Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Crossing Identities

26.05.2014, Berlin | The festival “Crossing Identities” invites the audience to experience the art and culture of Mongolia and to learn about the rapid social changes transforming this central Asian nomadic country. Teams of artists from Mongolia and Europe jointly interrogate the term “nomad,” using it to explore the transformations of modern cities under the pressure of global developments. On June 8–11, and again on June 13–15, 2014, they will gather at Radialsystem V to examine the urban and social reality of Ulan Bator and Berlin, issues of Mongolia’s cultural heritage, and the identity of modern urban nomads.

Crossing Identities, Photo: Jens Rötzsch

Through art tours, performances, installations, and participation projects, Mongolia’s UNESCO-protected traditional culture – khöömii, urtyn duu, morin huur, biyelgee – enters into a dialogue with experimental, contemporary art forms. The audience learns that Mongolia has far more to offer than the little that is widely known about the conqueror Ghenghis Khan, its breathtaking landscapes or its enormous mineral reserves. The events at Radialsystem V conclude a multi-year, interdisciplinary research and artistic project, spawning workshops and exhibitions in Frankfurt and Mongolia, that has dealt with the image of nomads in art and theory and the contrary developments of the nomadic people on the one hand (who are settling at the margins of megacities) and the “nomadization” of previously settled Western Europeans on the other hand.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports “Crossing Identities,” since the project raises extraordinarily interesting questions about our (mobile) future. Through a Mongolian lens, this international platform composed of high-ranking artists, curators, and academics promises fruitful insights into how to shape our society.

Crossing Identities – Beginners, Experts, Hybrids

Prologue:
Sunday, June 8, 2014, 1:30 p.m., 3:30 p.m., and 5:30 p.m.
featuring the art tours “Dream Cities” and “The Waste Land”

Additional tours: June 9–11, 2014

Festival:
Friday, June 13 – Sunday, June 15, 2014
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

The complete program is available for download as a PDF file here .

Additional information on the project can be found on the website of Urban Nomads.

A project by URBAN NOMADS // MONGOL CITIZENS (c/o German ITI) in cooperation with Radialsystem V and, among others, the Mongolian State University of Arts and Culture and Humboldt University in Berlin; with support from the Capital Cultural Fund in Berlin, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Mongolia, the Federal Foreign Office, the Embassy of Mongolia, the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism of Mongolia, MIAT Mongolian Airlines, and the Ernst Schering Foundation.

Photo: Jens Rötzsch

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Crossing Identities

26.05.2014, Berlin | Das Festival „Crossing Identities“ lädt dazu ein, Kunst und Kultur der Mongolei zu erleben und sich über den rasanten sozialen Wandel im zentralasiatischen Nomadenstaat zu informieren. Künstlerteams aus der Mongolei und aus Europa widmen sich gemeinsam dem Begriff des „Nomaden“ und erforschen ihn im Kontext der Veränderungen moderner Städte unter dem Druck globaler Entwicklungen. Vom 8. bis 11. Juni sowie vom 13. bis 15. Juni 2014 setzen sie sich im Radialsystem V mit der urbanen und sozialen Realität Ulan Bators und Berlins, Fragen des mongolischen kulturellen Erbes und der Identität moderner Großstadt-Nomaden auseinander.

Crossing Identities, Foto: Jens Rötzsch

In Parcours, Konzerten, Performances, Installationen und Partizipationsprojekten tritt die UNESCOgeschützte traditionelle mongolische Kultur – Khöömii, Urtyn Duu, Morin huur, Biyelgee – in Dialog mit experimentellen, zeitgenössischen Kunstformen. Das Publikum erfährt, dass die Mongolei weit mehr bietet als das wenige allgemein Bekannte: den Eroberer Dschingis Khan, die überwältigenden Landschaften oder die immensen Rohstoffvorkommen. Die Veranstaltungen im Radialsystem V bilden das Finale eines mehrjährigen, interdisziplinären Forschungs- und Kunstprojektes, das sich mit der Nomadendarstellung in Kunst und Theorie sowie der gegenläufigen Entwicklung zwischen den Nomadenvölkern einerseits (feste Ansiedlung an den Rändern der Mega-Citys) und der „Nomadisierung“ der ursprünglich sesshaften Westeuropäer beschäftigt und Workshops sowie Ausstellungen in Frankfurt und der Mongolei realisiert hat. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt Crossing Identities, weil das Projekt außerordentlich interessante Fragen unserer zukünftigen (mobilen) Entwicklung aufwirft. Die internationale Plattform von hochrangigen Künstlern, Kuratoren und Wissenschaftlern verspricht durch die mongolische Brille fruchtbare Erkenntnisse für die Gestaltung unserer Gesellschaft.

Crossing Identities – Beginners, Experts, Hybrids

Prolog:
Sonntag, 8. Juni 2014, 13.30 Uhr, 15.30 Uhr und 17.30 Uhr
mit den Parcours „Dream Cities“ und „The Waste Land“

Weitere Parcours: 9. – 11. Juni 2014

Festival:
Freitag, 13. Juni – Sonntag, 15. Juni 2014
Radialsystem V
Holzmarktstr. 33
10243 Berlin

Das komplette Programm können Sie sich hier als pdf herunterladen.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie auf der Homepage von Urban Nomads.

Ein Projekt von URBAN NOMADS // MONGOL CITIZENS (c/o Zentrum Bundesrepublik Deutschland des Internationalen Theaterinstituts e. V. ITI) in Kooperation mit dem Radialsystem V sowie u. a. der Mongolian State University of Arts and Culture und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds, das Ministerium für Auswärtige Beziehungen der Mongolei, das Auswärtige Amt, die Botschaft der Mongolei, das Ministerium für Kultur, Sport und Tourismus der Mongolei, MIAT und die Schering Stiftung.

Foto: Jens Rötzsch

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung 2017

16.06.2017, Berlin | Der Avrion-Mitchison-Preis der Schering Stiftung öffnet sich in diesem Jahr erstmals auf das...
mehr

Symposium: Towards a Phenomenology of the Unknown

01.06.2017, Berlin | Am 27. Juni 2017 veranstaltet die Schering Stiftung in Kooperation mit SAVVY Contemporary...
mehr

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften in der Schering Stiftung

29.05.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung ist zum ersten Mal mit dabei, wenn am 24. Juni...
mehr