Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

[micro]biologies I: the bacterial sublime

25.08.2014, Berlin | On September 26, 2014, at 8 p.m., Art Laboratory Berlin opens an exhibition by the British artist Anna Dumitriu, who will present her collaborative projects that are situated between sculpture and microbiology. The solo show is part of [macro]biologies & [micro]biologies at Art Laboratory Berlin, a year-long series of exhibitions, workshops, and lectures focusing on artistic research at the interface with the life sciences curated by Regine Rapp and Christian de Lutz. Dumitriu turns her attention to ethical questions that are raised by the latest technological advances and insights.

Anna Dumitriu, MRSA Quilt

Anna Dumitriu’s work is characterized by a strong knowledge of microbiology. Her installations, interventions, and performances use biological, digital and traditional media (for example, live bacteria, robotics, interactive media, and textiles). Dumitriu became known through her works “The VRSA Dress” and “THE MRSA Quilt,” which are made of so-called “superbugs” (antibiotics-resistant pathogenic bacteria). For these works, she grew bacteria strains on textiles and used natural and clinical antibiotics to pattern the textiles (sterilized prior to the exhibition). The exhibition “[micro]biologies I: the bacterial sublime“ also includes works from her series “Romantic Disease,” which explores the history of tuberculosis from artistic, social and scientific perspectives, including subjects such as superstition, literary and romantic connotations, the history of the development of antibiotics, and the latest research on whole-genome sequencing of mycobacterium.

Anna Dumitriu is currently artist-in-residence for the UK Clinical Research Consortium project on “Modernising Medical Microbiology” at Oxford University. In 2012, she received the Society for Applied Microbiology Communication Award. We are pleased that the exhibition at Art Laboratory Berlin gives us an opportunity to support an artist who is already well-known in the UK and whose work fits perfectly with the focus of the Ernst Schering Foundation.

[micro]biologies I: the bacterial sublime
Exhibition by Anna Dumitriu

Opening: 26 September 2014, 8 p.m.
Exhibition dates: 27 September – 30 November 2014

Artist talk: 28 September 2014, 3 p.m.
Workshop with Anna Dumitriu: 30 November 2014

Art Laboratory Berlin
Prinzenallee 34
13359 Berlin

For more information, please visit:
www.artlaboratory-berlin.org
www.normalflora.co.uk

Photo: Anna Dumitriu, "The MRSA Quilt"

News

Call: kultur-im-dialog.eu+

30.11.2017, Berlin | In 2018 the MitOst e.V. and the Schering Stiftung once again organize the...
more

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

[micro]biologies I: the bacterial sublime

25.08.2014, Berlin | Art Laboratory Berlin eröffnet am 26. September 2014, 20 Uhr, eine Ausstellung der britischen Künstlerin Anna Dumitriu, die ihre kollaborativen Projekte zwischen Skulptur und Mikrobiologie präsentieren wird. Die Einzelausstellung ist Teil der diesjährigen Serie [macro]biologies & [micro]biologies von Art Laboratory Berlin, kuratiert von Regine Rapp und Christian de Lutz, die sich 2014 in allen Ausstellungen, Workshops und Vorträgen der künstlerischen Forschung an der Schnittstelle zu den Lebenswissenschaften gewidmet haben. Dumitriu richtet ihr Augenmerk gezielt auf ethische Fragen, die durch neueste technologische Methoden und Erkenntnisse aufgeworfen werden.

Anna Dumitriu, MRSA Quilt

Anna Dumitrius Werk zeichnet sich durch profunde Kenntnisse in der Mikrobiologie aus. Ihre Installationen, Interventionen und Performances bedienen sich biologischer, digitaler und traditioneller Medien (z. B. lebender Bakterien, Robotics, interaktiver Medien und Textilien). Bekannt wurde die Künstlerin durch ihre Arbeiten „The VRSA Dress“ und „The MRSA Quilt“, die aus sogenannten „Superbugs“ (antibiotika-resistenten krankheitserregenden Bakterien) bestehen. Für die Arbeiten hat sie Bakterienstämme auf Textilien gezüchtet und natürliche und klinische Antibiotika verwendet, um Muster zu kreieren (vor der Ausstellung wurden diese sterilisiert). In der Ausstellung „[micro]biologies I: the bacterial sublime“ werden auch Arbeiten aus ihrer Serie „Romantic Disease“ zu sehen sein, die die Geschichte der Tuberkulose aus künstlerischer, sozialer und wissenschaftlicher Perspektive beleuchten unter Einbezug von Themen wie Aberglaube, literarischen und romantischen Assoziationen, der Entwicklungsgeschichte der Antibiotika sowie den aktuellsten Forschungsstand auf dem Gebiet der Genomsequenzierung von Mykobakterien.

Anna Dumitriu ist derzeit Stipendiatin (Artist-in-Residence) am UK Clinical Research Consortium Project „Modernising Medical Microbiology“ an der Oxford University. 2012 war die Künstlerin Preisträgerin des „Society for Applied Microbiology Communication Award“. Wir freuen uns, dass wir mit der Ausstellung bei Art Laboratory Berlin die in Großbritannien bereits sehr bekannte Künstlerin, deren Werk herausragend in den Fokus der Schering Stiftung passt, unterstützen können.

[micro]biologies I: the bacterial sublime
Ausstellung von Anna Dumitriu

Eröffnung: 26. September 2014, 20 Uhr
Laufzeit: 27. September – 30. November 2014

Künstleringespräch: 28. September 2014, 15 Uhr
Workshop mit Anna Dumitriu: 30. November 2014

Art Laboratory Berlin
Prinzenallee 34
13359 Berlin

Weitere Informationen:
www.artlaboratory-berlin.org
www.normalflora.co.uk

Foto: Anna Dumitriu, "The MRSA Quilt"

Pressespiegel zur Ausstellung (Stand: 31.10.2014)

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Friedmund Neumann Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung vergibt den Friedmund Neumann Preis an Nachwuchswissenschaftler /-innen, die herausragende...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Ernst Schering Preis 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Ernst Schering Preis ist einer der renommiertesten deutschen...
mehr

Bewerbungsstart: Young Leaders in Science 2018/2019

01.11.2017, Berlin | Im April 2018 startet erneut das etablierte Führungskräftetraining Young Leaders in Science, das...
mehr