Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Erkundungen des Jetzt - Exploring the Now

19.06.2014, Berlin | On July 9, 2014, an exhibition will open at the German Hygiene Museum in Dresden which is the culminating event of a multiyear research project at the Helmholtz Center for Cultural Techniques at Berlin’s Humboldt University. Entitled “Erkundungen des Jetzt – Exploring the Now,” the show invites visitors to play with time and space in three interactive installations and experience the subjective “now” in modified ways.

Erkundungen des Jetzt - Exploring the Now

Our experience of time is subjective. A short moment can be experienced as long and full, while days can go by in a flash without us even realizing it. Bringing together concepts from art and cognitive science, the project examines ways of changing the quality and duration of the present moment. In the installations, several visitors at a time can collectively gain a new experience of the relationship between physical activity and sensory perception. It thus becomes possible to experiment intuitively with one’s own perception and experience of the present.

The “Time Kaleidoscope,” for example, systematically generates mirror images of the visitors, where they can see their immediate past simultaneously at different moments in time and from different spatial perspectives. Another time machine, the “Wheel of Time,” makes possible a dynamic exploration of just-elapsed time with the aid of a flywheel – the faster you turn, the further back you can see in time. The music installation “Jymmin” within minutes helps visitors reach states of ecstasy that, similar to drugs, make one forget time and physical burden. To this end, visitors use weight training equipment as musical instruments to control musical sounds. With three visitors using three different machines, they can play themselves into a musical trance.

Since 2008, the Ernst Schering Foundation has co-sponsored the interdisciplinary research project  “Handlungs-Erlebnis-Räume” (Action-Experience-Spaces) under the direction of Professor Jochen Brüning at the Hermann von Helmholtz Center for Cultural Techniques. The work on perception experiments is exemplary for the joint efforts by scientists and artists to search for innovative ways of cognitively exploring social interaction and synchronization. With support from the Ernst Schering Foundation, the project “Time Kaleidoscope” has brought together a mathematician, a cognitive scientist, a musician, and an engineer to develop new ways of experimental aesthetics.

Erkundungen des Jetzt – Exploring the Now

Opening: July 9, 2014, 7:00 p.m.
Exhibition Dates: July 10 – August 21, 2014
German Hygiene Museum Dresden
Lingnerplatz 1 | 01069 Dresden
Free admission.

Please register for the opening: via Fax: +49 – 351 – 48 46 – 122 or via E-Mail to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

pdf Invitation Card

An interactive exhibition project by the Helmholtz Center for Cultural Techniques at Humboldt University, Berlin, and the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig, hosted by the German Hygiene Museum, Dresden, and made possible by the Ernst Schering Foundation, with support from the Institute for Psychoacoustics and Electronic Music at Ghent University and the Leipzig University of Applied Sciences.

Erkundungen des Jetzt – Exploring the Now

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Applications: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017 Berlin | April 2018 will mark the beginning of the next round of the Young...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Erkundungen des Jetzt - Exploring the Now

19.06.2014, Berlin | Am 9. Juli 2014 wird im Deutschen Hygiene-Museum Dresden eine Ausstellung eröffnet, die den Abschluss eines langjährigen Forschungsprojekts des Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrums für Kulturtechnik an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin bildet. Unter dem Titel „Erkundungen des Jetzt – Exploring the Now“ sind die Besucher eingeladen, in drei interaktiven Installationen mit Zeit und Raum zu spielen und das subjektive „Jetzt“ modifiziert zu erfahren.

Erkundungen des Jetzt - Exploring the Now

Das Erleben von Zeit ist subjektiv. Ein kurzer Moment kann als lang und inhaltsreich erlebt werden, aber Tage können auch spurlos wie im Flug vergehen. Durch gezielte Zusammenführung von Konzepten aus Kunst und Kognitionswissenschaft untersucht das Projekt Möglichkeiten, die Qualität und Dauer des gegenwärtigen Moments zu verändern. In den Installationen können jeweils mehrere Besucher den Zusammenhang zwischen körperlichen Handlungen und sinnlichen Wahrnehmungen für sich neu erlebbar machen. Auf diese Weise wird es möglich, intuitiv mit der eigenen Empfindung von Gegenwart zu experimentieren.

Das „Zeitkaleidoskop“ erzeugt beispielsweise systematisch Spiegelbilder der Akteure, auf denen sie ihre unmittelbare Vergangenheit gleichzeitig zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten und unter verschiedenen räumlichen Perspektiven sehen. Eine weitere Zeitmaschine, das „Rad der Zeit“, erlaubt eine dynamische Erforschung der gerade vergangenen Zeit mittels eines Schwungrads – je schneller man sich dreht, desto weiter sieht man in die Vergangenheit. Mittels der Installation „Jymmin“ kann der Benutzer innerhalb weniger Minuten musikalisch ekstatische Zustände erreichen, die ähnlich wie Rauschmittel ein Vergessen von Zeit und physischer Belastung bewirken. Dazu steuert man mit Krafttrainings-Geräten musikalische Klänge, benutzt sie also als Musikinstrumente. Die Besucher können dabei gemeinsam drei verschiedene Kraftmaschinen bedienen und sich kollektiv in eine musikalische Trance spielen.

Seit 2008 hat die Schering Stiftung das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt „Handlungs-Erlebnis-Räume“ unter der Federführung von Professor Jochen Brüning am Hermann von Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik in der Förderung begleitet. Die Arbeit an Wahrnehmungsexperimenten ist beispielhaft für die gemeinsame Suche von Wissenschaftlern und Künstlern nach innovativen Methoden zur kognitiven Erforschung sozialer Interaktion und Synchronisation. Im von der Schering Stiftung geförderten Projekt „Zeitkaleidoskop“ haben ein Mathematiker, ein Kognitions-Wissenschaftler und ein Musiker gemeinsam mit einem Ingenieur neue Wege der experimentellen Ästhetik entwickelt.

Erkundungen des Jetzt – Exploring the Now

Eröffnung: 09.07.2014, 19.00 Uhr
Ausstellungsdauer: 10.07. – 21.08.2014

Deutsches Hygienemuseum Dresden
Lingnerplatz 1 | 01069 Dresden

Eintritt frei

Zur Eröffnung ist eine Anmeldung erforderlich: per Fax: 0351 – 48 46 – 122 oder via E-Mail an Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. .

pdf Einladungskarte

pdf Flyer zum Download

Ein interaktives Ausstellungsprojekt des Helmholtz-Zentrums für Kulturtechnik der Humboldt-Universität, Berlin, und des Max-Planck Instituts für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften, Leipzig, zu Gast im Deutschen Hygiene-Museum, Dresden, ermöglicht durch die Schering Stiftung, mit Unterstützung des Institute for Psychoacoustics and Electronic Music, der Universiteit Gent und der HTWK Leipzig.

Erkundungen des Jetzt - Exploring the Now

Aktuelles

Nachwachsende Gliedmaßen und Nervenschädigungen im Visier

05.09.2017, Berlin | Am 25. September 2017, um 18:30 Uhr, verleiht die Schering Stiftung in der...
mehr

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

04.09.2017, Berlin | Vom 29. September bis 1. Oktober 2017 findet zum sechsten Mal die Konferenz...
mehr

Vortragsreihe: Life in Numbers - mit Johan Elf

04.09.2017, Berlin | Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt-Universität Berlin...
mehr