foundations for the fifth time in a row open their doors and invite interested citizens to get to know them and to get involved. The 5th Berlin Foundations Week again offers a variety of events, exhibitions, and projects that highlight the importance of the foundations’ activities and their everyday impact. This year’s thematic focus is on “Of Life in the City: Responsibility for Change.” For more information and the full program, please visit http://www.berlinerstiftungswoche.eu/.

The foundations show where and how they get engaged, putting the spotlight on a potentially defining characteristic of urban life: a shared responsibility for social change and for each other, and a vibrant civil society. It is in our cities that the changes in society can be felt and experienced most clearly: from demographic change to migration and integration, from education and health care to changes in the world of work.
 
Aspects that will be discussed include processes that can be described by the term “gentrification” as well as current developments in urban planning. Another focus will be on the relationship between the city and its environs. Here, we are witnessing contradictory trends of rural flight on the one hand and urban flight on the other: while rural life is romanticized as a weekend idyll, life in the big city is idealized as a hipster paradise – blinded by the lights of the big city?!

 

Of Life in the City


Foundations Sunday at the Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstrasse 33
10243 Berlin

April 6, 2014

 

Events in cooperation with the Ernst Schering Foundation

 

Workshop on “re/searching the city”

11 a.m., Atelier A
Welcome Heike Catherina Mertens, Arts and Culture Director of the Ernst Schering Foundation
Presentation metroZones – Profile and Projects: Who We Are and What We Do

12 noon, Atelier A
Introduction to the methodological toolbox of urban research: field notes, mapping, field photography, soundwalks, surveys (required for workshop participation)

1–5 p.m., Field walks in the urban neighborhood of the Radialsystem V
Workshop “On the Search for the City.” In small groups, participants put the presented urban research methodologies to a practical test. The workshop concludes with a discussion about its findings and results at Atelier A.

6–8 p.m., Atelier A
Discussion Hallen, Höfe, Hütten (Halls, Yards, Huts): Urban Design on the Spree

 

Lecture on “Images of Sexuality in Old Age – An (Art) Historical Perspective on Andreas Dresen’s Film Wolke 9 (Cloud Nine)”


Anna Mirtschin and Rahel Schrohe
6:45–8 p.m., Studio B


For a long time taboo subjects of our image-driven media world, love and sexuality in old age are becoming part of our public life and advertising industry. Andreas Dresen’s 2008 film “Wolke 9“ (Cloud Nine) is considered to be the catalyst that sparked a new way of looking at and dealing with the topic. The lecture looks at the movie from a historical and image science perspective.

 

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at ++49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit the website http://www.berlinerstiftungswoche.eu/.

Berliner Stiftungswoche

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

On the Far Side of the Marchlands - Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung

 

Vom Leben in der Stadt

Am Sonntag, den 6. April 2014, findet ab 11 Uhr im Radialsystem V der Stiftungssonntag unter dem Motto „Vom Leben in der Stadt“ statt. Einen Tag lang widmen sich Stiftungen der Berliner Stiftungswoche (1. bis 11. April 2014) mit Workshops, offenen Diskussionen, Vorträgen, Performances und Mitmach-Aktionen für große und kleine Besucher dem Leben in der Stadt. Die Schering Stiftung präsentiert zwei Veranstaltungen: den Workshop „re/searching the city“ zum Thema städtische Erfahrung und ihre Reflexion mit dem Berliner Stadtforschungsverein metroZones. Zentrum für städtische Angelegenheiten sowie den Vortrag „Bilder von Sexualität im Alter - ein kunst/historischer Blick auf Andreas Dresens Film Wolke 9" mit StipendiatenInnen der Themenklasse Altern und Alter an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.
Besucher sind herzlich zum Mitmachen eingeladen, eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Berliner Stiftungswoche

 

