Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

“Federation of Urban Imagination” Occupies Huygensplatz in Leipzig

18.08.2014, Leipzig | What happens when city planners, architects, artists, geographers, and gardeners join forces to solve problems in the urban context? This will be tested in September 2014 by the intercultural project group “Federation of Urban Imagination” on the Huygensplatz in Leipzig. For a week, actors from Hungary, Slovenia, Serbia, and Germany will “reinvent” the urban square between the former Olympia Palast movie theater and the job center and thus initiate its long-term revitalization.

FUI_logo


From September 1 to 6, 2014, the “Federation of Urban Imagination” will implement its ideas for revitalizing the Huygensplatz in Leipzig-Möckern. Plans include the erection of an alternative job center in the immediate vicinity of the Leipzig employment agency; instead of long waiting times for government support, the alternative job center offers work on demand, though of course on a reciprocal basis. In addition, visitors will be able to enjoy a mobile kitchen, live radio broadcasts, and an open air cinema, culminating in the “Night of Art” in the Georg-Schumann-Straße on September 6, 2014. On October 1–5, the project concept will be further developed as part of the 12th International MitOst Festival in Novi Sad, Serbia.

“With this week-long program, we try to revitalize an area that is barely used by the residents,” says Dirk Zinner from Leipziger Stadtpflanzer e.V. “To this end, we will transfer the functions of the surrounding buildings onto the square.” So there will be dancing like in the old times at the “Goldener Löwe” Hotel, people can be enchanted by movies like they used to be in the red chairs of the Olympia Palast theater, and drink like in the former brewery.

The reason for this intervention is simple: During the last decades, the once pulsating Huygensplatz has deteriorated into an intersection used exclusively by cars and trams. There were hardly any places left for people to sit down, take a break or socialize. Thanks to the city’s efforts, the renovation of the square was finished in 2013 – there are new seating areas, as well as a weekly market. It appears, however, that the residents and pedestrians do not embrace the new open space; hardly anybody pauses or hangs out on the square.

This is what the project group wants to change with the aid of innovative concepts and participatory projects. The public is warmly invited to participate and breathe new life into a gem of the Georg-Schumann-Straße!

The project group “Federation of Urban Imagination” is the winner of the “Culture in Dialogue” competition, which in 2014 has been held for the 7th time by the Ernst Schering Foundation in cooperation with MitOst e.V. The competition supports cultural projects that promote the long-term relations between neighboring countries and/or in border regions of Eastern, Central, and Southeastern Europe.

For more information, please contact the Ernst Schering Foundation at ++49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit
http://federationofurbanimagination.wordpress.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Federation-of-Urban-Imagination/


News

Call for Nominations: Friedmund Neumann Prize 2018

19.10.2017, Berlin | The Ernst Schering Foundation awards the Friedmund Neumann Prize to young scientists for...
more

Call for Nominations: Ernst Schering Prize 2018

19.10.2017 Berlin | The 50,000 EUR Ernst Schering Prize is one of the most prestigious German...
more

Performing Yourself?

18.10.2017, Berlin | Self-presentation is as old as the history of mankind. And yet it seems...
more

Ivana Franke

 

„Federation of Urban Imagination“ besetzt Huygensplatz in Leipzig

18.08.2014, Leipzig | Was passiert eigentlich, wenn sich Stadtplaner, Architekten, Künstler, Geografen und Gärtner zusammen tun, um Probleme im städtischen Kontext zu lösen? Dies erprobt im September 2014 die interkulturelle Projektgruppe „Federation of Urban Imagination“ anhand des Huygensplatzes in Leipzig. Akteure aus Ungarn, Slowenien, Serbien und Deutschland werden den Platz zwischen altem Olympia-Kino und Jobcenter für eine Woche „neu erfinden“ und so eine langfristige Belebung initiieren.

FUI_logo

„Federation of Urban Imagination“ wird vom 1. bis zum 6. September 2014 ihre Ideen zur Revitalisierung des Huygensplatzes in Leipzig-Möckern in die Tat umsetzen. So ist die Errichtung eines alternativen Jobcenters in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der Leipziger Arbeitsagentur geplant. Statt langem Warten auf staatliche Unterstützung gibt es hier Arbeit auf Abruf, natürlich nicht ohne Gegenleistung. Außerdem warten auf die Besucher eine mobile Küche, Radio-Livesendungen und Open-Air-Kino. Zur „Nacht der Kunst“ auf der Georg-Schumann-Straße am 6. September 2014 wird es dann den großen Showdown geben. Vom 1. bis zum 5. Oktober wird das Projektkonzept dann im Rahmen des 12. Internationalen MitOst Festivals in Novi Sad, Serbien weiterentwickelt.

Dirk Zinner vom Leipziger Stadtpflanzer e.V.: „Wir versuchen mit der einwöchigen Aktion ein bisher kaum durch die Anwohnerschaft genutztes Areal zu beleben. Dabei tragen wir die Funktionen der umliegenden Gebäude für eine Woche auf den Platz“. So wird getanzt wie früher im Hotel „Goldener Löwe“, sich verzaubert wie in den roten Sesseln des Olympia-Palast-Theaters und getrunken wie einst in der alten Brauerei.

Der Grund für die Aktion ist einfach. In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist der einst pulsierende Huygensplatz zu einer Straßenkreuzung verkommen, die ausschließlich durch Autos und Straßenbahn genutzt wurde. Orte des Verweilens und Zusammenseins gab es kaum noch. Durch Bemühen der Stadt aber ist seit 2013 die Sanierung des Platzes abgeschlossen – Sitzflächen laden zum Verweilen ein, auch einen Wochenmarkt gibt es. Nur die Bewohner und Vorübergehenden scheinen die neue Freifläche nicht recht anzunehmen, kaum jemand verweilt auf dem Areal.

Dies will die Projektgruppe mit innovativen Konzepten und partizipatorischen Projekten nun ändern. Interessierte sind herzlich eingeladen, daran teilzunehmen und einer Perle der Georg-Schumann-Straße neues Leben einzuhauchen!

Die Projektgruppe „Federation of Urban Imagination“ ist Gewinner des Wettbewerbs „Kultur im Dialog“, der im Jahr 2014 zum 7. Mal gemeinsam von der Schering Stiftung und MitOst e.V. ausgelobt wurde. Mit dem Wettbewerb werden Kulturprojekte unterstützt, die die nachhaltigen Beziehungen zwischen Nachbarländern oder in Grenzregionen Ost-, Mittel- und Südosteuropas fördern.

Weitere Informationen

Schering Stiftung: 030-20 62 29 60
http://federationofurbanimagination.wordpress.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Federation-of-Urban-Imagination/


Aktuelles

Ausschreibung: Science & Society Sessions 2018

04.04.2017, Berlin | Sie planen im Jahr 2018 eine wissenschaftliche Konferenz in den Natur- oder Lebenswissenschaften...
mehr

Ausschreibung: Einstein-Schering-Zirkel

13.04.2017, Berlin | Die Schering Stiftung und die Einstein Stiftung Berlin schreiben in diesem Jahr erstmalig...
mehr

Hiwa K: Don’t Shrink Me to the Size of a Bullet

12.04.2017, Berlin | Am 1. Juni, um 19 Uhr, eröffnet in den KW Institute for Contemporary...
mehr