Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

Science & Society Session at the 16th Annual International PhD Symposium in Heidelberg

18.09.2014, Berlin/ Heidelberg | The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) will be hosting its 16th annual international PhD Symposium in Heidelberg from October 23 to 25. Entitled “Inspired by Biology: Exploring Nature’s Toolbox,” the conference focuses on how scientists take advantage of innate biological features of living organisms for the development of biotechnological, medical and industrial applications. As in recent years fields including synthetic biology, genome editing and biomaterials have matured to a point where their effects on society are now evident, the symposium features – for the first time – a Science & Society Session. Funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation, the Session includes two lectures that will discuss the ethical and social implications of these issues.

EMBL

 

The first Science & Society Session of this conference on October 24th, entitled “Creating Minimal Chemical Life in the Laboratory: Scientific Challenges, Engineering Solutions, and Social Consequences,” will be given by Dr. Marc Bedau and will concern the creation of living systems in the laboratory. The phenomenon of life is an emergent property arising from a set of complex chemical interactions, and reproducing these interactions in the lab is becoming increasingly possible due to enabling technologies inspired by evolution. His talk will address the broader implications of these technologies for society and the environment as well as the consequent social responsibilities of scientists.

Following this on October 25th, Dr. Jane Calvert will talk about the intersection of biology, engineering and design in her session entitled “Biology in Society: Interdisciplinarity, Ownership and Aesthetics.” This topic will also lead into the question of ownership and property and how this applies to engineered or re-designed living systems. Finally, she will present her work “Synthetic Aesthetics,” which brought together artists, natural and social scientists to discuss what it means to design life.

The Science & Society Sessions of the Ernst Schering Foundation look at the natural sciences from sociological, philosophical, ethical or artistic perspectives and make it possible for the participants of a scientific event to broaden their view beyond the limits of their own discipline.

“Inspired by Biology: Exploring Nature’s Toolbox”
16th annual international PhD Symposium in Heidelberg

October 23th – October 25th, 2014
European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Heidelberg
Meyerhofstraße 1 | 69117 Heidelberg | Germany

Schering Science & Society Session

October 24th | 4:00 p.m.: Dr Marc Bedau,
“Creating Minimal Chemical Life in the Laboratory: Scientific Challenges, Engineering Solutions, and Social Consequences”

October 25th | 3:30 p.m.: Dr Jane Calvert,
“Biology in Society: Interdisciplinarity, Ownership and Aesthetics”

For more information, please visit the website of the symposium.

Photos: © EMBL Photo Lab

EMBL

Ivana Franke

 

Science & Society Session im Rahmen des 16. internationalen EMBL-PhD-Symposiums in Heidelberg

Das European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) veranstaltet vom 23. bis 25. Oktober 2014 zum 16. Mal sein jährlich stattfindendes, internationales PhD-Symposium in Heidelberg. Unter dem Titel „Inspired by Biology: Exploring Nature’s Toolbox“ widmet sich die Konferenz der Frage, wie Wissenschaftler die inhärenten biologischen Eigenschaften von lebenden Organismen zur Entwicklung von Anwendungen in der Biotechnologie, Medizin und Industrie nutzen können. Da Bereiche wie die synthetische Biologie, Genome Editing und Biomateralien in den letzten Jahren einen Stand erreicht haben, der die Folgen für die Gesellschaft spürbar macht, wird das diesjährige Symposium zum ersten Mal eine Science & Society Session beinhalten. Die von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Session umfasst zwei Vorträge, welche die ethischen und gesellschaftlichen Folgen dieser Themen zur Diskussion stellen.

EMBL

 

Die erste Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Science & Society Session, ein Vortrag am 24. Oktober von Dr. Marc Bedau mit dem Titel „Creating Minimal Chemical Life in the Laboratory: Scientific Challenges, Engineering Solutions, and Social Consequences“, beschäftigt sich mit der Erzeugung von lebenden Systemen im Labor. Das Phänomen des Lebens ist eine Eigenschaft, die sich aus dem Zusammenspiel komplexer chemischer Interaktionen ergibt; dank von der Evolution inspirierter Hilfstechnologien nehmen die Möglichkeiten zu, diese Interaktionen im Labor zu reproduzieren. In seinem Vortrag behandelt Bedau sowohl die weitreichenden Auswirkungen dieser Technologien für Gesellschaft und Umwelt sowie die Frage nach der daraus resultierenden gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung für die Wissenschaftler.

Am darauffolgenden Tag, den 25. Oktober, referiert Dr. Jane Calvert unter dem Titel „Biology in Society: Interdisciplinarity, Ownership and Aesthetics“ über die Schnittpunkte zwischen Biologie, Ingenieurswissenschaften und Design. Auch die Frage nach Eigentum und Besitz und wie diese auf künstlich erzeugte oder veränderte lebende Systeme zutrifft, wird Teil ihres Vortrags sein. Darüber hinaus stellt sie ihre Arbeit „Synthetic Aesthetics“ vor, bei der Künstler, Natur- und Sozialwissenschaftler gemeinsam darüber diskutierten, was es bedeutet, Leben im Labor zu gestalten.

Die Science & Society Sessions der Schering Stiftung betrachten die Naturwissenschaften aus soziologischer, philosophischer, ethischer oder künstlerischer Perspektive und ermöglichen es den Teilnehmern einer wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltung, den Blick über ihre jeweilige Fachdisziplin hinaus zu erweitern.

„Inspired by Biology: Exploring Nature’s Toolbox“
16. internationales PhD-Symposium in Heidelberg

23.–25. Oktober 2014
European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) HeidelbergMeyerhofstraße 1 | 69117 Heidelberg | Deutschland

Schering Science & Society Session

24. Oktober | 16.00 Uhr: Dr. Marc Bedau,
“Creating Minimal Chemical Life in the Laboratory: Scientific Challenges, Engineering Solutions, and Social Consequences”

25. Oktober | 15:30 Uhr: Dr. Jane Calvert,
“Biology in Society: Interdisciplinarity, Ownership and Aesthetics”

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Homepage des Symposiums.

Fotos: © EMBL Photo Lab

EMBL