Programm Stiftungssonntag als PDF 


Der Stiftungssonntag findet im Rahmen der diesjährigen Berliner Stiftungswoche statt. Vom 1. bis zum 11. April 2014 öffnen Stiftungen in Berlin zum fünften Mal in Folge ihre Türen und laden interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger zum Kennenlernen und Mitmachen ein: Die 5. Berliner Stiftungswoche bietet wieder eine Fülle von Veranstaltungen, Ausstellungen und Projekten, die einmal mehr zeigen, wie wichtig die Arbeit von Stiftungen ist und wie weit sie in den Alltag hineinreicht. Und dies zum Schwerpunktthema „Vom Leben in der Stadt – Verantwortung für Veränderung“. Mehr Informationen sowie das komplette Programm finden Sie auf berlinerstiftungswoche.eu.
Die Stiftungen zeigen, wo und wie sie sich engagieren und was das Leben in der Stadt auch auszeichnen kann: eine gemeinsame Verantwortung für Veränderung in der Gesellschaft und für die Menschen – im Sinne einer wachen Zivilgesellschaft. In unseren Städten ist besonders zu spüren und zu erleben, wie sich unsere Gesellschaft verändert: vom demographischen Wandel, über Migration und Integration, Bildung und Krankenversorgung bis hin zu Veränderungen in der Arbeitswelt.

Prozesse, die mit dem Begriff Gentrifizierung umschrieben werden, zählen ebenso zu den Aspekten des Schwerpunktthemas wie aktuelle, städtebauliche Entwicklungen. Auch das Verhältnis von Stadt und Umland ist im Fokus: Hier erleben wir gegenläufige Trends von Landflucht und Stadtflucht. Gleichzeitig wird das Landleben als Wochenendidylle romantisiert und das moderne Großstadtleben im Hipster-Style verklärt; geradezu von den Lichtern der Großstadt geblendet?!

 

Vom Leben in der Stadt

6. April 2014
Ab 11 Uhr
 

 

Stiftungssonntag im Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

 

Veranstaltungen der Schering Stiftung

Workshop „re/searching the city”


11 Uhr, Atelier A
Begrüßung: Heike Catherina Mertens, Vorstand Kultur der Schering Stiftung
Präsentation metroZones: Profil und Projekte. Wer wir sind und was wir machen
12 Uhr, Atelier A
Einführung in die methodische Werkzeugkiste der Stadtforschung: field notes, mapping, Feldfotografie, Soundwalks, Befragungen (Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme am Workshop)
13 – 17 Uhr, Feldrundgänge im Stadtraum rund um das Radialsystem V
Workshop „Auf der Suche nach der Stadt“. Teilnehmer/innen probieren die eingeführten Methoden der Stadtforschung in kleinen Gruppen praktisch aus. Zum Abschluss Austausch über die Ergebnisse im Atelier A.
18 – 20 Uhr, Atelier A
Diskussion Hallen, Höfe, Hütten: Stadtproduktion an der Spree

 

Vortrag Bilder von Sexualität im Alter - ein kunst/historischer Blick auf Andreas Dresens Film Wolke 9

Anna Mirtschin und Rahel Schrohe
18:45 – 20 Uhr, Studio B

Während Liebe und Sexualität im Alter lange Tabuthemen unserer medialen Bilderwelten waren, sind sie nun im Begriff, Teil unserer Öffentlichkeit und Werbeindustrie zu werden. Andreas Dresens Film „Wolke 9“ aus dem Jahr 2008 wird heute als „Initialzündung“ für einen neuen Umgang mit dem Thema verstanden. Der Vortrag diskutiert ihn aus historischer und bildwissenschaftlicher Perspektive.


Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030 - 20 62 29 65 oder unter berlinerstiftungswoche.eu
Berliner Stiftungswoche

Aktuelles

Wie frei sind wir wirklich?

17.02.2017, Berlin | Sind wir in unserem Handeln frei oder werden wir darin bestimmt? So lautet...
mehr

Wissenschaft im Sauriersaal 2017

16.02.2017, Berlin | Brauchen wir Spielplätze für unsere Nutztiere? Wie werden 7 Milliarden Menschen satt? Und...
mehr

In Spandau startet die Al-Farabi Musikakademie

02.01.2017, Berlin | Eine sorgenfreie und unbeschwerte Jugend ist nicht für alle Kinder eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Nach...
mehr