Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Dancing About Architecture

25.08.2014, Berlin | The project “Dancing About Architecture” under the direction of the dancer and choreographer Constanza Macras and the architectural theorist and philosopher Lukas Feireiss is a multi-day international and interdisciplinary symposium that doubles as theater stage, productive workshop, and inspiring lab. It takes place on September 24–28, 2014, at the Schaubühne Berlin, Aedes Architecture Forum, and Studio 44. The participants – leading international figures from the fields of dance, dramaturgy, art, architecture, and urban space – aim to challenge the manifold performances of urban life, the “choreography of bodies and masses in the streets,” their movements, gestures, and facial expressions – in short: the theater of real life.

Dancing About Architecture

Engaging with contemporary urban space calls for creativity without resorting to static ideas of space and the city. Urban structures expand and dissolve – our understanding of the city is transforming and multidimensional. The production of space has long stopped being a task of architecture alone: a young generation of urban creative folks – architects, artists, dancers, dramaturgs, filmmakers and writers – creatively gather ideas that actively contribute to the continual renewal of our cityscape. This opens up an opportunity to discover new and fascinating spatial worlds and tell a story of the city through people’s physical experience. Against this background, the symposium “Dancing About Architecture” is dedicated to a variety of different theoretical and practical approaches to contemporary spatial discourse that transcend disciplinary boundaries.

Besides Sasha Waltz, Constanza Macras is considered to be one of the most successful and innovative choreographers of our time. Born in Argentina, she graduated from the Merce Cunningham Studio in New York and has lived in Berlin since 1995. She is the recipient of, among other awards, the German theater prize “Der Faust” for “Megalopolis” and the Goethe-Institut Award for best production from Germany for “Hell on Earth.” The collaboration with Lukas Feireiss, an internationally renowned and connected curator for communicating architecture and space in interdisciplinary contexts, will ensure a successful symposium on urban space.

The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the cross-disciplinary and high-ranking symposium, because it promises to make a major contribution to current debates about mobilityand to issues of body, movement, and space.

Dancing About Architecture

International Symposium, September 24–28, 2014
Program:

September 24, 2014
7:30 p.m.: Welcome, Schaubühne Berlin, Berlin Café
8:00 p.m.: MEGALOPOLIS, Schaubühne Berlin, Hall A
September 25, 2014
7:00–9:00 p.m.: Reception and Symposium Talk, Studio 44

September 26, 2014
2:00–5:00 p.m.: Workshop with Lisi Estaras, Studio 44
6:30 p.m.: Symposium Talk, ANCB The Metropolitan Laboratory, Pfefferberg

September 27, 2014
3:00–6:00 p.m.: Workshop with Lisi Estaras, Studio 44
8:00 p.m.: Show BERLIN ELSEWHERE, Schaubühne Berlin

September 28, 2014
4:00–6:00 p.m.: Symposium Talk, Schaubühne Berlin, Hall A
8:00 p.m.: Show BERLIN ELSEWHERE, Schaubühne Berlin, Hall A

Participants:
Stephen Barber, Kingston University, London
Gascia Ouzounian, Queen’s University, Belfast
Christopher Dell, Institute for Improvisation Technology, Berlin
Andrew Todd, Studio Andrew Todd/Theatrum Mundi, Paris
Gob Squad, Berlin/Nottingham
Lisi Estaras, Argentina/Les Ballets C de la B

Locations:
Schaubühne Berlin
Kurfürstendamm 153 | 10709 Berlin

Aedes Pfefferberg
Christinenstraße 18  | 10119 Berlin

Studio 44 – Constanza Macras | Dorky Park
Klosterstraße 44 | 10179 Berlin

More information is available pdf here or at www.dorkypark.org

Ticket information for the shows MEGALOPOLIS and BERLIN ELSEWHERE: www.schaubuehne.de
Ticket reservations: ++49 (0)30 890023 (Schaubühne) or www.schaubuehne.de
Tickets for the workshop with Lisi Estaras: 2 days: 60 € / one day: 35 €; for reservations, please write to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or call ++49 (0)30 280 42 42 0.

Admission to the symposium is free.

Photo: © Thomas Aurin

News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

Dancing About Architecture

25.08.2014, Berlin | Das Projekt „Dancing About Architecture“ unter der Leitung der Tänzerin und Choreografin Constanza Macras sowie dem Architekturtheoretiker und Philosophen Lukas Feireiss ist ein mehrtägiges, internationales und interdisziplinäres Symposium, das Bühne, produktive Werkstatt und inspirierendes Laboratorium zugleich ist. Es findet vom 24. bis 28. September 2014 in der Schaubühne, im Aedes Berlin sowie im Studio 44 statt. Die Teilnehmer – weltweit führende Persönlichkeiten aus den Bereichen Tanz, Dramaturgie, Kunst, Architektur und Stadtraum – haben sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die vielfältigen Inszenierungen des städtischen Alltags, die „Choreografie der Körper und Massen in den Straßen“, deren Bewegungen, Gesten und Mimik, mithin das Theater des realen Lebens, zu hinterfragen.

