Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Giving Contours to Shadows

30.04.2014, Berlin | The exhibition and research project Giving Contours To Shadows explores how artists and theoreticians relate to their contemporary contexts in their treatment of Western historical narratives and the formulation of divergent perspectives – ranging from physical representation to the possibilities of pre-writing history. An extensive group exhibition will open at the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein and SAVVY Contemporary at 7:00 p.m. on 23 and 24 May 2014 respectively, accompanied by a series of events which includes a multi-day program of performances at the Maxim Gorki Theater and Gemäldegalerie in Berlin; a roundtable discussion; and satellite projects in Marrakech, Nairobi, Dakar, Lagos, and Johannesburg.

Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (Videostill)

Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (Videostill)

Inspired by philosopher Édouard Glissant's challenge to free history from its confinement as a “functional fantasy of the West” rather than leaving it to the designs of historians, Giving Contours To Shadows explores alternative concepts of history in art and theory. The project establishes a space for the exploration of myriad theories and discourses which look beyond Western perspectives of history, creating new contemporary narrative structures, and overcoming colonial and post-colonial discourse. The exhibition and program are organized across five interlinking themes: Performing and Embodying Histories, Wandering through Histories, Unthinking the Chimera, Sequestrating History and Pre-writing Histories. The roundtable program will address discussions on the ideology of space, performativity and archival practice, and the notion of pre-writing history.

Giving Contours to Shadows is curated by Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung in collaboration with Elena Agudio and Storm Janse van Rensburg, who have invited artists working in the visual and performing arts to produce new works for the exhibition to be shown in Berlin and at five leading African cultural institutions. The Ernst Schering Foundation has chosen to sponsor this artistic research project in light of its capacity to reflect upon the global import of other bodies of cultural knowledge through the lens of the ‘wordless’ historical narratives that are expressed in art.

Giving Contours To Shadows

Exhibition: 24 May – 27 July 2014

The complete program of events is available as a downloadable PDF here.

First Opening: Friday, 23 May 2014, 7:00 p.m.
Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
Chausseestr. 128/129
10115 Berlin
Statements by the exhibition’s curators and von Njami (curator and art critic, Paris)
Performance: Lerato Shadi, Mosako wa nako
Performance: Mwangi Hutter, Drastic

A press tour of the exhibition will be held on 23 May at 5:00 p.m. at the Neuen Berliner Kunstverein with the curators and selected artists in attendance.

Second Opening: Saturday, 24 May 2014
6:00 p.m.: Jelili Atiku, Alaagba, performance walk from Richardplatz to SAVVY Contemporary
7:00 p.m.: SAVVY Contemporary – Richardstr. 20, 12043 Berlin

Publications
Publishers Walther König (Cologne) will publish a volume in the n.b.k. “Diskurs” series with contributions in German and English by Elena Agudio, Marius Babias, Alexander Farenholtz, Premesh Lalu, Heike Catherina Mertens, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Simon Njami, Tavia Nyong'o, Sarah Rifky, Storm Janse van Rensburg, and Hortensia Völckers. The exhibition is accompanied by a pamphlet with brief texts about the participating artists.

For more information about the project and program, please visit the project blog, www.givingcontours.net

Giving Contours To Shadows is sponsored by the TURN Fund of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and by the Ernst Schering Foundation.

For more press information and images, please log in below on the website www.nbk.org under ‘Press’ (Username: Press conference / Password: n.b.k.2014)
For all other inquiries, please contact Silke Wittig: +49 (0)30 280 70 20 or e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Images:
Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (video still image)
Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (video still image)

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Giving Contours to Shadows

30.04.2014, Berlin | Das Ausstellungs- und Forschungsprojekt Giving Contours To Shadows untersucht, wie sich KünstlerInnen und TheoretikerInnen in der Auseinandersetzung mit westlichen Geschichtsschreibungen zu ihrer eigenen Gegenwart in Beziehung setzen und perspektivisch abweichende Sichtweisen formulieren – von der Verkörperung bis hin zu Möglichkeiten der Vor-Schreibung von Geschichte. Am 23. und 24. Mai 2014, jeweils 19 Uhr, wird eine umfangreiche Gruppenausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein und SAVVY Contemporary eröffnet, die von einem mehrtägigen Performance-Programm im Maxim Gorki Theater sowie in der Gemäldegalerie in Berlin, einem Roundtable-Programm sowie Satellitenprojekten in Marrakesch, Nairobi, Dakar, Lagos und Johannesburg inhaltlich begleitet wird.

Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (Videostill)

Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (Videostill)

Inspiriert von der Forderung des Philosophen Édouard Glissant, Geschichte aus ihrer Begrenzung als „funktionale Fantasie des Westens“ zu lösen und sie nicht allein dem Wirken von HistorikerInnen zu überlassen, widmet sich Giving Contours To Shadows alternativen künstlerischen und theoretischen Geschichtsbegriffen. Es schafft Raum für die Erforschung vielfältiger Theorien und Diskurse, welche westliche Wahrnehmungen von Geschichte überwinden, neue zeitgenössische Erzählstrukturen entwerfen und dem kolonialen und post-kolonialen Diskurs überwinden. Ausstellung und Programm sind in fünf thematische Kapitel gegliedert: Performing and Embodying histories, Wandering through histories, Unthinking the Chimera, Sequestrating History und Pre-writing histories. Weiterhin widmet sich das Roundtable-Programm Diskussionen über die Ideologie des Raumes, über Performativität und Archivierung,  sowie über die Idee der Vor-Schreibung von Geschichte.
Das von Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung in Zusammenarbeit mit Elena Agudio und Storm Janse van Rensburg kuratierte Projekt Giving Contours to Shadows lädt  Künstler aus dem Bereich der bildenden und performativen Kunst ein, um für die Ausstellung in Berlin und in fünf international bekannten afrikanischen Kulturinstitutionen neue Werke zu produzieren. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt, da dieses in der ‚wortlosen‘ Geschichtsschreibung die global gültige Bedeutung eines anderen kulturellen Wissens – jenseits der Geschichtsbücher und Medien – durch die Kunst reflektiert.

Giving Contours To Shadows

Ausstellung: 24. Mai – 27. Juli 2014

Das gesamte Programm als pdf können Sie sich hier herunterladen.

Erste Eröffnung: Freitag, 23. Mai 2014, 19 Uhr
Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
Chausseestr. 128/129 | 10115 Berlin
Statements der AusstellungskuratorInnen und von Simon Njami (Kurator, Kunstkritiker, Paris)
Performance: Lerato Shadi, Mosako wa nako
Performance: Mwangi Hutter, Drastic

Der Presserundgang findet am 23. Mai um 17 Uhr im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein in Anwesenheit der KuratorInnen und ausgewählten KünstlerInnen statt.

Zweite Eröffnung: Samstag, 24. Mai 2014
18 Uhr: Jelili Atiku, Alaagba, Performance-Walk vom Richardplatz zu SAVVY Contemporary
19 Uhr:  SAVVY Contemporary
Richardstr. 20 | 12043 Berlin

Publikationen
In der n.b.k. Buchreihe „Diskurs“ erscheint eine Publikation in Deutsch und Englisch im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, mit Beiträgen von Elena Agudio, Marius Babias, Alexander Farenholtz, Premesh Lalu, Heike Catherina Mertens, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Simon Njami, Tavia Nyong'o, Sarah Rifky, Storm Janse van Rensburg und Hortensia Völckers. Die Ausstellung wird begleitet von einem Booklet mit Kurztexten zu den beteiligten KünstlerInnen.

Für weitere Informationen zum Projekt und Programm besuchen Sie den Blog: www.givingcontours.net.

Giving Contours To Shadows wird gefördert im Fonds TURN der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und durch die Schering Stiftung.

Für weitere Presse-Informationen und Bildmaterial loggen Sie sich bitte auf der Website www.nbk.org unter Presse ein. Benutzername: „presse“. Passwort „n.b.k.2014“. Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Silke Wittig unter Telefon: (030) 280 70 20 oder E-Mail: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .

Fotos:
Lerato Shadi, Matsogo, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (Videostill)
Mounir Fatmi, History is not Mine, 2013, 5:00 Min., HD-Video (Videostill)

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr