Daria Martin, Schering Stiftung Projektraum

 

On Research III – Reflections on Curatorial Research

06.10.2014, Berlin | The third and final session of the “On Research” workshop series at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) in Berlin, on October 18-19, 2014, focuses on curatorial research as well as the cognitive and translation processes in the context of the curatorial-dramaturgical exploration of the “Anthropocene” hypothesis. The internationally oriented workshop centers on thematic, methodological and structural issues of curatorial practice, from defining themes and research methods to developing formats to working collaboratively across formats such as discourse, performance and exhibition.


The starting point is the HKW’s 2013-14 “Anthropocene Project,” whose particular challenge consists in developing, together with individual and institutional partners in art, science and society, a multi-year cultural project, which aims to examine the cultural, political, and social implications of a yet unconfirmed geological hypothesis from a variety of perspectives.

Based on recent studies of the curatorial self-image, the workshop deals with the role of the curator as a meta-moderator and communicator of complex findings in increasingly diverse forms of knowledge production. The focus is on the curatorial “language” in art and science and new formats that may yet have to be developed.

The two-day workshop will kick off with discursive and visual contributions as well as insights into the work of the curators of the “Anthropocene Project,” Anselm Franke, Katrin Klingan, and Silvia Fehrmann, which will be presented to the participating 15 curators plus younger professionals from Germany and abroad.

Erle C. Ellis, professor of geography and director of the Laboratory for Anthropogenic Landscape Ecology at the University of Maryland, as well as member of the “Anthropocence Research Group” at HKW will talk about the challenges and opportunities of the cooperation between curators and scientists.

The curator and head of the Art Institute of the FHNW Academy of Arts and Design in Basel, Chus Martínez, will introduce the second workshop day with a short presentation on the relationship between curatorial language and the knowledge production of the future. The workshop participants will then have an opportunity to ask and discuss questions, which have been collected and communicated prior to the workshop, with the participating experts. In addition to issues related to curatorial language, the discussion will also focus on positions and possibilities of knowledge communication.

The On Research series (2012-2014) is an initiative developed by the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the Ernst Schering Foundation. Participation is by invitation only.

Project Space

Address: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Opening hours during exhibitions:Thursday through Monday, 1 - 7 p.m. | Admission is free Since 2009, the Ernst Schering Foundation has ...

more

Ivana Franke

 

On Research III – Reflections on Curatorial Research

Der Workshop „On Research“ am Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin (HKW) widmet sich in seiner dritten und letzten Ausgabe am 18. und 19. Oktober 2014 dem Feld der kuratorischen Forschung sowie den Erkenntnis- und Übersetzungsprozessen in der kuratorisch-dramaturgischen Auseinandersetzung mit der „Anthropozän“-Hypothese. Der Fokus des international ausgerichteten Workshops liegt auf inhaltlichen, methodischen und strukturellen Fragen kuratorischer Praxis, von Themensetzungen und Recherchemethoden über Formatentwicklungen bis hin zu kollaborativen Arbeitsweisen über Formatgrenzen wie Diskurs, Performance und Ausstellung hinweg.


Ausgangspunkt ist das „Anthropozän-Projekt“ (2013-14) am HKW, dessen besondere Herausforderung darin besteht, gemeinsam mit individuellen Akteuren und institutionellen Partnern aus Kunst, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft, ein mehrjähriges Kulturprojekt zu entwickeln, in dem die kulturellen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Implikationen einer aus der Geologie stammenden, bislang unbestätigten Hypothese aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven beleuchtet werden.

Ausgehend von jüngsten Untersuchungen zum kuratorischen Selbstverständnis wird dabei die Rolle des Kurators als Meta-Moderator und Vermittler von komplexen Ergebnissen in immer vielschichtigeren Formen von Wissensproduktion in den Fokus genommen. Im Zentrum steht die Frage nach der kuratorischen „Sprache“ im Feld von Kunst und Wissenschaft und neuen, möglicherweise erst zu entwickelnden Formatlinien.

Den Auftakt des zweitägigen Workshops machen diskursive und visuelle Beiträge sowie Werkstatteinblicke der Kuratoren des „Anthropozän-Projektes“ Anselm Franke, Katrin Klingan und Silvia Fehrmann, die dem Plenum aus 15 Kuratoren sowie weiteren Experten einer jüngeren Generation aus Deutschland und der Welt vorgestellt werden.

Erle C. Ellis, Professor für Geografie und Direktor des Laboratory for Anthropogenic Landscape Ecology, Universität Maryland, sowie Mitglied der „Anthropocene Research Group“ am HKW wird Herausforderungen und Potenziale in der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kuratoren und Wissenschaftlern aus seiner Perspektive in die Diskussion einbringen.

Die Kuratorin und Leiterin des Instituts Kunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHNW in Basel, Chus Martínez, wird den zweiten Workshop-Tag mit einem Kurzbeitrag zum Verhältnis zwischen kuratorischer Sprache und Wissensproduktion der Zukunft einleiten. Im Anschluss erhalten die Workshop-Teilnehmer Gelegenheit, themenbezogene Fragen, die bereits in der Workshop-Vorbereitung zusammengestellt und kommuniziert werden, an das Experten-Plenum zu stellen und zu diskutieren. Neben Fragen nach den gewählten kuratorischen Sprachen werden insbesondere auch Positionen und Potenziale der Wissensvermittlung erörtert.

On Research (2012-2014) ist eine Initiativkooperation des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt und der
Schering Stiftung. Eine Teilnahme ist nur auf Einladung möglich.

Projektraum

Anschrift: Unter den Linden 32-34 | 10117 Berlin Öffnungszeiten während der Ausstellungen:Donnerstag – Montag, 13–19 Uhr | Eintritt frei Seit 2009 zeigt die Schering Stiftung im ...

mehr