Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Schering Stiftung Art Award 2014

For her first institutional exhibition, awarded as part of the Schering Stiftung Art Award, this year’s winner Kate Cooper has produced a new work comprising of video and photographic production especially for KW Institute for Contemporary Art. Through an extensive use of CGI techniques commercial photography and post-production, the show RIGGED highlights the labor inherent in the creation of images, looking at the position the female body has occupied in the history of digital image technology. Through the creation and re-rendering of images of the body, Cooper asks how these digital figures might perform in our place made real as downloadable, ultra-realized bodies.

Cooper is interested in the fictional spaces of universally understood advertising images, tests our experience of them and relationship to them and thus openly questions our conceptions of gender and labor they collectively generate. RIGGED explores new possible connections between bodies and images, and presents tensions between presence and invisibility. As digital images become our body doubles – expensive yet unpaid figures performing on our behalf – the labor inherent in these modes of production becomes re-focused in an economy of withdrawal. Our own bodies use a strategy of refusal; and camouflage as a technique of survival.

As Cooper states: “In our post-representational world – where images are dislocated and free-floating across networks – how can we renegotiate an agency to images, imbue them with power, make them work for us?”

RIGGED displays the human being itself as a commercial good, the billboard-sized figures, installed throughout the space, focus on the body as a place for communicating ideas; re-coding and re-configuring new meanings. As the rendered images become disturbingly realistic, Cooper’s doppelgangers surround the observer in their muted formations, and narrate their own illusionary potential, which is more permanent than flesh.

Kate Cooper, born 1984 in Liverpool, lives and works in London. As co-founder and director of the artist-run organisation Auto Italia, she has initiated projects investigating how artists can work together to invent and create new formats for artistic production. Past projects include: Viewing Copy, CIC, Cairo (2013), Immaterial Labour Isn’t Working, Auto Italia, London (2013), My Skin Is At War With A World Of Data, Artissima Art Fair, Turin (2012), Auto Italia LIVE, ICA, London (2012), It’s Like Staring Someone Out Who’s Not Even Looking At You, Tate Modern, London (2012). She was recently shortlisted for the Film and Video Umbrella Prize, What Will They See Of Me?, Jerwood Space, London, and CCA, Glasgow (2014).

The exhibition is curated by Ellen Blumenstein in cooperation with the Ernst Schering Foundation.
An exhibition catalog with the graphic design by Michael Oswell is published by Sternberg Verlag.

Kate Cooper: RIGGED
Schering Stiftung Art Award 2014

 

Sept 14, 2014 – Jan 11, 2015
KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststr. 69 |10117 Berlin

Press Conference: Sept 11, 2014, 5 pm
Opening: Sept 13, 2014, 5-10 pm
Artist talk: Sept 20, 2014, 4 pm
with Kate Cooper and Fatima Hellberg, with an introduction by Ellen Blumenstein
Award Ceremony: Sept 20, 2014 7 pm (by invitation only)

Photo: © Kate Cooper, RIGGED, 2014, courtesy of the artist

Kate Cooper, RIGGED

Yvonne Roeb in der Schering Stiftung

 

Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung 2014

Für ihre mit dem Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung verbundene erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung hat die diesjährige Preisträgerin Kate Cooper eine Reihe neuer Video- und Fotoarbeiten produziert, die sie in einem eigens für die KW Institute for Contemporary Art konzipierten Szenenbild präsentiert. Durch den intensiven Gebrauch von CGI-Techniken, kommerzieller Fotografie und Postproduktion betont die Ausstellung RIGGED die Arbeit, die zur Gestaltung von Bildern aufgewandt werden muss. Sie untersucht die Position des weiblichen Körpers in der Geschichte der digitalen Bildtechnologien. Indem sie Bilder des Körpers schafft und neu wiedergibt, fragt Cooper, was diese digitalen Figuren als downloadfähige, überzeichnete Körper anstatt unserer selbst leisten.

Cooper interessiert sich für die fiktionalen Räume von Werbebildern, die sofort lesbar und in ihrer Botschaft universell sind, und überprüft deren Wirkung auf unser Erleben sowie unser Verhältnis zu ihnen. Dabei hinterfragt sie auch unsere Vorstellungen von Gender und Arbeit, die durch Werbung generiert werden. RIGGED erforscht neue Verbindungen zwischen Körpern und Bildern und veranschaulicht das Spannungsfeld zwischen Präsenz und Unsichtbarkeit. So, wie digitale Bilder zu unseren Doubles werden – teure aber unbezahlte Figuren, die in unserem Auftrag handeln –, wird die Arbeit, die zu solchen Formen der Produktion gehört, neu als Akt des Rückzugs fokussiert. Unsere eigenen Körper bedienen sich einer Strategie der Verweigerung: Camouflage als Überlebenstechnik.

Cooper sagt: "Wie können wir, in unserer Post-gegenständlichen Welt – in der Bilder keinen Ort haben und frei durch Netzwerke treiben – die Kraft von Bildern neu verhandeln, ihnen ihre Macht zurückgeben, sie dazu bringen, für uns zu arbeiten?“

RIGGED zeigt den Menschen selbst als Handelsware; die plakatgroßen Figuren die im ganzen Raum installiert sind, fokussieren den Körper als Ort, an dem Ideen kommuniziert werden: eine Neukodierung und Neukonfiguration von Bedeutungen. Während die computergenerierten Bilder verstörend realistisch werden, umgeben Coopers Doppelgänger die Betrachter als stumme Formationen und entfalten ihr eigenes illusionäres Potential, das beständiger als menschliche Materie ist.

Kate Cooper, geboren 1984 in Liverpool, lebt und arbeitet in London. Als Mitbegründerin und Leiterin der Londoner Künstlerinitiative AUTO ITALIA untersucht sie, wie Künstler zusammenarbeiten, um neue Formate für künstlerische Produktionen zu entwickeln. Ihre bisherigen Projekte umfassen u.a. VIEWING COPY, CIC, Cairo (2013); IMMATERIAL LABOUR ISN’T WORKING, Auto Italia, London (2013); MY SKIN IS AT WAR WITH A WORLD OF DATA, Artissima Art Fair, Turin (2012); AUTO ITALI LIVE, ICA, London (2012); IT’S LIKE STARING SOMEONE OUT WHO’S NOT EVEN LOOKING AT YOU, Tate Modern, London (2012). Cooper wurde für den Jerwood/Film and Video Umbrella Prize WHAT WILL THEY SEE OF ME?, London, und CCA, Glasgow (2014) nominiert.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Ellen Blumenstein.

Ein Katalog zur Ausstellung mit dem Grafikdesign von Michael Oswell erscheint im Sternberg Verlag.

Kate Cooper: RIGGED
Kunstpreis der Schering Stiftung 2014

14. September 2014 bis 11. Januar 2015
KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69 |10117 Berlin

Pressekonferenz: 11. September 2014, 17 Uhr
Eröffnung: 13. September 2014, 17 bis 22 Uhr
Künstlergespräch: 20. September 2014, 16 Uhr
mit Kate Cooper und Fatima Hellberg, mit einer Einführung von Ellen Blumenstein
Preisverleihung: 20. September 2014, 19 Uhr (nur auf Einladung)

Foto: © Kate Cooper, RIGGED, 2014, courtesy of the artist

Kate Cooper, RIGGED