Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Wohin – Nereye?

12.05.2014, Berlin | On May 24, 2014 at 2 p.m., the theater project Wohin – Nereye? will premiere in the Fener-Balat neighborhood in Istanbul. Wohin – Nereye? (Turkish for “where (to)”) is an inquiry, by theatrical means, into the consequences of the displacement going on in the Fener-Balat district, a former immigrant neighborhood that is being increasingly destroyed by real estate speculation and wholesale redevelopment.

Wohin - Nereye?

The protagonists of Wohin – Nereye? are experts of everyday life: exiles that have made Fener-Balat their home and now are forced to pack up and leave again. Based on interviews with the niece of the former Armenian apothecary from Balat; one of the last students at the Loakimion Fener Greek Girls’ School; the owner of the Café Hanimeli whose parents had come to Fener in 1935; and the director of the Jewish old-age home, what has emerged is a kaleidoscope of personal experiences and perceptions. How do the protagonists live, love, and work? Where do they find new homes? What do they preserve? What do they take with them, and what do they leave behind?
As part of the project, the audience passes through various urban transit spaces in Fener-Balat and meets the protagonists. The stories told by the protagonists become sources. The personal distance covered by the audience offers new experiences and perspectives on the past and the present of Fener-Balat and its inhabitants. The project tells the story of a violent urban renewal which is currently underway in several Istanbul neighborhoods: It is the story of an urban development policy where the undesirables and minorities fall prey to real estate speculations in the city’s center. Entire neighborhoods are disappearing while the urban segregation in the megalopolis on the Bosporus continues apace.
The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the project since the urban changes in the Fener-Balat neighborhood in Istanbul can be seen as paradigmatic of the consequences of misguided urban planning and building policies in many of the world’s metropolises. The theater project is the winner of the 2013 kultur-im-dialog.moe competition, which, in 2013, was organized by the MitOst association in cooperation with the Ernst Schering Foundation for the sixth time. The annual competition promotes cultural projects that deal with individual experiences or national transformation processes in Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe.

 

Wohin – Nereye?

Oral History Workshop and Theater Project in Fener-Balat, Istanbul

Premiere in Fener-Balat
on May 24, 2014, at 2:00 p.m.

Meeting place at Café Hanimeli at 1:30 p.m., Akçin Sokak Balat No. 3, Fener, İstanbul
Free admission | Please register by May 23, 2014, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

In cooperation with
Association of Contemporary Performing Arts Initiatives; Istanbul Depo Cultural Center, Tophane, Istanbul


For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at ++49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit http://www.mitost.org/index.php?id=4074

Photo: Büro MILK

 

Wohin - Nereye?

News

KLAS Workshop “AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC”

17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...
more

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...
more

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Wohin – Nereye?

Am 24.05.2014 um 14 Uhr findet im Stadteil Fener-Balat in Istanbul die Premiere des Theaterparcours Wohin – Nereye? statt. Wohin-Nereye? (türkisch für „wohin“) ist eine theatrale Suche nach den Auswirkungen von Verdrängung im Stadtteil Fener-Balat in Istanbul, einem ehemaligen Einwandererviertel, das heute durch Immobilienspekulation und Kahlschlagsanierung zunehmend zerstört wird.

Wohin - Nereye?

Die Protagonisten von Wohin-Nereye? sind Experten des Alltags: Vertriebene, die heimisch geworden sind in Fener-Balat und nun abermals gehen müssen. Basierend auf Interviews mit der Nichte des ehemaligen armenischen Apothekers aus Balat, mit einer der letzten Schülerinnen der Griechischen Mädchenschule Loakimion Fener, mit dem Inhaber des Cafés Hanimeli, dessen Eltern 1935 nach Fener gekommen sind und mit dem Leiter des jüdischen Altersheims ist ein Kaleidoskop persönlicher Erfahrungen und Wahrnehmungen entstanden. Wie leben, lieben und arbeiten die Protagonisten? Wo finden sie neue Behausungen? Was bewahren sie, was nehmen sie mit und was lassen sie zurück?
In einem Parcours durchlaufen die Zuschauer städtische Transiträume in Fener-Balat und begegnen den Protagonisten. Die persönlich erzählten Geschichten werden zur Quelle. Dabei bietet der selbst zurückgelegte Weg neue Erfahrungen und Blickweisen auf das vergangene und heutige Viertel Fener-Balat und seine Bewohner. Der Parcours erzählt die Geschichte eines gewaltsamen Stadtumbaus, der derzeit im Gleichklang des Baustellenlärms in mehreren Stadtteilen Istanbuls voranschreitet: Es ist dies die Geschichte einer Stadtpolitik, der zugunsten von Grundstückspekulationen im Zentrum die Unliebsamen, die Minderheiten zum Opfer fallen. Ganze Nachbarschaften verschwinden, während die räumliche Segregation in der Megalopolis am Bosporus immer weiter fortgeschrieben wird.
Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt das Projekt, da die städtebaulichen Veränderungen des Istanbuler Stadtteils Fener-Balat paradigmatisch für die Folgen fehlgeleiteter Baupolitik in vielen Großstädten der Welt stehen. Das Theaterprojekt ist Gewinner von kultur-im-dialog.moe 2013, einem Wettbewerb, der vom Verein MitOst e.V. in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung 2013 zum 6. Mal ausgeschrieben wurde. Einmal jährlich fördert er Kulturprojekte, die sich mit individuellen Erfahrungen oder nationalen Transformationsprozessen in Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropa auseinandersetzen.


WohinNereye?


Zeitzeugenwerkstatt und Theaterparcours in Fener-Balat, Istanbul

Premiere in Fener-Balat
am 24. Mai 2014 um 14:00 Uhr

Treffpunkt Café Hanimeli um 13:30 Uhr Akçin Sokak Balat No 3, Fener, İstanbul


Eintritt frei | Anmeldung bis 23. Mai 2014 unter: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann.

 

Kooperationspartner
Association of the Contemporary Performing Arts Initiatives; Istanbul Depo Kulturzentrum, Tophane, Istanbul


Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter www.mitost.org

Foto: Büro MILK

 

Wohin - Nereye?

Aktuelles

Kunst und Neurowissenschaft auf Augenhöhe

17.11.2017. Berlin | Im Juni 2017 lud das Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience Künstler aus aller Welt...
mehr

Wie die Insekten die Blumen gezüchtet haben

15.11.2017, Berlin | Jeder von uns hat sich schon an Blumen erfreut und sich dabei vielleicht...
mehr

Die Hungerkunst. Eine Krankheit zwischen Rausch und Abgrund

09.11.2017, Berlin | Ist der durchtrainierte und schlanke Körper in Zeiten der Selbstoptimierung und Sozialkontrolle das...
mehr