Dancing About Architecture

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem zeitgenössischen urbanen Raum verlangt nach Kreativität ohne statische Raum- und Stadtbegriffe. Urbane Strukturen erweitern sich und lösen sich auf – es herrscht ein sich veränderndes, multidimensionales Verständnis von Stadt. Dabei ist die Produktion von Raum längst nicht mehr allein Aufgabe der Architektur: Eine junge Generation urbaner Kreativer, Architekten wie Künstler, Tänzer wie Dramaturgen, Filmemacher und Literaten tragen schöpferisch Ideen zusammen, die aktiv zur kontinuierlichen Erneuerung unseres Stadtbildes beitragen. Hier liegt eine Chance, neue und faszinierende Raumwelten zu entdecken und eine Geschichte der Stadt durch die körperliche Erfahrung des Menschen hindurch zu erzählen. Vor diesem Hintergrund widmet sich das Symposium „Dancing About Architecture” unterschiedlichsten Ansätzen des zeitgenössischen Raumdiskurses in Theorie und Praxis jenseits disziplinärer Grenzen.

Constanza Macras gilt neben Sasha Waltz als eine der erfolgreichsten und innovativsten Choreografinnen unserer Zeit. Die seit 1995 in Berlin lebende Argentinierin, die ihre Ausbildung im Merce Cunningham Studio in New York abschloss, wurde u.a. bereits mit dem Deutschen Theaterpreis „Der Faust” für „Megalopolis” und mit dem Preis des Goethe-Instituts für „Hell on Earth” als beste Inszenierung aus Deutschland ausgezeichnet. Die Kooperation mit Lukas Feireiss, international renommierter Kurator für die Vermittlung von Architektur und Raum in interdisziplinären Kontexten mit einem breiten Netzwerk, garantiert ein erfolgreiches Symposium über den städtischen Raum. Die Schering Stiftung fördert das Symposium, da es – Disziplin-übergreifend konzipiert und mit hochrangigen Persönlichkeiten besetzt – einen wichtigen Beitrag zur aktuellen Mobilitätsdebatte und zu Fragen von Körper, Bewegung und Raum verspricht.

Dancing About Architecture
Internationales Symposium 24. – 28.09.2014

Programm:
24.9.2014
19:30 Uhr: Welcome, Schaubühne Berlin, Berlin Café
20:00 Uhr: MEGALOPOLIS, Schaubühne Berlin, SaalA
25.9.2014
19:00 - 21:00 Uhr: Empfang und Symposium Talk, Studio 44
26.9.2014
14:00 - 17:00 Uhr: Workshop mit Lisi Estaras, Studio 44
18:30 Uhr: Symposium Talk, ANCB The Metropolitan Laboratory, Pfefferberg
27.9.2014
15:00 - 18:00 Uhr: Workshop mit Lisi Estaras, Studio 44
20:00 Uhr: Show BERLIN ELSEWHERE, Schaubühne Berlin
28.9.2014
16:00 - 18:00 Uhr: Symposium Talk, Schaubühne Berlin, Saal A
20:00 Uhr: Show BERLIN ELSEWHERE, Schaubühne Berlin, Saal A

Teilnehmer:
Stephen Barber, Kingston University, London
Gascia Ouzounian, Queen’s University, Belfast
Christopher Dell, Institut für Improvisationstechnologie, Berlin
Andrew Todd, Studio Andrew Todd/Theatrum Mundi, Paris
Gob Squad, Berlin/Nottingham
Lisi Estaras , Argentinien / Les Ballets C de la B

Orte:
Schaubühne Berlin
Kurfürstendamm 153 | 10709 Berlin
Aedes Pfefferberg
Christinenstraße 18  | 10119 Berlin
Studio 44 – Constanza Macras | Dorky Park
Klosterstraße 44 | 10179 Berlin

Weitere Informationen finden Sie pdf hier oder unter www.dorkypark.org

Ticketinfos für die Shows MEGALOPOLIS und BERLIN ELSEWHERE: www.schaubuehne.de
Ticket Reservierungen: + 49 30 890023 (Schaubühne) oder www.schaubuehne.de
Tickets für Workshop Lisi Estaras: 2 Tage à 60 € / Einzeltage 35 €. Reservierung unter Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist gegen Spambots geschützt! JavaScript muss aktiviert werden, damit sie angezeigt werden kann. oder +49 30 280 42 42 0

Die Teilnahme am Symposium ist frei.

Foto: © Thomas Aurin

Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art und die Schering Stiftung freuen sich, die...
mehr