Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum



19.05.2014, Berlin | On May 18, 2014, the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize was presented for the twentieth time as part of the Berliner Theatertreffen in recognition of the outstanding achievement of an emerging young actor in one of the productions selected for the theater meeting. To mark the award’s 20th anniversary, the young filmmaker Hanna Slak – who, together with Guillaume Cailleau (director) and Michel Balagué (camera), won the Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film) at this year’s Berlinale – has produced a short video tribute to the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize which will premiere at the award ceremony and can subsequently be viewed on the website of the Alfred Kerr Foundation, thanks to support from the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Edith Clever

This year’s winner of the 5,000-euro Alfred Kerr Acting Prize is Valery Tscheplanowa. Director and actor Edith Clever was the judge of this year’s prize, and decided for Valery Tscheplanowa for her role of "Njurka" in the play of "Zement" by Heiner Müller (Director: Dimiter Gotscheff). Edith Clever is the latest in a line of prominent Kerr Prize judges, from Bernhard Minetti and Marianne Hoppe to Ulrich Mühe, Martina Gedeck, Ulrich Matthes, Gerd Wameling, Jutta Lampe, Bruno Ganz, Eva Mattes, Nina Hoss, and Thomas Thieme. Previous prize winners include Johanna Wokalek, August Diehl, Fritzi Haberlandt, Devid Striesow, Niklas Kohrt, Kathleen Morgeneyer, Paul Herwig, Lina Beckmann, and Fabian Hinrichs. Last year, the award was given to actor Julia Häusermann.

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize

Award Ceremony: May 18, 2014
Haus der Berliner Festspiele, upper-level lobby

The Alfred Kerr Acting Prize is funded by the Alfred Kerr Foundation and the Tagesspiegel Foundation.

Photo of Edith Clever: © Wolfgang Stahr



17.10.2017, Berlin | As part of the artist-in-residence program KLAS, the Max Planck Institutes of Colloids...

Disappearing Legacies: The World as Forest

11.10.2017, Berlin | From 10 November 2017 until 29 March 2018, Hamburg University’s Centre for Natural...

Perspective Isomorphs – an Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

27.09.2017, Berlin | A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual...